Beast In Black - From Hell With Love review



Reviewer:
N/A

192 users:
8.02
Band: Beast In Black
Album: From Hell With Love
Release date: February 2019


01. Cry Out For A Hero
02. From Hell With Love
03. Sweet True Lies
04. Repentless
05. Die By The Blade
06. Oceandeep
07. Unlimited Sin
08. True Believer
09. This Is War
10. Heart Of Steel
11. No Surrender
12. Killed By Death [Motörhead cover] [bonus]
13. No Easy Way Out [Robert Tepper cover] [bonus]


There is enough cheese here to provide topping for a thousand pizzas. But seriously, who doesn't like pizza?

Beast In Black is what you get if you mix Modern Talking with Helloween, Eurovision pop with true metal, Bonnie Tyler with riffs. The band's euro-flower-power product is naturally based on Anton Kabanen's addictive guitar melodies and riffs, backed up by some very infectious choruses, but the driving force of most songs is the irresistible catchiness of the keyboards. Tracks like "From Hell With Love", "Die By The Blade", "True Believer" and "Heart Of Steel" are so uplifting, radio-friendly and commercially orientated that they are destined to succeed. Some of them could have even been featured in Rocky IV in the scenes where Sylvester Stallone is training hard in order to face Ivan Drago with the former being the underdog and I guess the band included the bonus cover of "No Easy Way Out" because they are proud of their cheese-crafting influences.

In order to keep some kind of balance between the pop and the metal there are some "heavier" tracks like the opener "Cry Out For A Hero" and the closer "No Surrender" as well as some more epic samples such as "Repentless" and "This Is War". Beast In Black make those work too because they have talent in spades and it's a matter of personal preference which side of the band you prefer.

At this point I need to dedicate a paragraph to the shining star of the album; Yannis Papadopoulos comfortably rises above layers upon layers of keyboards, bombastic guitars and over-the-top orchestrations, because he is undoubtedly one of the most gifted frontmen in the business right now. His range is impressive to say the least; if you didn't know that a bloke is the band's vocalist, you'd swear there's a woman with heavenly voice singing the ballad "Oceandeep". At the same time he delivers a performance that would even make Lemmy proud in the "Killed By Death" bonus cover and this comes from one very big Motörhead fanboy and Lemmy worshipper.

About a year and a half ago my initial reaction to Berserker was to go vegan because the cheese was just too much for me. With time it became the definition of "guilty pleasure" and I have played it inbetween my br00tal death and cvlt black metal albums more often than my trve metal past can let me admit. With From Hell With Love, Beast In Black have overcome the hurdle of the "difficult sophomore album" with extreme ease and if you have ever enjoyed Europe or South Park's "Let's Fighting Love" there is no way you won't love this.

You will dangerously increase your cholesterol levels though but isn't this the price to pay when indulging in tasty stuff?

"Baby, baby tell me more of your lies
Say you want me for a lifetime
I believe you even when I know it's a lie
Love's so blind
Sweet true lies"


 



Written on 12.02.2019 by I was into this music when you were still in diapers.


Comments

Comments: 19   Visited by: 236 users
12.02.2019 - 00:47
nikarg
Old Nick
Now that I think of it, I could have reviewed this here
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 11:58
The Shape 1973
Written by nikarg on 12.02.2019 at 00:47

Now that I think of it, I could have reviewed this here

Considering how established bands that soften their sound are often called "Sell outs" on this site, it is a surprise that this band is popular here. This is really Top Gun/Rocky 80s pop rock, could imagine this playing over the final credits. You can feel the diabetes coming on after so much cheese. To be controversial, I can't stand the vocals, bit too camp on some tracks, prefer his screamer voice rather than his Mika one.
----
Global warming will melt all the snowflakes, so it's not all bad
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 15:54
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Should I get my hairspray for this one?
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 16:01
Bad English
Masterchief
Pop staf my heart, give pop chick from 80, s.... Nja,
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 16:38
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by The Shape 1973 on 12.02.2019 at 11:58

Considering how established bands that soften their sound are often called "Sell outs" on this site, it is a surprise that this band is popular here.

I think people get pissed off here - and in general - not when bands soften their sound but when their songs sound bad. It's the decrease in quality that people don't accept rather than the decrease in hardness.

That said, I don't think BiB softened their sound that much compared to their debut.
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 16:40
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by RaduP on 12.02.2019 at 15:54

Should I get my hairspray for this one?

