Rating:
7.7
Cattle Decapitation - Monolith Of Inhumanity
8 May 2012


01. The Carbon Stampede [feat. The Cephalic Carnage Community Mens Choir]
02. Dead Set On Suicide
03. A Living, Breathing Piece Of Defecating Meat [feat. Lenzig Leal]
04. Forced Gender Reassignment
05. Gristle Licker
06. Projectile Ovulation [feat. Mike Majewski]
07. Lifestalker
08. Do Not Resuscitate
09. Your Disposal
10. The Monolith
11. Kingdom Of Tyrants


Cattle Decapitation have taken quite a few significant strides in becoming one of the leaders of the grindcore scene, from some early amateurish goregrind work to a more professional brand of grindcore to their current style of technically-driven deathgrind. That's a whole lot of fancy descriptors for a band that doesn't concern itself with being pigeonholed.

Monolith of Inhumanity is another major step forward for these veterans, propelling them further into the mainstream limelight shed upon them with the release of a much more mature, solidified work in The Harvest Floor. Of course, these releases aren't without their differences. Where its predecessor is more restricted in its approach - straightforward in comparison - this album is all over the place. Depending on your personal preference, this will either come across as a sloppy mess or a boundary-free foray into avant-grind territory.

Throughout the course of this album, the most apparent trait is the lack of flow. Songs differ completely from each other, at times focusing more on breakdowns or more on intricately woven tech-death melodies, while elements such as thrashy riffs or complicated vocal patterns are given more attention at other times. This makes for a truly dynamic listen that keeps the listener on their toes and maintains a labyrinthine layout. Assuming the audience is up for a challenge beyond listening to 30-second distorted riff-fests accompanied by relentless blastbeats, Monolith of Inhumanity should appeal to the band's current fanbase while opening their name up to a wide variety of newcomers who appreciate a more progressive, technical approach to extreme metal.

Now, before you walk away thinking this is going to be the Images and Words of grind, some cons need to be exposed - namely the vocals. Travis Ryan isn't exactly known for his clean melodious delivery, yet fans of the band will unfortunately have to endure some truly atrocious clean vocals (in addition to some questionable guest vocal input, although given their capacity, one can't help but feel these cameos are more humorous in nature than anything). He manages to perform some guttural growls, high-pitched squeals (of the non-Susian variety), and typical shrieking, however, so the vocal delivery isn't a complete annoyance. That being said, this album does require more effort to consume than your average Cattle Decapitation release, and this transition into more progressive territory will undoubtedly divide listeners like an ax through the neck.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Cattle Decapitation
Album: Monolith Of Inhumanity


 



Written on 09.05.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 275  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 09.05.2012 at 12:30  
I will probably give this another try but as it stands now.... I would give it at least a full point less.

It just left me indifferent.
Iskander - 09.05.2012 at 19:51  
I don't think it's fair to call the vocals "clean". i mean of course they are not growls or anything and it makes perfect sense to call them clean. but usually, when i read "clean vocals", something completely different comes to my mind. but whatever... semantics, i guess.

(also, i do enjoy them quite a lot.)
Troy Killjoy - 09.05.2012 at 19:59  
Written by Iskander on 09.05.2012 at 19:51
I don't think it's fair to call the vocals "clean". i mean of course they are not growls or anything and it makes perfect sense to call them clean. but usually, when i read "clean vocals", something completely different comes to my mind. but whatever... semantics, i guess. (also, i do enjoy them quite a lot.)

Well they're like... clean growls? :s I dunno, I guess it didn't seem right to call them growls so I went with cleans, even though it's not like he's going all falsetto on us.
Boxcar Willy - 09.05.2012 at 21:38  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.05.2012 at 19:59

it's not like he's going all falsetto on us.

