Rating:
8.6
Desultor - Masters Of Hate
20 March 2012


01. Chapter 1: New Era
02. Black Monday
03. Another World
04. Denied
05. Division Insane
06. Chapter 2: The Phoenix
07. And So We Bleed...
08. The Luxury Of Pain
09. Caged
10. Masters Of Hate
11. The End


What the fuck? Progressive metal...Power metal? What the hell are you doing hanging out with black metal?

Picture some Into Eternity, now start replacing some of their riffs with frantic black metal riffs. Right, now throw a bunch of stops and abrupt turns into those black metal riffs. Then, cap everything off with vocals that jump around from hardcore, to Halford-drenched American Power metal, to perhaps some black and death growls. God damn, it is that eclectic. Of course, there is some various other shit thrown in there, like the obligatory thrash riffs, but the Blackened-Power-Prog is really what comes to the forefront the most. Is it a smooth mix? Hell no. But somehow, this completely incongruous mix sounds even more adventurous with how ostentatious each piece sounds sitting next to the others. It is a showy album, but everything seems to be in perfect balance, so it somehow just works.

The only problem? This guys vocals. He sounds like he is really, really trying his best to sound like Into Eternity-era Stu Block, but just comes up short. Very few people have pipes like Stu Block, this guy ain't one of them. Listening to the vocals on Masters Of Hate is a grand example of someone spreading themselves too thin; instead of honing a certain smaller range, this guy tries to do as much as possible and sounds incredibly weak throughout a lot of it...Inconsistent is what you could say about these vocals, occasionally they do hit certain levels that would make me want to withdraw those last few statements, but that level of quality is rarely upheld for any extended period of time.

Minus the slightly lacking vocal delivery, Desultor have a uniquely relentless, eclectic debut worthy of a look-see from anyone who enjoys equal parts aggression & melody.


 



Written on 24.03.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC, now semi-retired.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 21  
Users visited: 214  
Search this topic:  


BlueMobius - 24.03.2012 at 21:18  
Hmm. Going to check this out now.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.03.2012 at 21:40  
There's a track on youtube. Not bad, to me it sounds kinda melodeath-ish. Seems tight but probably not what I'm looking for.
Unhealer - 24.03.2012 at 22:00  
Sounds like a disgusting mix, I'll check a few songs just for curiosity.
By the way, isn't the score pretty high compared to what you wrote?
The Voyager - 24.03.2012 at 23:49  
I hate to be THAT guy.....but your third sentence should have a "they" after "What the hell are..." Also, you used their in the second paragraph, when you should have used there. Again, sorry to be a grammar nazi. Good review otherwise.
TrollandDie - 25.03.2012 at 00:58  
Any site that's streaming?
rathor - 25.03.2012 at 02:08  
Http://www.reverbnation.com/desultor
Troy Killjoy - 25.03.2012 at 04:19  
Written by The Voyager on 24.03.2012 at 23:49
I hate to be THAT guy...

Never hate to be THAT guy.
TuphTuph - 25.03.2012 at 16:45  
Sounds very strange. Anyway, they have good production and the music sounds right. And they have some damn fast patterns. Only vocals seem to be kinda different from what I've expected. Only growl would suit it better. Or some clean vocals, but not high-pitched.
BlueMobius - 26.03.2012 at 01:55  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.03.2012 at 04:19

Written by The Voyager on 24.03.2012 at 23:49
I hate to be THAT guy...

Never hate to be THAT guy.


I hate to be that guy that breaks it to you, but "you" can be used as a plural pronoun. http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/you
Troy Killjoy - 26.03.2012 at 02:14  
Written by BlueMobius on 26.03.2012 at 01:55
..."you" can be used as a plural pronoun.
I don't understand the relevance of your response.
Mr. Doctor - 26.03.2012 at 02:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.03.2012 at 02:14

Written by BlueMobius on 26.03.2012 at 01:55
..."you" can be used as a plural pronoun.

I don't understand the relevance of your response.



He was actually talking back to the original guy who said that Godin should have written "they" instead of "you" but the dude actually got it wrong since it's ok to use "you" as plural.

But for some reason he quoted you which I found also pretty weird.
Troy Killjoy - 26.03.2012 at 02:21  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.03.2012 at 02:19
But for some reason he quoted you which I found also pretty weird.

