Rating:
10
Metallica - Master Of Puppets
21 February 1986


01. Battery
02. Master Of Puppets
03. The Thing That Should Not Be
04. Welcome Home (Sanitarium)
05. Disposable Heroes
06. Leper Messiah
07. Orion
08. Damage, Inc.


A classic between classics and the top of Metallica like a band. The album that made history, the cd of the cds, the best album of the best band. The album that any person who wants to know what is that world called Metal music needs to have, and listen to.

From the intro of "Battery" to the last guitar riff of "Damage Inc." the cd is just perfect, incredible and all the adjectives you want. In this album Metallica composed the song of songs: "Master of Puppets", astonishing. 8 minutes 38 seconds of pure Metal. The virtuosity on composing of Metallica appears clearly in that song. In Master of Puppets [maybe influenced by Black Sabbath] some songs are really dark and paranoid like "The Thing that should not Be". A ballad is also included, which is called "Welcome Home [Sanitarium]" and Metallica still includes in this album an instrumental track: "Orion" [with an intense and melodically brute bass line, perfectly played and composed by bass-God Cliff Burton]

On balance the cd [as you can see my favorite one] is really good, I will recommend this album to all people, especially to people who want to start listening to Metal, because this has been very important to the evolution of music, this is one kind of Led Zeppelin 4th album , Iron Maiden's: Number of the Beast. Just indispensable.

Metallica was in the top when in a terrible accident Cliff died. The band was touring in Denmark, when suddenly at night the Tour-Bus slide in an ice badge, the day was : September 27th of 1986.

Thank you for your beautiful music

R.I.P

10 February 1962 - 27 September 1986

CLIFF L . BURTON


Band profile: Metallica
Album: Master Of Puppets


 


written by Iced Iñigo | 22.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Motoroverkill

Rating:
9.3
Master of Puppets is a master class in structuring an album, The tracks and the way they're ordered is near perfection. A landmark album. Master Of Puppets is a timeless classic, A hybrid, Which features the best characteristics of many different kinds of metal. Many people consider it one of the greatest albums of all time and for good reason.

Read more ››
published 25.01.2010 | Comments (21)

Guest review by
Cal Wolvington

Rating:
8.3
I know I am in the minority here, but I don't care. Coffee is not as bad for you as everyone says it is, ten million Coldplay fans are wrong and Master Of Puppets is not Metallica's best album. This album is considered to be a classic and it is a great effort, but it is no Ride The Lightning. Master Of Puppets may have become more popular than Metallica's first two albums and it may be every critic's darling but that alone does not make it a better album or the greatest thrash record of all time. What matters is the music itself and therein lies my problem with considering this album a mind blowing masterpiece, which it is not.

Read more ››
published 06.06.2012 | Comments (64)



Comments page 3 of 3

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 [3]
Comments: 124  
Users visited: 408  
Search this topic:  


SatyriconChick - 26.11.2009 at 05:35  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 24.11.2009 at 13:16

Yeah, of course. Evanescence and Korpiklaani are surely more metal than "Master Of Puppets".

By the way, I don't even like MoP. It's just that your logic is so flawed I felt I had to defend the album even if I never liked it much.

You surely don't know me at all and didn't read my posts on this board, if you think I enjoy pop-metal. If there's one guy here who criticized stuff for being commercial and mainstream, it's precisely me.


I don't get it... I've seen you say in the St. Anger thread that thrash in one of the metal genres you least care for, and that black metal is the ONLY genre of extreme music you do like. Are you trying to get your post count up? Is that why you insist on trashing Metallica in their section up here? It's one thing for you to diss Satyricon's last two albums, since you at least do like their oldest releases, but coming here to do this is kind of sad. You're only pissing off the Metallica fans, and it's not exactly "constructive criticism" when you say things like what you said in your last post (although I'll admit to being a huge Evanescence fan). I'm not trying to pick a fight with you, but seriously, what's your agenda here?
Lord_Regnier - 27.11.2009 at 14:20  
Written by SatyriconChick on 26.11.2009 at 05:35

Written by Lord_Regnier on 24.11.2009 at 13:16

Yeah, of course. Evanescence and Korpiklaani are surely more metal than "Master Of Puppets".

By the way, I don't even like MoP. It's just that your logic is so flawed I felt I had to defend the album even if I never liked it much.

You surely don't know me at all and didn't read my posts on this board, if you think I enjoy pop-metal. If there's one guy here who criticized stuff for being commercial and mainstream, it's precisely me.


I don't get it... I've seen you say in the St. Anger thread that thrash in one of the metal genres you least care for, and that black metal is the ONLY genre of extreme music you do like. Are you trying to get your post count up? Is that why you insist on trashing Metallica in their section up here? It's one thing for you to diss Satyricon's last two albums, since you at least do like their oldest releases, but coming here to do this is kind of sad. You're only pissing off the Metallica fans, and it's not exactly "constructive criticism" when you say things like what you said in your last post (although I'll admit to being a huge Evanescence fan). I'm not trying to pick a fight with you, but seriously, what's your agenda here?


