Advertise on Metal Storm
Anthriel - The Pathway review


41 users:
Band: Anthriel
Album: The Pathway
Release date: September 2010

01. Devil's Lullaby
02. Mirror Games
03. Guardian
04. Repression
05. Haven Of Grace
06. Dark Divided Minds
07. The Deliverance
08. Controversial Euphoria
09. Light Divine
10. Scent Of Dawn
11. Promised Land
12. Chains Of The Past

Finland was always a cradle to many proficient and at the same time creative bands, but do you recall hearing good symphonic heavy/prog-power metal from over there? Apart from a very few obvious names, it isn't really an easy question, right? Lots of melodic/death/power metal and gothic formations are coming from that edge of Europe, but not many bands on the path taken by Symphony X, Circus Maximus, or Shadow Gallery. Well here's an answer then, it's called Anthriel. And it's a damn good one.

The album consists of 12 very well composed songs, and honestly the first thing that hits my mind is that this is an unreleased album recorded by Symphony X between The Divine Wings Of Tragedy and Twilight On Olympus' sessions, with Russell sitting it out, relaxing. And I can't help it, this is what I think every time I listen to The Pathway. We have couple of intros, instrumental lead-in pieces, epic choruses and solos where keys and guitars follow each other. While being original in terms of not exactly copying the same melodies and riffs used by the bands mentioned before, their music hits on the same spot and delivers a similar intensity and atmosphere to the songs. The singer is a really good one, his voice is not the most original I've heard but very decent and I really think the guy can improve (although by now he has been replaced by another one, we'll see how it turns out). On the instrumental section we have a very talented keyboardist named Antti Hakulinen who makes incredible interludes and so do the two guitarists; there is nothing for them to be ashamed of, excellent work. The drummer does an adequate job as well, precise and can handle all parts of his equipment. I can't really name just one song to pick, not even just a few, all of them have something valuable that's worth listening to.

This record is far too excellent for a debut, although one thing that disturbs me a bit: about the sound, the guitar tone they used. It's too crunchy and edgy for me when it comes to hard riffing for music like this. Not in a way that it will decrease the fun though.

I'm really hoping that with time and a couple more good albums they will turn out big just like the others from the country.

Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8

Written by qlacs | 14.12.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Hits total: 2830 | This month: 23