And my quote got all fucked up. Whatevs. Pretty sure we should be talking about the music, right?
Mr. Doctor - 26.03.2012 at 02:23  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.03.2012 at 02:21

Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.03.2012 at 02:19
But for some reason he quoted you which I found also pretty weird.

And my quote got all fucked up. Whatevs. Pretty sure we should be talking about the music, right?


Yeah but now it's even funnier because THAT guy seems to be wrong anyways because the use of "their" is ok. In fact, I see no errors.

But yeah... I'll check this out tomorrow. It's getting too late here.
The Voyager - 26.03.2012 at 03:04  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.03.2012 at 02:23

Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.03.2012 at 02:21

Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.03.2012 at 02:19
But for some reason he quoted you which I found also pretty weird.

And my quote got all fucked up. Whatevs. Pretty sure we should be talking about the music, right?


Yeah but now it's even funnier because THAT guy seems to be wrong anyways because the use of "their" is ok. In fact, I see no errors.

But yeah... I'll check this out tomorrow. It's getting too late here.

I would just like to point out that the errors that were present have been corrected by the reviewer. That is why you see no errors.
chaos13 - 26.03.2012 at 07:31  
This is the album Iced Earth should have put out
Mr. Doctor - 26.03.2012 at 10:40  
Written by The Voyager on 26.03.2012 at 03:04

I would just like to point out that the errors that were present have been corrected by the reviewer. That is why you see no errors.


Maybe you just SAW them and they weren't there because of ALIENS.
The Voyager - 26.03.2012 at 17:49  
Written by The Voyager on 26.03.2012 at 03:04

Maybe you just SAW them and they weren't there because of ALIENS.

More than likely.
Asunder - 27.03.2012 at 02:41  
Written by The Voyager on 26.03.2012 at 03:04

Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.03.2012 at 02:23

Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.03.2012 at 02:21

Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.03.2012 at 02:19
But for some reason he quoted you which I found also pretty weird.

And my quote got all fucked up. Whatevs. Pretty sure we should be talking about the music, right?


Yeah but now it's even funnier because THAT guy seems to be wrong anyways because the use of "their" is ok. In fact, I see no errors.

But yeah... I'll check this out tomorrow. It's getting too late here.

I would just like to point out that the errors that were present have been corrected by the reviewer. That is why you see no errors.

I hate to keep this going but it seems like the errors you pointed out are still there. I still see "you" and "there", both of which are 100% correct...
The Voyager - 27.03.2012 at 02:47  
Written by Asunder on 27.03.2012 at 02:41

I hate to keep this going but it seems like the errors you pointed out are still there. I still see "you" and "there", both of which are 100% correct...

Okay. Let's clear this up once and for all. Before I posted anything, the third sentence read "What the hell are doing hanging out with black metal?" I suggested putting they in, he chose you. Doesn't make a difference, really. The second paragraph contained the sentence "Of course, there is some various other shit thrown in their..." I suggested he correct their to there, and he did. That is why there are no errors present now.
Asunder - 27.03.2012 at 02:49  
Written by The Voyager on 27.03.2012 at 02:47

Written by Asunder on 27.03.2012 at 02:41

I hate to keep this going but it seems like the errors you pointed out are still there. I still see "you" and "there", both of which are 100% correct...

Okay. Let's clear this up once and for all. Before I posted anything, the third sentence read "What the hell are doing hanging out with black metal?" I suggested putting they in, he chose you. Doesn't make a difference, really. The second paragraph contained the sentence "Of course, there is some various other shit thrown in their..." I suggested he correct their to there, and he did. That is why there are no errors present now.

Thanks for clearing it up, now it makes sense..

The album is meh.
SepticFish - 27.03.2012 at 23:35  
Desultor sounds more like melodic tech death, with clean vocals and shrieks rather than typical death growls and grunts. Not bad I think, it's definitely something different.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Desultor - Masters Of Hate 6 25.03.2012 by Gopherhawk
Reviews Emerald Sun - Regeneration 4.5 11.02.2011 by Axe Argonian
Reviews Fireforce - March On 4.5 19.04.2011 by RavenKing
Reviews The Great Commission - Heavy Worship 4.5 17.07.2011 by cam
Reviews Orchid's Curse - Voices: The Tales Of Broken Men 4.5 30.09.2010 by Edmund Fogg



Hits total: 3068 | This month: 30