Rating:
6.9
Semargl - Satanic Pop Metal
17 February 2012


01. I Hunger
02. Sweet Suicide
03. Drag Me To Hell
04. God Is Not Love
05. Tak, Kurwa
06. Suck My Dick
07. Labyrinth
08. Join In Fire
09. I Hate You
10. Opium
11. Anti I Am
12. Loneliness
13. Redire


Music in general is something that, in my opinion, should always be taken seriously. This does not, however, mean that the music can't be fun or silly and have stupid lyrics or song titles.

Because, In reality, if anyone needs a dose of humor in their life, it's metalheads.

So here we have Semargl's "Satanic Pop Metal"…

Yeah, let that sink in for a few minutes.

Are you back? Good, because I'm about to get started. The basic structure of this album is a fun, simplistic and catchy industrial album. This is nothing you haven't seen before; your standard forty minute album with thirteen, three-ish minute tracks. The only thing that differentiates this from any other industrial album is the awful album title, and immature album cover. Apart from those two differences, this is just another, sub-par album: repetitive songs, cheesy synths, and even worse lyrics.

What's not to love?

I mean really, this is a catchy slab of music that makes my toe tap. Sure I probably wouldn't pick it off my shelf and play it every single day, but this is far from being terrible. In fact, I'm even going to go out and say, I like Satanic Pop Metal. There, happy now?

But really, if this album was titled anything but, I'm sure it would not be getting the rap that it has. It's funny to see that something as small as the cover, or title, can sabotage a perfectly fine album. It's almost saddening to think that most of the people bashing this, probably haven't even heard it past the second track. In the end, Satanic Pop Metal is decent, if you give it a chance.


Band profile: Semargl
Album: Satanic Pop Metal


 


written by BoxCar Willy | 10.12.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 87  
Search this topic:  


BitterCOld - 11.12.2012 at 04:47  
This album is an abomination. i am usually fairly even keeled about scoring albums... this scored a 2, making it the lowest I've ever rated an album on MS.
BoxCar Willy - 11.12.2012 at 05:04  
Written by BitterCOld on 11.12.2012 at 04:47

This album is an abomination. i am usually fairly even keeled about scoring albums... this scored a 2, making it the lowest I've ever rated an album on MS.

Wow, I honestly don't think it's that bad

It's certainly not AOTY material, but it's super catchy, and fun to dance to.


NSFW

I don't know, maybe I'm just wacked.
!J.O.O.E.! - 11.12.2012 at 05:30  
If that video is anything to go by then this is far too straightforward and functional to be given less than 5 really. It's so straight up and inoffensive that it practically begs for an average score, rather than a negative one.
The Shape 1973 - 11.12.2012 at 10:45  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 11.12.2012 at 05:04

Written by BitterCOld on 11.12.2012 at 04:47

This album is an abomination. i am usually fairly even keeled about scoring albums... this scored a 2, making it the lowest I've ever rated an album on MS.

Wow, I honestly don't think it's that bad

It's certainly not AOTY material, but it's super catchy, and fun to dance to.
I don't know, maybe I'm just wacked.

Didn't think it was that bad either. I did get a bit distracted part way through the video though, can't think why .
BitterCOld - 11.12.2012 at 17:35  
It came across to me as far too forced and schtick-y, without anything of redeeming value.

i am not joking when i say i'd rather listen to Lulu on a luloop for 24 hours than this album again.
Grimskallen - 11.12.2012 at 21:33  
Not funny and no good... Simply atrocious in every sense
Susan - 13.12.2012 at 01:48  
ASS AND TITTIES MAKE EVERYTHING BETTER!! Wait, not metal, apparently.
The Shape 1973 - 14.12.2012 at 22:08  
Written by Susan on 13.12.2012 at 01:48

ASS AND TITTIES MAKE EVERYTHING BETTER!!

I've been saying that for years, but the restraining orders and lawsuits keep coming.
Mr. Doctor - 15.12.2012 at 00:46  
Written by The Shape 1973 on 14.12.2012 at 22:08
I've been saying that for years, but the restraining orders and lawsuits keep coming.


They just don't understand the amount of love the likes of you give.
Slayer666 - 15.12.2012 at 01:37  
Oh come on. If the name of the album doesn't at least provoke a smirk in the vein of "it's so fucking stupid it's funny", you're dead inside.

'Sides, some of this stuff is seriously catchy.
Array - 15.12.2012 at 01:41  
Written by Slayer666 on 15.12.2012 at 01:37

'Sides, some of this stuff is seriously catchy.

Labyrinth maybe the catchiest.
BoxCar Willy - 15.12.2012 at 03:20  
I prefer Tak, Kurwa. That synth keeps the party bumpin all night long.
Array - 15.12.2012 at 03:41  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 15.12.2012 at 03:20

I prefer Tak, Kurwa. That synth keeps the party bumpin all night long.

You should check out Deathstars' Termination Bliss, if you haven't yet. It's not like this, but yep..
The Shape 1973 - 15.12.2012 at 23:58  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.12.2012 at 00:46

Written by The Shape 1973 on 14.12.2012 at 22:08
I've been saying that for years, but the restraining orders and lawsuits keep coming.


They just don't understand the amount of love the likes of you give.

It can be so lonely waiting under someone's bed for hours on end.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Semargl - Satanic Pop Metal 7.5 20.11.2011 by Array
Reviews Venom - Black Metal 6 08.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Sick Of It All - Based On A True Story 4.5 15.01.2012 by 3rdWorld
Reviews Horn Of The Rhino - Grengus 4.5 25.05.2012 by InnerSelf
Reviews Kylesa - Ultraviolet 4.5 24.05.2013 by Spirit Molecule



Hits total: 1458 | This month: 107