Rating:
9.0
Striker - Armed To The Teeth
27 July 2012


01. Forever
02. Let It Burn
03. Lethal Force
04. It Could Be Worse
05. Fight For Your Life
06. Land Of The Lost
07. Wolf Gang
08. Feed My Fire
09. All The Way
10. Can't Stop The Rush


METAAAAAL that's all - thanks for reading my review - THE END.

Seriously, if it wouldn't be for the 250 word minimum, the above sentence would have wrapped up my thoughts on Striker's sophomore album Armed To The Teeth.

Call them retro all you want, but those five guys out of Edmonton, Canada, sure as hell know how to bring back the glorious sound of Eighties heavy metal. And credit where credit is due; if it weren't for their fellow Canadian metal brother Shane Clark (3 Inches Of Blood), I would have never discovered them; thanks bro!

Striker is not denying that Judas Priest has a major influence in their sound, and it is refreshing to see the younger generation embrace an era that a lot of us older farts are longing for.

The more simpler, while still crushing, verse, chorus, verse art of guitar playing, the drumming which doesn't make your ears bleed, but rather goes along in perfect harmony with each and every song. Yes; massive melody, sing along choruses, big guitar sound; in short - heavy fucking metal.

You might want to check your "heavy metal pulse" if you are not inclined to play air guitar, and use whatever is in front of you at that moment as a drum-kit; "Lethal Force" starting around the 3:10 mark "dom, dom, dom" head-bangers delight right there.

Through the entire album, vocalist Dan Clearly doesn't just do a fantastic job; he does an amazing job. Just listen to "All The Way", and with no pun intended, he did go all the way with his high screams; and it is cool to hear a grown man who is not afraid to sing in a higher octave range.

And while Striker sure are not originators of the music, they sure keep the flame burning. The awesome twin guitar sound, the relevant placement of the bass lines, the straight to the point drumming without sounding overpowering; in short, high-octane metal which leaves you craving for more while dialing the phone number to your nearest chiropractor.

Again, hard to choose my favorites, but "All The Way", "Feed The Fire" and "Wolf Gang" left the biggest impressions on first listening; so I will stick with them. And I might throw "Fight For Your Life" into the mix; shit, seriously, hard to choose since all songs are so full of metal.

If you call yourself an "old-school" NWOBHM and/or are a speed metal freak, you owe it to yourself to check them out.

[and yes, I am rating this a 9, since for the type of music they are playing, while not original at all, they sure are really good at it and DO stand out among their peers]


Band profile: Striker
Album: Armed To The Teeth


 



Written on 26.10.2012 by
D.T. Metal
Editor-in-Chief

Professional concertgoer ... dangerously armed with a camera!
More reviews by D.T. Metal ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 267  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 26.10.2012 at 01:29  
Sometimes I need a portion of good ol' fun heavy metal... This review definitely insterests me! I'll make sure to check them out.

Thanks for the heads-up
Druss - 26.10.2012 at 01:57  
Checked out two songs so far on Youtube, and I'll definately be checking this out properly, really ballsy, effective stuff, reminds me a bit of Steelwing's latest, they have that great ''retro'' sound going for them. Thanks for the review, D.T. Metal, think I'm gonna enjoy it
D.T. Metal - 26.10.2012 at 01:58  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.10.2012 at 01:29

Sometimes I need a portion of good ol' fun heavy metal... This review definitely insterests me! I'll make sure to check them out.

Thanks for the heads-up

same here,...and it's easy listening, fun, partying music ... really dig those guys. Mix of speed metal and your regular heavy metal stuff sure makes this a pleasure to listen too. But then again, I'm old, I like the old style stuff
D.T. Metal - 26.10.2012 at 02:02  
Written by Druss on 26.10.2012 at 01:57

Checked out two songs so far on Youtube, and I'll definately be checking this out properly, really ballsy, effective stuff, reminds me a bit of Steelwing's latest, they have that great ''retro'' sound going for them. Thanks for the review, D.T. Metal, think I'm gonna enjoy it

NP,...I am a HUGE SPEED METAL freak, so this album sure as hell triggered a raw nerve! And with all the retro stuff over the last couple years, those guys are really good for a newer band, playing a long and forgotten genre of metal
Kuroboshi - 26.10.2012 at 04:50  
That is one bad ass dinosaur. Never been a fan of heavy metal; this might be my entry point.
Apothecary - 26.10.2012 at 05:53  
Excellent review! I just listened to Lethal Force, and I'm sold. This band has won another convert
wormdrink414 - 26.10.2012 at 07:35  
Fucking hell, good stuffg
Fredd - 26.10.2012 at 09:04  
I can't remember the last time a staff review had a 9 rating. I'll have to check this out very soon.
Whoblehwah - 26.10.2012 at 10:24  
I didn't even know Striker had a new album coming out. Awesome.
Marcel Hubregtse - 26.10.2012 at 14:18  
Funny how I reviewed (here on MS) and loved their debut e.p. yet somehow managed to miss their debut full length and this album by them and yet also saw them live twice
D.T. Metal - 26.10.2012 at 15:46  
Written by Fredd on 26.10.2012 at 09:04

I can't remember the last time a staff review had a 9 rating. I'll have to check this out very soon.

Well ... I am extremely liberal when it comes to those ratings ... one man's trash is another's treasure, so listen and judge for yourself
D.T. Metal - 26.10.2012 at 15:48  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.10.2012 at 14:18

Funny how I reviewed (here on MS) and loved their debut e.p. yet somehow managed to miss their debut full length and this album by them and yet also saw them live twice

LOL, I saw that , and I didn't know they toured in Europe, but assume they are a great band live!
Butters49 - 27.10.2012 at 00:57  
These guys are from where I live.
Super_Greg - 27.10.2012 at 01:34  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 26.10.2012 at 14:18

Funny how I reviewed (here on MS) and loved their debut e.p. yet somehow managed to miss their debut full length and this album by them and yet also saw them live twice



If Marcel gives it a thumbs up, i must check it out!
Hoops4sho - 30.10.2012 at 18:09  
Debut was flawless, i'm fearful that this one won't live up to the last album..
Thrax - 01.12.2012 at 22:57  
2012 highlight

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Striker - Armed To The Teeth 7.5 03.11.2012 by gnirpz
News Arch Enemy - First International Metal Act To Play The Maldive Islands 3 27.05.2010 by Shadowcross
Metalstormers Metal Storm: The Facebook Group 3 13.09.2007 by Dane Train
Melodic metal forum Lethal: The US metal gods are back!!!! 3 12.11.2006 by Hellish Star
Funny stuff 196 rules of Doom metal 3 26.09.2006 by Stone



Hits total: 4072 | This month: 72