Getting my post count up? Ridiculous. I don't give a fuck at such things.

Trashing Metallica? Since when? I never said that MoP is not good. As for ST.Anger, well, tons and tons of people think it's a piece of shit, so I'm only one more guy to share this opinion.

Pissing the Metallica fans? I don't care for what others believe. They can hate me as much as they want, it doesn't make the slightest difference to me. It's only a forum, after all. Nothing important.

As for my agenda here, do you really think it concerns you? It's not your business.

If you continue to quote my posts, I'll end up thinking that you're falling in love with me. lol
SatyriconChick - 27.11.2009 at 16:21  
^ St. Anger's not a spectacular album, I will give you that.

As for your last statement, HAHA!!! You're too predictable, because I knew you'd say something along those lines since I quoted you here rather than just in Satyricon's section. Dream on, buddy!
Lord_Regnier - 27.11.2009 at 22:42  
Written by SatyriconChick on 27.11.2009 at 16:21

As for your last statement, HAHA!!! You're too predictable, because I knew you'd say something along those lines since I quoted you here rather than just in Satyricon's section. Dream on, buddy!


You surely understand that it was a joke and I don't believe for an istant that you really have feelings for me. You're a funny girl, I think.
SatyriconChick - 28.11.2009 at 00:16  
^ Of course I know it was a joke. I wasn't born yesterday.
Lord_Regnier - 28.11.2009 at 05:07  
Written by SatyriconChick on 28.11.2009 at 00:16

^ Of course I know it was a joke. I wasn't born yesterday.


Indeed, you don't sound like a teengirl, imo.
Just by curiosity, how old are you?
SatyriconChick - 28.11.2009 at 19:59  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 28.11.2009 at 05:07


Indeed, you don't sound like a teengirl, imo.
Just by curiosity, how old are you?


I'm 37, believe it or not.
Lord_Regnier - 28.11.2009 at 20:46  
Written by SatyriconChick on 28.11.2009 at 19:59

Written by Lord_Regnier on 28.11.2009 at 05:07


Indeed, you don't sound like a teengirl, imo.
Just by curiosity, how old are you?


I'm 37, believe it or not.


Sure, I believe you. I have no reason to doubt your words.
What is funny is that I turned 37 in october (I swear it's true), so we are the same age.
Maybe it explains this weird 'relationship' we have on this board.
Ozman - 28.11.2009 at 20:48  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 28.11.2009 at 20:46

Written by SatyriconChick on 28.11.2009 at 19:59

Written by Lord_Regnier on 28.11.2009 at 05:07


Indeed, you don't sound like a teengirl, imo.
Just by curiosity, how old are you?


I'm 37, believe it or not.


Sure, I believe you. I have no reason to doubt your words.
What is funny is that I turned 37 in october (I swear it's true), so we are the same age.
Maybe it explains this weird 'relationship' we have on this board.


You two are young
Slayer666 - 08.12.2009 at 11:23  
Written by Lord_Regnier on 27.11.2009 at 14:20

Written by SatyriconChick on 26.11.2009 at 05:35

Written by Lord_Regnier on 24.11.2009 at 13:16

Yeah, of course. Evanescence and Korpiklaani are surely more metal than "Master Of Puppets".

By the way, I don't even like MoP. It's just that your logic is so flawed I felt I had to defend the album even if I never liked it much.

You surely don't know me at all and didn't read my posts on this board, if you think I enjoy pop-metal. If there's one guy here who criticized stuff for being commercial and mainstream, it's precisely me.


I don't get it... I've seen you say in the St. Anger thread that thrash in one of the metal genres you least care for, and that black metal is the ONLY genre of extreme music you do like. Are you trying to get your post count up? Is that why you insist on trashing Metallica in their section up here? It's one thing for you to diss Satyricon's last two albums, since you at least do like their oldest releases, but coming here to do this is kind of sad. You're only pissing off the Metallica fans, and it's not exactly "constructive criticism" when you say things like what you said in your last post (although I'll admit to being a huge Evanescence fan). I'm not trying to pick a fight with you, but seriously, what's your agenda here?

If you continue to quote my posts, I'll end up thinking that you're falling in love with me. lol


You two already sound like a married couple.... Bickering on and on and on.....
metalupyour-ass - 28.02.2010 at 21:12  
Written by Talvi on 24.09.2006 at 18:51

This album has destroyed thrash metal, and it shouldn't exist. This has madean amazing underground genre as metal into a mainstream shit. When I hear this, I get a headache. Check metal-archives.com to see one good review that explains why this is so bad for metal.


It's interesting how this album is frequently considered one of the greatest metal albums of all time and yet you find cunts who say it's bad and "gives them a headache"
I hate nothing in my life more than fucking morons who think legendary albums are overrated. How on earth did this album destroy thrash??!! I don't think it's "mainstream" when it includes an 8-minute instrumental!!!! If anything, it perfected thrash with its intelligent structures and perfect hints of melody!
I'm practically in awe of some retarded people here who just think they're so great when they bash amazing albums just to be special and different. You people don't deserve to live !!

