Borgne - Royaume Des Ombres review



Reviewer:
7.5

11 users:
8.45
Band: Borgne
Album: Royaume Des Ombres
Release date: June 2012


01. Fall Of The Lost Souls
02. Suffer As I Paid My Grave
03. In The Realm Of The Living I'm Dead
04. Only The Dead Can Be Heard
05. All These Screams Through Me
06. The Last Thing You Will See


It seems like lately things are being flipped around; the more typical the cover artwork, the less typical the music. First Agruss, now Borgne. Yeah, it is black metal, and yes, it does have a similar appeal to the of Agruss, yet Borgne is a sound of its own breed, despite being compiled of commonly used components.

FYI - They sound almost nothing like Agruss. To clarify this nonsense, you'd have to pop this in to understand the similar feel - and that is the sound of an overwhelming sense of suffocation. A cram-packed atmosphere with not a square inch of breathing room.

Picture this; for some conceivable reason, you're sitting there listening to Dimmu Borgir, and you think to yourself; this dark orchestral aspect would be put to a lot better use if they shoved it into a more atmospheric direction, and threw some grit back into it. That's what Borgne is like. A crushing, mostly plodding atmospheric black metal band.

It's great when that's what's happening with the music. To promise that Royaume des Ombres is an entirely atmospheric, or entirely original sounding album would be a pretty hefty lie. They have a tendency to speed up into some really generic sounding black metal occasionally. While this offer of variety should normally be lauded, here it only pronounces their strengths, and that is the brooding, atmospheric sound.

Setting aside a few missteps into territory too frequently explored, Borgne definitely have a strong enough sound otherwise to make Royaume des Ombres a worthwhile listen.


 



Written on 30.06.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 140 users
01.07.2012 - 03:47
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Every BM band this side of Pluto uses that font >>

XXII Ultimate Black Metal
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
01.07.2012 - 05:22
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
A bit disappointed this isn't a Darkspace/Sun of the Blind/Paysage d'Hiver-related project. Will listen asap nonetheless.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
01.07.2012 - 16:12
Lokaeda
Account deleted
The song available for streaming ("Suffer As I Paid My Grave") reminds me a bit (a bit) of Nehëmah
Loading...
01.07.2012 - 17:56
Merchant of Doom
Quite enjoyed this one, although nothing out of the ordinary... rating is spot on!
Loading...
02.07.2012 - 06:08
RavenKing
Written by Guest on 01.07.2012 at 16:12

The song available for streaming ("Suffer As I Paid My Grave") reminds me a bit (a bit) of Nehëmah


I can understand the comparison to Nehemah.
I like Nehemah and what I heard of Borgne doesn't sound bad at all.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
03.07.2012 - 13:30
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Can't find this on amazon, but there's 2 others from a band with the same name, Entraves De L'ame and IV. Is it the same band? The covers look like black metal.
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"Thinking quickly, Dave constructs a homemade megaphone using only some string, a squirrel and a megaphone."
Sharks 2016 Premier
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 00:43
RavenKing
Written by M C Vice on 03.07.2012 at 13:30

Can't find this on amazon, but there's 2 others from a band with the same name, Entraves De L'ame and IV. Is it the same band? The covers look like black metal.


It's the same band.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
04.07.2012 - 06:37
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Written by RavenKing on 04.07.2012 at 00:43

Written by M C Vice on 03.07.2012 at 13:30

Can't find this on amazon, but there's 2 others from a band with the same name, Entraves De L'ame and IV. Is it the same band? The covers look like black metal.


It's the same band.

Which one would you recommend?
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"Thinking quickly, Dave constructs a homemade megaphone using only some string, a squirrel and a megaphone."
Sharks 2016 Premier
Loading...

Hits total: 3881 | This month: 28