Saqra's Cult - The 9th King review



Reviewer:
N/A

13 users:
7.54
Band: Saqra's Cult
Album: The 9th King
Release date: January 2019


01. The 9th King
02. Endless Devotion
03. Legends Of Pururaucas
04. Last Denial


Inca-themed black metal from Belgium. This is globalization for you.

The Dance of Saqra is one of the main performances during the Festival of the Virgen del Carmen and has its origins in the late 19th century in the province of Paucartambo, Cusco in Peru. "Saqra" means roguery, restlessness, agility or mischief in English and all that is reflected in a wonderful performance in honour of the Virgin. The mischievous Saqra dancers wear masks of animals such as pigs, bats, dogs and cats among others and this is all the background story you need to know in order to grasp the theme behind Saqra's Cult music.

The 9th King is the sophomore effort by this Belgian act with members that also take part in the band Maleficence. The cover artwork warns you about an occult black metal ritual that you are supposed to experience and, although it starts very promisingly with a capella screams and shrieks and howls that truly sound as though they are summoning the most unholy spirits, the rest of the album is more or less straight-forward black metal and you have to wait until the closer, "Last Denial", rewards you with some more shamanic and ghostly chanting. If this is your first encounter with Saqra's Cult and you are not familiar with their debut, Forgotten Rites, you'll be pleasantly surprised, but the truth is that The 9th King is missing a lot of the tribal and exotic sounds and elements that helped form its predecessor's uniqueness.

However, I don't want to convey that I am disappointed by the album because this is not the case at all. The quality of the songwriting remains quite high, with brilliant riffs, upsetting dissonance, intense chugging and a very convincing performance overall. The vocals are deranged and often layered, creating a terrifying atmosphere, which is complemented by some very inspired and thundering drumming with extensive and masterful use of cymbals. So, even though in its 30-minutes of runtime The 9th King doesn't sound as original and extraordinary as Forgotten Rites did, there is no denying that it is still a black metal release totally worth checking out.

If you are looking for preparation music before your ayahuasca ceremony, the Cult delivers.


 



Written on 26.02.2019 by I was into this music when you were still in diapers.


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 113 users
26.02.2019 - 12:17
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
CULTURAL APPROPRIATION! BOYCOTT
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
26.02.2019 - 12:32
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by RaduP on 26.02.2019 at 12:17

CULTURAL APPROPRIATION! BOYCOTT

Totally
----
Instagram
Loading...
26.02.2019 - 14:08
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 26.02.2019 at 12:17

CULTURAL APPROPRIATION! BOYCOTT

Best tell every non Sinosphere firearm owner to relinquish their weapons immediately, then. After all, the Chinese invented gunpowder
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
26.02.2019 - 14:08
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
I've been seeing this album around though being recommended to me by people both here and elsewhere. Given the genre and the theme when I saw this on the front page I had originally thought it was Radu reviewing it
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
27.02.2019 - 02:40
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Apothecary on 26.02.2019 at 14:08

I've been seeing this album around though being recommended to me by people both here and elsewhere. Given the genre and the theme when I saw this on the front page I had originally thought it was Radu reviewing it

The album will probably end up in my top-10 bm albums of the year but I still think their debut is better. Radu actually asked me to review it when I wrote something positive about it in the shoutbox and he even added the band in the database for me so... I had to do it. It's not easy to say no to this guy, he's very persistent, half of what I do for this site is because of his nagging
----
Instagram
Loading...
27.02.2019 - 07:09
Malignar
Good riifs. The production is definitely taking this down a notch. I think you've gotta have a more forceful production for these types of riffs. It is possible I'm also not really enjoying the songwriting much.
Loading...
27.02.2019 - 09:30
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by nikarg on 27.02.2019 at 02:40

It's not easy to say no to this guy, he's very persistent, half of what I do for this site is because of his nagging

Well then I ought not to feel guilty about it since it's all for the best
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
27.02.2019 - 20:28
Swietowit11
Incan black metal from Belgium?! Sounds as absurd as Egyptian death metal from South Carolina!
Loading...
28.02.2019 - 16:37
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Great album! One of my favorites from the year so far.
Loading...
17.03.2019 - 14:48
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Finally got around to listening to this, pretty decent stuff. A little BTC-ish as well even, not just for the indigenous American theme but the rawness as well and the vocalist sounds quite a bit like Eduardo Ramirez.
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
17.03.2019 - 20:20
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by Apothecary on 17.03.2019 at 14:48

Finally got around to listening to this, pretty decent stuff. A little BTC-ish as well even, not just for the indigenous American theme but the rawness as well and the vocalist sounds quite a bit like Eduardo Ramirez.

You're probably going to like this one too
----
Instagram
Loading...
17.03.2019 - 22:46
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by nikarg on 17.03.2019 at 20:20

You're probably going to like this one too

Yes, I saw you mention that in the SB earlier and noticed a comment on Youtube calling it "black ambient," so I'm definitely interested in checking it out. On my list for the upcoming week for sure
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...

Hits total: 1563 | This month: 81