11Paranoias - Asterismal review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

7 users:
6.29
Band: 11Paranoias
Album: Asterismal
Release date: March 2019


01. Loss Portal
02. Bloodless Crush
03. Vitrified Galaxy
04. Slow Moon
05. Quantitative Immortality
06. Chamber Of Stars


If psychedelic music were a giant pool, would you go in feet first like a sissy, or strap on your goggles and go for the head dive?

The Englishmen in the trio known as 11Paranoias are psychonauts who prefer to plunge into that pool head first, and once they do they don't hold back. 2019's Asterismal sees the band essentially keeping their formula intact, a move that could be decried for a perceived lack of forward momentum but that's really more of a "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" type situation than anything. The sound here could best be described with buzzword favorites such as "massive" and "swallowing," as 11Paranoias once more conjure forth a riff heavy, entrancing doom metal beast that has long since replaced the blood in its body with Ayahuasca. A very cohesive and well structured effort, it is quite easy to get lost in the listen with Asterismal while its waves of fuzzy guitar, vocal chants, and trippy effects craft a tight, unbroken, ritual like atmosphere.

Songwriting wise, Asterismal has a pleasant degree of diversity as well, and despite 11Paranoias going at a common theme throughout its various tracks, they nonetheless succeed in transitioning through many different shades of psychedelic metal shenanigans as well. The bulk of the album follows in the vein of opener "Loss Portal": a repetitive, spacey, and gradually climaxing doom metal sound. But every now and then 11Paranoias shift course ever so slightly, as with the more Hawkwind-ish feel of "Bloodless Crush," the bass and drums only delivery on "Prelude," or even a more drone-like approach on the "Acoustic Mirror II" closer.

For those not too keen on psychedelic music, let alone when it's infused into metal, Aseterismal may not be an overly appealing listen, as its minimalistic, repetitive songwriting could come off as something of a bore. But for those who enjoy slowly building, well paced compositions that reward intimate, zoned out listens, it comes as highly recommended. Four albums in, with Asterismal 11Paranoias have easily established themselves as a powerful, if oft overlooked force to be reckoned with in the realm of psychedelic metal.

As some dirty hippie once said: "Turn on, tune in, drop out."


 



Written on 06.04.2019 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 10   [ 1 ignored ]   Visited by: 76 users
06.04.2019 - 10:05
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Droooooop ouuut of life
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
06.04.2019 - 14:24
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 06.04.2019 at 10:05

Droooooop ouuut of life

Wrong band
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
06.04.2019 - 14:41
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
I'm thankful that I didn't dismiss this band solely based on the awful cover art
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
06.04.2019 - 16:42
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 06.04.2019 at 14:41

I'm thankful that I didn't dismiss this band solely based on the awful cover art

What's so wrong about the album cover? You're not the first person I've seen say that, think people are getting way too nitpicky about this one. Nice color scheme to it and the pattern is nice, psychedelic, and fractal-ish
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
06.04.2019 - 16:47
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Apothecary on 06.04.2019 at 16:42

Written by RaduP on 06.04.2019 at 14:41

I'm thankful that I didn't dismiss this band solely based on the awful cover art

What's so wrong about the album cover? You're not the first person I've seen say that, think people are getting way too nitpicky about this one. Nice color scheme to it and the pattern is nice, psychedelic, and fractal-ish

Really off-putting, amateurish and with a shitty colour scheme. It looks like it was made in MS Paint
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
06.04.2019 - 16:56
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
This sounds pretty good. Kinda post punk meets stoner
----
2016 - 2017
2018 - 2019
Loading...
06.04.2019 - 18:28
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 06.04.2019 at 16:47

Really off-putting, amateurish and with a shitty colour scheme. It looks like it was made in MS Paint

Whatever you say, Michelangelo
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
07.04.2019 - 02:13
mz
By the way, this band is a side project of Bong's leader
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
07.04.2019 - 04:09
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by mz on 07.04.2019 at 02:13

By the way, this band is a side project of Bong's leader

Yes, Mike Vest, I discovered that connection shortly after the first listen. Makes sense, if you're familiar with Bong you can definitely pick out a slight similarity here in that thick, bass-heavy guitar tone
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
10.04.2019 - 03:24
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by RaduP on 06.04.2019 at 16:47

Really off-putting, amateurish and with a shitty colour scheme. It looks like it was made in MS Paint

I agree. The album cover is godawful.


Written by Apothecary on 07.04.2019 at 04:09

if you're familiar with Bong

I like the music, it really goes well with Bong (see what I did there?)
The drummer is a star. The guitarist too. The vocals kinda put me off though.
----
Instagram
Loading...

Hits total: 1113 | This month: 84