Darkthrone - Old Star review



Reviewer:
N/A

137 users:
7.92
Band: Darkthrone
Album: Old Star
Release date: May 2019


01. I Muffle Your Inner Choir
02. The Hardship Of The Scots
03. Old Star
04. Alp Man
05. Duke Of Gloat
06. The Key Is Inside The Wall


Whatever your opinion is on Darkthrone, you have to acknowledge that this duo only churns out music that they like listening to themselves. With Old Star they keep doing exactly that and, moreover, it seems they couldn't care less about common promotional practice, since no one had a copy of this album before its release for reviewing purposes.

Old Star is close in sound to Arctic Thunder (and far from their crust/punk-ish era), but it is overall a stronger release with more interesting songwriting and a lot more hooks. As Fenriz himself put it, "Old Star is the big brother of Arctic Thunder. More solid and with even better riffs". It also marks a welcome return to black and white cover artwork - and this one is absolutely stunning.

From the opener, "I Muffle Your Inner Choir", which gets things going with black metal energy that subsequently gives way to crushing doominess, to the fierce closer "The Key Is Inside The Wall", which plays the game of tension and release very convincingly, Darkthrone really sound like the are enjoying themselves more than they have for a long time. The title track is one of the most rewarding ones in the album, built upon slightly dissonant ground, paired with a malevolent -as well as catchy- melody halfway into the song, and sprinkled with some nice cymbal work from Fenriz. "Alp Man" takes its cues from '80s doom metal and many should find familiar Candlemass vibes in it.

As much as Old Star features some exciting and memorable riffs, it must be said that Darkthrone are at times guilty of severe plagiarism in this album. If you take the first two singles as examples, you will of course recognize in "The Hardship Of The Scots" one of the sexiest riffs in history, taken from AC/DC's "Let Me Put My Love Into You" and you will also clearly hear Mayhem's "Cursed In Eternity" in "The Duke Of Gloat". Darkthrone have crafted these two exceptional tracks by blending some of the magic that has inspired them throughout their career with their own nasty sound that has inspired hundreds of other bands. It's no secret that they haven't shied away for many years now from paying homage to their root influences, and in Old Star these influences are probably more blatantly and unashamedly revealed than ever before.

In a nutshell, Old Star is a slab of blackened and doom-laden heavy metal, and if you have heard the track "Snowfall" from 1988's A New Dimension demo, it gives you a good idea of what they are doing in this album. Those of you that haven't been impressed by Darkthrone's deep dive into the '80s shouldn't really bother with it. However, those that have welcomed the stylistic shift of the band are going to get some raw-produced, ugly-looking, stripped-down metal, with a sincere we-don't-give-a-fuck attitude exuding from its pores.

"Mankind dies
In a shroud of introvert mumbling"


 



Written on 26.06.2019 by I was into this music when you were still in diapers.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 157 users
26.06.2019 - 08:25
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
I'm really confused as to why I liked Arctic Thunder but found this one so boring. Honestly my biggest disappointment of 2019.
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
26.06.2019 - 09:50
Windrider
Raureif
I really love this album. I know to some it's just warmed up 80's stuff, but to me it has much energy and rawness, as hardly found nowadays in other bands. Then again, maybe, I might just be a fanboy of anything Fenriz says and anything Ted plays
But if one thing is for sure, then it's that the lyrics, especially of the title track, are killer. "And out there in the fringes, the caravans are going in loops" ...
EDIT: Great review!
Loading...
26.06.2019 - 11:24
gavdann
Written by Windrider on 26.06.2019 at 09:50

I really love this album.

So do I and it gets better with every listen. I liked Arctic Thunder but for me this is on another level and I've come back to it time and time again. It's currently in my top 3 releases of 2019 with Wormwitch and the Hellripper EP.

And I would never have noticed the first riff of Hardship was borrowed from AC/DC unless someone pointed it out. Same chord progression but they sound very different.
Loading...
26.06.2019 - 14:14
Discordant666
This and the 2 previous albums have been great! This being the best of the bunch
----
http://enigmaticalofficial.bandcamp.com/
^Cosmic Black Metal Electronica^
Loading...
26.06.2019 - 23:05
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by RaduP on 26.06.2019 at 08:25

I'm really confused as to why I liked Arctic Thunder but found this one so boring. Honestly my biggest disappointment of 2019.

You over act, its not so bad, better as so called raw bm and drim programing bm bands
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
26.06.2019 - 23:16
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 26.06.2019 at 23:05

Written by RaduP on 26.06.2019 at 08:25

I'm really confused as to why I liked Arctic Thunder but found this one so boring. Honestly my biggest disappointment of 2019.

You over act, its not so bad, better as so called raw bm and drim programing bm bands

That's not a very high standard to reach.

I wish I liked it more, but I can't stop feeling that riffs are really anemic.
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
26.06.2019 - 23:25
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by RaduP on 26.06.2019 at 23:16

Written by Bad English on 26.06.2019 at 23:05

Written by RaduP on 26.06.2019 at 08:25

I'm really confused as to why I liked Arctic Thunder but found this one so boring. Honestly my biggest disappointment of 2019.

You over act, its not so bad, better as so called raw bm and drim programing bm bands

That's not a very high standard to reach.

I wish I liked it more, but I can't stop feeling that riffs are really anemic.

Thay are big and legendary band, but Demo bands and riffs, they are just 2 men, its old school Street music
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
27.06.2019 - 00:23
nikarg
Old Nick
I didn't write it in the review, but this is probably my favourite Darkthrone release since Panzerfaust.

Then again
Written by Windrider on 26.06.2019 at 09:50

I might just be a fanboy of anything Fenriz says and anything Ted plays

this also applies to me.
Loading...
27.06.2019 - 07:44
Malignar
Some really good riffs and good production. I do wish they would pick up the tempo a bit more and lose some of the repetitiveness. I think if an anonymous band released this album it would be seen as a solid, if tame release.
Loading...
27.06.2019 - 08:15
Lanthros
As with everything they release, I gave this one a listen. I got the same result I allways do. I can't find a fault with it, but I also just don't enjoy it. 95% of the pros people say about darkthrone can't really be argued with. They just can't spark my attention to re listen. What I don't get is why I feel the need to listen to every new release they put out.
Loading...
28.07.2019 - 22:54
BitterCOld
waltrsobchakheit
Written by nikarg on 27.06.2019 at 00:23

I didn't write it in the review, but this is probably my favourite Darkthrone release since Panzerfaust.

Then again
Written by Windrider on 26.06.2019 at 09:50

I might just be a fanboy of anything Fenriz says and anything Ted plays

this also applies to me.



Wow. in my ears, thems big words as Hate Them is probably my fave. Will be listening to this again after getting through some Spanish metal offerings courtesy of Discos Macarras.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...

Hits total: 2301 | This month: 82