Rating:
9.0
Primate - Draw Back A Stump
3 July 2012


01. Draw Back A Stump
02. Global Division
03. Hellbound
04. Silence Of Violence
05. Drinking & Driving
06. March Of The Curmudgeon [2012 remaster bonus]
07. Wasted Youth
08. Pride
09. Get The Fuck Off My Lawn [2012 remaster bonus]
10. Reform?


Re-released as a mini-LP via Relapse on July 3rd, 2012 with two bonus tracks. Originally released as an EP on February 25th, 2011.


Can we please consider this a brand new release? Sure, its real release date was somewhere back in 2011, but there's something kind of defeating about discovering a top-notch album like Draw Back A Stump on its remastered/remix re-release.

Primate is probably the most apt name this band could have found - it's just so simple, unpretentious and bludgeoning, it's almost hard to believe a band this straightforward manages to still sound pretty fresh. It's basically old school hardcore revamped for a modern age. Draw Back A Stump is classic hardcore that frequently steps into grind territory, delivered through sludgy tones. Then there's this certain southern-fried undertone to the whole thing, as well...Maybe that just comes along with any sludgified music. It's almost tempting to say there is a few leads that feel like nods to greasy southern rock, but everything is blasted forth in such a rattling, grimy blur, it's hard to pick out the subtleties.

So let's forget the subtleties, because there ain't many. Simply put, Draw Back A Stump is a face value type of album. As in, picking valuable face fragments off the wall behind you after listening to this.

All shitty puns aside, Primate rule, that's all there really is to it. If you like solidly obnoxious music, maybe somewhere in the same region as Hank III's Assjack, there should be no reason to glance past this. Trying to go into any deeper detail about music like this is completely asinine.

Listen to Primate or go to hell.


 



Written on 12.06.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 247  
Search this topic:  


Loathera - 12.06.2012 at 14:01  
The only track I heard was the one they made a lyric video for (don't even remember which song it was for). Though after reading your review and noticing the track entitled "Get The Fuck Off My Lawn", I'm definetly going to check the rest of it out.
BoxCar Willy - 12.06.2012 at 14:56  
Written by Loathera on 12.06.2012 at 14:01

"Get The Fuck Off My Lawn", I'm definetly going to check the rest of it out.

Same. With a track like that it has to be good.
Void Eater - 12.06.2012 at 18:07  
I heard one song off of this that was damn good, but no other ones were uploaded . Surprised you didn't make a mention of their lineup-Members of Mastodon and Brutal Truth involved here.
Mr. Doctor - 12.06.2012 at 18:31  
Written by Void Eater on 12.06.2012 at 18:07
Surprised you didn't make a mention of their lineup-Members of Mastodon and Brutal Truth involved here.


He did in the staff pick. Which I read before this review and left me with the following expression:

Susan - 12.06.2012 at 18:49  
I want to hear this. Big time.
Doc Godin - 12.06.2012 at 21:48  
Written by Susan on 12.06.2012 at 18:49

I want to hear this. Big time.

Me too. Again. Global Division, Hellbound and Get The Fuck Off My Lawn are all great songs.
PocketMetal - 13.06.2012 at 21:46  
I want this too , Mastodon guys rock hard .
BoxCar Willy - 13.06.2012 at 22:17  
Written by Doc Godin on 12.06.2012 at 21:48

Written by Susan on 12.06.2012 at 18:49

I want to hear this. Big time.

Me too. Again. Global Division, Hellbound and Get The Fuck Off My Lawn are all great songs.

For a minute I thought you hadn't listen to this

That was a big WTF moment.
BitterCOld - 14.06.2012 at 23:04  
Written by Doc Godin on 12.06.2012 at 21:48

Written by Susan on 12.06.2012 at 18:49

I want to hear this. Big time.

Me too. Again. Global Division, Hellbound and Get The Fuck Off My Lawn are all great songs.


sadly not on spotify. at least i'm headed in to town tomorrow, will check the CD shop.

"Get The Fuck Off My Lawn" sounds like it could be my theme song... if they replaced "Lawn" with "Rocks" or "Yard".
Doc Godin - 15.06.2012 at 04:34  
Written by BitterCOld on 14.06.2012 at 23:04

Written by Doc Godin on 12.06.2012 at 21:48

Written by Susan on 12.06.2012 at 18:49

I want to hear this. Big time.

Me too. Again. Global Division, Hellbound and Get The Fuck Off My Lawn are all great songs.


sadly not on spotify. at least i'm headed in to town tomorrow, will check the CD shop.

"Get The Fuck Off My Lawn" sounds like it could be my theme song... if they replaced "Lawn" with "Rocks" or "Yard".

Not sure if you've listened to this yet, but it does seem like something that would be right up your alley:
-Sludginess + a well balanced mix of grind and old school hardcore.

Sounds like an album made for you, dude.
Spirit Molecule - 15.06.2012 at 12:09  
Haha yeah its definitely an album Craig will like.
I loved it actually its got a perfect mix of hardcore, grind and some sludge
BitterCOld - 08.07.2012 at 07:50  
The Black Flag cover, "Drinking & Driving" is awesome as well.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Primate - Draw Back A Stump 7.5 14.06.2012 by Lit.
Reviews Entombed A.D. - Back To The Front 6 27.07.2014 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Deadend In Venice - See You On The Ground 4.5 19.07.2011 by Pyramid God
Reviews Demonical - Death Infernal 4.5 14.09.2011 by Vikingr
Reviews Tangent Plane - Project Elimi 4.5 23.04.2011 by Danyael



Hits total: 4468 | This month: 57