Rating:
7.5
Borgne - Royaume Des Ombres
12 June 2012


01. Fall Of The Lost Souls
02. Suffer As I Paid My Grave
03. In The Realm Of The Living I'm Dead
04. Only The Dead Can Be Heard
05. All These Screams Through Me
06. The Last Thing You Will See


It seems like lately things are being flipped around; the more typical the cover artwork, the less typical the music. First Agruss, now Borgne. Yeah, it is black metal, and yes, it does have a similar appeal to the of Agruss, yet Borgne is a sound of its own breed, despite being compiled of commonly used components.

FYI - They sound almost nothing like Agruss. To clarify this nonsense, you'd have to pop this in to understand the similar feel - and that is the sound of an overwhelming sense of suffocation. A cram-packed atmosphere with not a square inch of breathing room.

Picture this; for some conceivable reason, you're sitting there listening to Dimmu Borgir, and you think to yourself; this dark orchestral aspect would be put to a lot better use if they shoved it into a more atmospheric direction, and threw some grit back into it. That's what Borgne is like. A crushing, mostly plodding atmospheric black metal band.

It's great when that's what's happening with the music. To promise that Royaume des Ombres is an entirely atmospheric, or entirely original sounding album would be a pretty hefty lie. They have a tendency to speed up into some really generic sounding black metal occasionally. While this offer of variety should normally be lauded, here it only pronounces their strengths, and that is the brooding, atmospheric sound.

Setting aside a few missteps into territory too frequently explored, Borgne definitely have a strong enough sound otherwise to make Royaume des Ombres a worthwhile listen.


 



Written on 30.06.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 132  
Search this topic:  


Boxcar Willy - 01.07.2012 at 03:47  
Every BM band this side of Pluto uses that font >>

XXII Ultimate Black Metal
Troy Killjoy - 01.07.2012 at 05:22  
A bit disappointed this isn't a Darkspace/Sun of the Blind/Paysage d'Hiver-related project. Will listen asap nonetheless.
Lokaeda - 01.07.2012 at 16:12  
The song available for streaming ("Suffer As I Paid My Grave") reminds me a bit (a bit) of Nehëmah
Merchant of Doom - 01.07.2012 at 17:56  
Quite enjoyed this one, although nothing out of the ordinary... rating is spot on!
RavenKing - 02.07.2012 at 06:08  
Written by Lokaeda on 01.07.2012 at 16:12

The song available for streaming ("Suffer As I Paid My Grave") reminds me a bit (a bit) of Nehëmah


I can understand the comparison to Nehemah.
I like Nehemah and what I heard of Borgne doesn't sound bad at all.
M C Vice - 03.07.2012 at 13:30  
Can't find this on amazon, but there's 2 others from a band with the same name, Entraves De L'ame and IV. Is it the same band? The covers look like black metal.
RavenKing - 04.07.2012 at 00:43  
Written by M C Vice on 03.07.2012 at 13:30

Can't find this on amazon, but there's 2 others from a band with the same name, Entraves De L'ame and IV. Is it the same band? The covers look like black metal.


It's the same band.
M C Vice - 04.07.2012 at 06:37  
Written by RavenKing on 04.07.2012 at 00:43

Written by M C Vice on 03.07.2012 at 13:30

Can't find this on amazon, but there's 2 others from a band with the same name, Entraves De L'ame and IV. Is it the same band? The covers look like black metal.


It's the same band.

Which one would you recommend?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Borgne - Royaume Des Ombres 7.5 07.06.2014 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews 77 - High Decibels 4.5 27.02.2012 by Rulatore
Reviews Step In Fluid - One Step Beyond 4.5 17.03.2012 by K†ulu
Reviews Astra - The Black Chord 4.5 10.04.2012 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Nocturnal Torment - They Come At Night 4.5 10.02.2012 by strade



Hits total: 2730 | This month: 47