Rating:
N/A
Necrowretch - Putrid Death Sorcery
28 January 2013


01. Ripping Souls Of Sinners
02. Purifying Torment
03. Goat-Headed
04. Putrid Death Sorcery
05. Impious Plague In Catacombs
06. Spewed From Hell
07. Defiler Of Sacrality
08. The Anthropomancer
09. Soiled Into A Crypt
10. Necrollections
11. Repugnizer


By just a quick glance at the artwork of this album you can suppose this will be something hellish and vicious. And if you're craving something close to the early days and roots of death metal like Scream Bloody Gore (though I am not trying to imply that Scream Bloody Gore is precisely death metal) then grab this album.

This kind of music doesn't occur often these days, although I would say the whole atmosphere of this album is not precisely death metal. There are moments which are complete blend of death and black metal yet I won't claim that the whole album is in the blackened death metal category.

As I said above, I am sure that with your first listen to this album you would think that Necrowretch is being categorized as an old school death metal band, yet doesn't seem to play exactly that genre. Yeah, definitely the vocals are the first thing about the songs that make this album a bit blended with black metal. They might not be the exact growling style which most death metal fans expect but I believe the vocals certainly suit the whole atmosphere on this album. They're definitely well placed in all the songs and they add to the energy of the catchy aggressive guitars and the obscure atmosphere of album.

Rarely did a band rise up in 2008 that happens to play with the old school elements in their songs and at the same time were not repeating the typical death metal albums. However, there were more technical songs that I expected more of a surprising impact on the listener but they used their instruments to have a mostly atmospheric impression in their songs.

Well, besides their masterful use of old school style and some blend with black metal, this album contains songs with mind blowing intros. Approximately all of the songs on this album have great intros which make you to hear the whole song.

Needless to mention songs are not very long, not very short either and they sounded not very raw and not very over-processed.

Last but not least, anyone who is interested in Death, Asphyx, and are eager to hear some death metal with blend of black metal vocals and some old school elements, you won't regret giving these French death metallers the chance of being heard. This will be a 36:15 journey to hell and back.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Necrowretch
Album: Putrid Death Sorcery


 


written by Mary N. | 12.05.2013


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 46  
Search this topic:  


Frodd - 16.05.2013 at 03:26  
Nice, you're getting better. KEEP THEM COMING!
Fritillaria - 16.05.2013 at 12:00  
Written by Frodd on 16.05.2013 at 03:26

Nice, you're getting better. KEEP THEM COMING!

thank you for reading it practice makes perfect after-all
Ozman - 16.05.2013 at 13:45  
Quote:

though I am not trying to imply that Scream Bloody Gore is precisely death metal




but it is 100% death metal
Fritillaria - 16.05.2013 at 15:48  
Written by Ozman on 16.05.2013 at 13:45


but it is 100% death metal


isn't it a bit close to Thrash still ?
Ozman - 16.05.2013 at 15:58  
Written by Guest on 16.05.2013 at 15:48

Written by Ozman on 16.05.2013 at 13:45

Quote:

though I am not trying to imply that Scream Bloody Gore is precisely death metal




but it is 100% death metal


isn't it a bit close to Thrash still ?



not really. Possessed is closer but also still death metal. And of course death metal came out of thrash, just like second wave black came out of death.
Fritillaria - 16.05.2013 at 17:37  
Written by Ozman on 16.05.2013 at 15:58



not really. Possessed is closer but also still death metal. And of course death metal came out of thrash, just like second wave black came out of death.


I see what you mean.
mz - 18.05.2013 at 21:54  
Keep reviewing
Fritillaria - 18.05.2013 at 22:08  
Written by mz on 18.05.2013 at 21:54

Keep reviewing

If I find interesting enough albums to write about them, for sure I keep reviewing, I enjoy it much.
mz - 18.05.2013 at 22:15  
Written by Guest on 18.05.2013 at 22:08

Written by mz on 18.05.2013 at 21:54

Keep reviewing

If I find interesting enough albums to write about them, for sure I keep reviewing, I enjoy it much.


You mean an "album" which is interesting enough or an album which is interesting enough to "write" about?
Fritillaria - 18.05.2013 at 22:24  
Written by mz on 18.05.2013 at 22:15


You mean an "album" which is interesting enough or an album which is interesting enough to "write" about?

yeah I exactly mean that an album should be interesting enough to motivate me writing about it .
mz - 18.05.2013 at 22:34  
Written by Guest on 18.05.2013 at 22:24

Written by mz on 18.05.2013 at 22:15

Written by Guest on 18.05.2013 at 22:08

Written by mz on 18.05.2013 at 21:54

Keep reviewing

If I find interesting enough albums to write about them, for sure I keep reviewing, I enjoy it much.


You mean an "album" which is interesting enough or an album which is interesting enough to "write" about?

yeah I exactly mean that an album should be interesting enough to motivate me writing about it .


but you do not have to adore an album to write about it.
Any way, its your choice. just keep reviewing (repetetive wording, i know)
Fritillaria - 18.05.2013 at 22:56  
Written by mz on 18.05.2013 at 22:34

but you do not have to adore an album to write about it.
Any way, its your choice. just keep reviewing (repetetive wording, i know)

somewhat I agree, I may try writing on an album which I don't like much as well Haha,it's ok

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Necro - Death Rap 2.5 06.04.2008 by Doc Godin
Reviews Death Valley Driver - Choke The River 2.5 03.05.2011 by
Albums Loudblast - Frozen Moments Between Life And Death 1.5 03.06.2011 by qlacs
Events UKR, Kiev - Death Damage Fest 1.5 16.02.2011 by Deria Daisy
Promotion and Ads Order To Ruin - I Am Death EP 1.5 24.05.2013 by Pierre Tombale



Hits total: 1950 | This month: 35