Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.0
Whales And Aurora - The Shipwreck
30 May 2012


01. Refused Recounting Words
02. Achieving The Unavoidable
03. The Aground Hard-Ship
04. Abandoned Among Echoes
05. Awakened By The Aurora
06. A New Awareness
07. Floating On Calm Waters


What? An eclectic mix of doom, post, gaze, and psychedelic influences based around a nautical theme? To quote Homer J Simpson, "Your ideas are intriguing to me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter. "

The Shipwreck marks the debut of the Italian seafaring quintet, Whales And Aurora.

Musically these mariners are much more akin to their Netherlander counterparts in Ortega than the German disciples of Melville, although Ahab seems to have turned in this direction as well.

The songs and the album itself build, ebb, and flow based primarily around the regularly charted waters of the prototypical post-metal build up, only W&A seem to execute it more convincingly than most the similar releases I've reviewed. Both songs and the album in general also fall away to quiet, serene sections.

Much like the sea itself, the album is a mix of tranquil beauty and raging waters.

Some of the tracks feature raw-throated, hoarse shouted vocals espousing Sartre-esque views on consuming a steady diet of negativity and, thus, accepting angst. Give the band credit for deviating from the obvious shipwreck-centric lyrics one might expect.

The remainder of the tracks, "The Aground Hard-ship", "Awakened By The Aurora", and "Floating On Calm Waters" (a beautiful album closer) are instrumental pieces.

Truthfully, on the port side they aren't doing anything that hasn't been done before. However on the starboard side, the whole thing is just crafted and performed well enough that it didn't matter terribly much at all to me that they were happy to sail around the Adriatic rather than head for that dark, unexplored corner of the metal map which warns "There be dragons!"

The first effort from Whales And Aurora is about as enjoyable as a booze cruise… a shipwreck of a release it is not.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Whales And Aurora
Album: The Shipwreck


 



Written on 26.10.2012 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 21  
Users visited: 222  
Search this topic:  


Susan - 26.10.2012 at 07:16  
Such a gorgeous album! And no, it's not technically anything "new" but it feels new to some degree. The particular way they blend these genres doesn't remind me of any other bands. It's a breath of fresh air for fans of varied post metal, I'd say. A big one.

And yes, atmosphere! The nautical theme is so very evident in the music. "Much like the sea itself, the album is a mix of tranquil beauty and raging waters." Perfectly said.
BoxCar Willy - 26.10.2012 at 22:12  
The cover Reminds me of Alaska.

Cool shiz, cool review.
Uldreth - 26.10.2012 at 22:13  
I need to check this out.

Damn, so many things to check out (or listen to more) and so little time.
Marcel Hubregtse - 26.10.2012 at 23:17  
Written by Susan on 26.10.2012 at 07:16

Such a gorgeous album! And no, it's not technically anything "new" but it feels new to some degree. The particular way they blend these genres doesn't remind me of any other bands. It's a breath of fresh air for fans of varied post metal, I'd say. A big one.


I totally hear a not so good Cult Of Luna when I play Whales And Aurora. Fun quite good stuff with potential, which isn't there by a long shot (f.e. Ortega are a ong way ahead as of course are the band they sound most like, Cult Of Luna) which I rated a 7.3
tea[m]ster - 27.10.2012 at 00:46  
This one has been on my navigational chart for a while now Another fine review Craig.
BloodTears - 27.10.2012 at 12:39  
I like nautical and everything you described. Deeply intrigued by this one.
Apothecary - 27.10.2012 at 13:31  
Doom, post, gaze, and psychedelic you say? Sounds too intriguing to not check out, will add this to my "to listen to list" for sure.
malaikat - 27.10.2012 at 14:14  
Sounds disturbingly like Cult Of Luna. Being that CoL postponed their album till the beginning of 2013 - just what I needed!
Valentin B - 27.10.2012 at 15:05  
No whales on the cover, not a masterpiece.
Nosurper - 28.10.2012 at 01:54  
Sounds headier than a simple shipwreck and worthwhile it seems. Good stuff.
Marcel Hubregtse - 28.10.2012 at 03:08  
Written by Valentin B on 28.10.2012 at 03:59

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 28.10.2012 at 03:50

Written by Valentin B on 27.10.2012 at 15:05

No whales on the cover, not a masterpiece.


I think you should look better, because there certainly is whale on the cover

oh dammit, it's that thing on the right. MASTERPIECE


yep, right top end corner

masterpiece NOPE, at least not yet
Marcel Hubregtse - 28.10.2012 at 03:50  
Written by Valentin B on 27.10.2012 at 15:05

No whales on the cover, not a masterpiece.


I think you should look better, because there certainly is whale on the cover
Valentin B - 28.10.2012 at 03:59  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 28.10.2012 at 03:50

Written by Valentin B on 27.10.2012 at 15:05

No whales on the cover, not a masterpiece.


I think you should look better, because there certainly is whale on the cover

oh dammit, it's that thing on the right. MASTERPIECE
Susan - 28.10.2012 at 07:09  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 28.10.2012 at 03:50

Written by Valentin B on 27.10.2012 at 15:05

No whales on the cover, not a masterpiece.


I think you should look better, because there certainly is whale on the cover


Dude, good eye. I missed that completely!!
Marcel Hubregtse - 28.10.2012 at 14:25  
Written by Susan on 28.10.2012 at 07:09



Dude, good eye. I missed that completely!!


Thank God for glasses
errorcode99 - 28.10.2012 at 16:32  
Good review, awesome album
R'Vannith - 29.10.2012 at 04:40  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 28.10.2012 at 03:08

Written by Valentin B on 28.10.2012 at 03:59

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 28.10.2012 at 03:50

Written by Valentin B on 27.10.2012 at 15:05

No whales on the cover, not a masterpiece.


I think you should look better, because there certainly is whale on the cover

oh dammit, it's that thing on the right. MASTERPIECE


yep, right top end corner

masterpiece NOPE, at least not yet


Maybe I need stronger glasses but how did you quote Valentin there when he posted 50 minutes after it says you quoted him
Susan - 29.10.2012 at 05:22  
Daylight savings?

Really weird...
Marcel Hubregtse - 29.10.2012 at 12:30  
Written by R'Vannith on 29.10.2012 at 04:40



Maybe I need stronger glasses but how did you quote Valentin there when he posted 50 minutes after it says you quoted him


Like Susan said, some sort of weird bug which has to do with daylight saving last weekend.
IronAngel - 29.10.2012 at 12:41  
Whalecore is gaining ground, though it seems bands are deviating from the true core of the genre.

It occurs me a power metal band should totally write a concept album about Free Willy. Why should there just be a land of the free?

I agree this sounds a lot like CoL. Competent stuff, though it'll probably be just a blip on the radar by the end of the year. Hilarious review.
R'Vannith - 29.10.2012 at 13:44  
Written by IronAngel on 29.10.2012 at 12:41

Whalecore is gaining ground


Gaining ground... That can't be good for the whales

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Whales And Aurora - The Shipwreck 9 01.11.2012 by BloodTears
Reviews Helllight - ...And Then, The Light Of Consciousness Became Hell... 6 04.04.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Grieving Age - Merely The Fleshless We And The Awed Obsequy 6 06.12.2013 by Northern Danger
Reviews Aurora Borealis - Timeline: The Beginning And End Of Everything 5.5 07.03.2011 by Elodie Artour
Articles Between the Baroness and Mastodon. In Tucson. Let's Get It On! 5 13.05.2010 by afu



Hits total: 3832 | This month: 45