Definitely. I'm currently searching for my long lost boxing gloves
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 16:45
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Bad English on 12.02.2019 at 16:01

Pop staf my heart, give pop chick from 80, s.... Nja,

I normally get what you write, but now I'm not sure.
Do you mean something along the lines of "Pop stuff is in my heart, such as women in 80s pop music, ninjas, etc?"
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 17:33
JoHn DoE
I enjoyed this album (to my surprise as me and euro-power do not usually get along) and strangely enough, it's the influences they wear on their sleeves that make things interesting: synth pop/80s pop, add some AOR and heavy/power. And it worked.

I listened a bit to the previous album and did not like it one bit
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 19:59
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by nikarg on 12.02.2019 at 16:45

Written by Bad English on 12.02.2019 at 16:01

Pop staf my heart, give pop chick from 80, s.... Nja,

I normally get what you write, but now I'm not sure.
Do you mean something along the lines of "Pop stuff is in my heart, such as women in 80s pop music, ninjas, etc?"

Pop star
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 20:48
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Written by JoHn DoE on 12.02.2019 at 17:33

I enjoyed this album [...]

Most excellent opportunity to quote the very first line (those 4 seconds=all I could stomach) of track # 03:

Baby, baby, tell me more of your lies.

SCNR...
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 21:27
JoHn DoE
Written by Starvynth on 12.02.2019 at 20:48

Written by JoHn DoE on 12.02.2019 at 17:33

I enjoyed this album [...]

Most excellent opportunity to quote the very first line (those 4 seconds=all I could stomach) of track # 03:

Baby, baby, tell me more of your lies.

SCNR...


Loading...
12.02.2019 - 22:32
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by JoHn DoE on 12.02.2019 at 17:33

I listened a bit to the previous albumand did not like it one bit

Give it time. This band works in mysterious ways, I also normally vomit when I listen to euroflower metal.
Loading...
12.02.2019 - 22:44
JoHn DoE
Written by nikarg on 12.02.2019 at 22:32

Written by JoHn DoE on 12.02.2019 at 17:33

I listened a bit to the previous albumand did not like it one bit

Give it time. This band works in mysterious ways, I also normally vomit when I listen to euroflower metal.


I don't think so. The new one did it for me, the combination of influences did the trick. I guess I enjoyed it because it's not your pure (for lack of a better word) power metal.
Loading...
13.02.2019 - 09:29
Ball Fondlers
I seem to be struggling with a lot of stuff that's coming from Finland lately. I'm not sure what it is
Loading...
13.02.2019 - 11:10
The Shape 1973
Written by Ball Fondlers on 13.02.2019 at 09:29

I seem to be struggling with a lot of stuff that's coming from Finland lately. I'm not sure what it is

Lactose intolerant?
----
Global warming will melt all the snowflakes, so it's not all bad
Loading...
13.02.2019 - 11:18
The Shape 1973
Written by nikarg on 12.02.2019 at 16:38

Written by The Shape 1973 on 12.02.2019 at 11:58

Considering how established bands that soften their sound are often called "Sell outs" on this site, it is a surprise that this band is popular here.


That said, I don't think BiB softened their sound that much compared to their debut.

I think I meant more that they were soft to begin with. So that is why I was surprised they were so popular here. My bad.
----
Global warming will melt all the snowflakes, so it's not all bad
Loading...
13.02.2019 - 11:21
Ball Fondlers
Written by The Shape 1973 on 13.02.2019 at 11:10

Written by Ball Fondlers on 13.02.2019 at 09:29

I seem to be struggling with a lot of stuff that's coming from Finland lately. I'm not sure what it is

Lactose intolerant?

ha. We'll aint all this cheesy
Loading...
14.02.2019 - 23:39
Batlord666
I've been listening to this non stop, it's so goddamn catchy that it's always in my head. I'd like the next one to be a better mix between the heavier power metal cuts and the super cheesy keyboard anthems, but I'm happy either way!
Loading...
15.02.2019 - 14:43
dralois
It's cheesy, it's catchy, it's good.
Super 80s/90s-vibes and great riffs combine into an amazing album.
I discovered this by pure chance and I'm glad I gave it a shot!
Well done, we certainly will hear more of them in the future!
Loading...

Hits total: 3692 | This month: 36