Then we'd have a REALLY good album.
Diamonds - 09.05.2012 at 22:34  
I was never a massive Cattle Decap fan in the first place, and this album kind of killed what I had left of my appreciation for them.. I recognize the talent as I do with any band/song/album even if I don't happen to like it but, they definitely lost my interest. So, I guess it really does depend on who you are and what you like.
Tristus Scriptor - 10.05.2012 at 04:04  
Come around, did ya? Hehe...(I do see you still dislike the "cleans"... which, by the way- I find to be more of a melodious screeching, i.e. far from clean)- yet this is far from how you were talking at first. Glad to see you don't write bands off for alienating elements on new releases.
Maxx666 - 10.05.2012 at 09:50  
Hmm it indeed sounds quite different than Harvest Floor. Things got lot complex in this release which as Troy said in the review should keep the listeners fresh. But nevertheless i like this album, although i got it just 5 hours ago, i'm already on my third listen now. Nice work. And a very precise review. 8.5/10
Troy Killjoy - 10.05.2012 at 17:02  
Written by Tristus Scriptor on 10.05.2012 at 04:04
Come around, did ya? Hehe...(I do see you still dislike the "cleans"... which, by the way- I find to be more of a melodious screeching, i.e. far from clean)- yet this is far from how you were talking at first. Glad to see you don't write bands off for alienating elements on new releases.

I was quite surprised to be honest, but of course my initial comments were directed at one or two songs whereas my review was targeting the entire album. The "clean" vocals were a big turn-off at first but when compared on a larger scale to the rest of the songs, they aren't as cumbersome.
RottingDeathHead - 10.05.2012 at 23:51  
I use to hate this band, but this album changed my view. I wouldnt consider the vocals clean though
Tristus Scriptor - 11.05.2012 at 01:51  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.05.2012 at 17:02

Written by Tristus Scriptor on 10.05.2012 at 04:04
Come around, did ya? Hehe...(I do see you still dislike the "cleans"... which, by the way- I find to be more of a melodious screeching, i.e. far from clean)- yet this is far from how you were talking at first. Glad to see you don't write bands off for alienating elements on new releases.

I was quite surprised to be honest, but of course my initial comments were directed at one or two songs whereas my review was targeting the entire album. The "clean" vocals were a big turn-off at first but when compared on a larger scale to the rest of the songs, they aren't as cumbersome.

Yep. Me- I like 'em (the melodic vox). For some reason they remind me of Udo. Lol. THAT's probably an irrational reference, but that's what I feel like. I'm just so glad they didn't go for deathcore clean choruses...or the types of soulless cleans of most Fear Factory songs. I never felt those were FF's strong point. Good review, by the way.
Cynic Metalhead - 11.05.2012 at 07:43  
Fans somehow will target this album as their one of the best but critically it could have been much better. In two or three songs, somehow excessive of inanity high pitched vocals do annoyed me with a low bass but it picked up pretty good after that.

8 is a decent score to scotch the heat on.
K†ulu - 11.05.2012 at 14:00  
Man, this sounds interesting, but I am afraid I will not have time to digest this. Great structure of the review, very comprehensive description!
metlfan - 15.05.2012 at 17:48  
Love the album. Travis's opening gutterals on the Carbon Stampede are just insane! Tracks 1, 4, 5 and 8 are my highlights of the album in my opinion.
Truant - 17.05.2012 at 19:21  
Made a great first impression, but wore off a bit. Agree with the score, I guess.
sentinel65 - 03.08.2012 at 05:41  
I find the album to be great, my favorite of theirs. I don't really see how the originality is merely a 7, I haven't heard anything much like this is a while. The songs change so often I find it extremely easy to listen to the entire album multiple times, it doesn't get old. I also enjoyed the cleaner vocals.
psykometal - 01.11.2012 at 22:34  
I used to not care for these guys but this album is actually really good. I think those "clean" vocals are actually really awesome and add another layer to the album which is one of the things that really hooked me about this album. Hopefully they don't go away with the next release. Will have to go back and listen to other albums and see if I can get into any of their albums now that I have acquired much more of a taste for this style of death metal.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Pulsar Colony - Snowball Earth 4.5 10.03.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Kathaarsys - Rara Vez 4.5 25.04.2012 by PocketMetal
Reviews Putrid Pile - Blood Fetish 4.5 06.06.2012 by Tristus Scriptor
Reviews Benighted - Carnivore Sublime 4.5 31.03.2014 by allgutsnoglory
Reviews Black Sun Aeon - Blacklight Deliverance 4.5 02.11.2011 by Edmund Fogg



Hits total: 5982 | This month: 51