Nevertheless, no matter how great and hailed an album is, you will always find that asshole who goes "it's soooo overrated" - I pity people like these cuz they're so desperate for attention

Anyways, one hell of an album and soo NOT overrated - it took the credit it truly deserved
I'd give it a 9
metalupyour-ass - 28.02.2010 at 22:32  
Written by vikingman369 on 02.11.2009 at 00:52

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT THE HELL IS SO SPECIAL ABOUT THIS CD THAT MAKES EVERYONE CALL IT "THE BEST METAL ALBUM EVER?"

Btw, one could call the master of puppets album "pop-metal", since it has popular appeal in the metal-genre.


What's so special about this album? That it marvelously blends melody with aggression
Tight song structures
An epic instrumental
Classic songs that simply live forever
All those critics can't be wrong !!
If you're telling me that the interlude of the title track isn't something unique, then YOU'VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME

Pop-metal ? OH MY GOD !!!!!!
I'm speechless
To call a track like Battery pop metal is just a crime !!! Just because these songs appeal to metalheads doesn't fucking mean they're pop !!!!! What is Linkin Park or Evanescence then?!
What you're saying means this : say I took a brutal death metal album - since it appeals to metal fans than it's clearly pop-metal
Can't you see that your point is completely retarded ?!!!!!! Being appealing for fans of a certain genre doesn't make the songs pop or commercial - I doubt that a Likin Park fan will like Damage, Inc for instance....There's a difference between intelligent, good music - like this album - and music solely directed to the mainstream audience !!!
People !! Stop BASHING THIS GREAT ALBUM WITH MEANINGLESS, DESTRUCTIVE COMMENTS !!!!
Nyoink - 08.05.2010 at 18:58  
eh, ok, not my fave metallica album... a bit overrated imo. But I have to admit that tracks like Battery, Master of Puppets and Orion kick serious ass.
MetalFist - 01.07.2010 at 10:28  
This is my favourite Metallica album. It's their best album (in my opinion), and it deserves the score it got. i love Metallica.
Captain Obvious - 29.09.2010 at 01:33  
Written by Talvi on 24.09.2006 at 18:51

This album has destroyed thrash metal, and it shouldn't exist. This has madean amazing underground genre as metal into a mainstream shit. When I hear this, I get a headache. Check metal-archives.com to see one good review that explains why this is so bad for metal.


Kind of ironic you say that. In my opinion, that fucking sorry excuse of a sorry excuse of a website is what's truly bad for metal. I'll leave it at that since there is nothing I can say about that abomination known as Metal Archives that hasn't already been said. BTW Metal was a mainstream genre long before this album came out, do some fucking research
vezzy - 29.09.2010 at 14:16  
Written by Captain Obvious on 29.09.2010 at 01:33

Written by Talvi on 24.09.2006 at 18:51

This album has destroyed thrash metal, and it shouldn't exist. This has madean amazing underground genre as metal into a mainstream shit. When I hear this, I get a headache. Check metal-archives.com to see one good review that explains why this is so bad for metal.


Kind of ironic you say that. In my opinion, that fucking sorry excuse of a sorry excuse of a website is what's truly bad for metal. I'll leave it at that since there is nothing I can say about that abomination known as Metal Archives that hasn't already been said. BTW Metal was a mainstream genre long before this album came out, do some fucking research


That post was written four years ago.
Captain Obvious - 30.09.2010 at 03:34  
Written by vezzy on 29.09.2010 at 14:16

Written by Captain Obvious on 29.09.2010 at 01:33

Written by Talvi on 24.09.2006 at 18:51

This album has destroyed thrash metal, and it shouldn't exist. This has madean amazing underground genre as metal into a mainstream shit. When I hear this, I get a headache. Check metal-archives.com to see one good review that explains why this is so bad for metal.


Kind of ironic you say that. In my opinion, that fucking sorry excuse of a sorry excuse of a website is what's truly bad for metal. I'll leave it at that since there is nothing I can say about that abomination known as Metal Archives that hasn't already been said. BTW Metal was a mainstream genre long before this album came out, do some fucking research


That post was written four years ago.



I know, I can read . I finally got around to looking at the comments for this album, which I avoided doing for a long time because I knew I would read a comment that would piss me right off, and that's exactly what happened. Just because it's an old post doesn't make it any less retarded.
Void Eater - 10.09.2011 at 06:07  
Written by Captain Obvious on 29.09.2010 at 01:33

Written by Talvi on 24.09.2006 at 18:51

This album has destroyed thrash metal, and it shouldn't exist. This has madean amazing underground genre as metal into a mainstream shit. When I hear this, I get a headache. Check metal-archives.com to see one good review that explains why this is so bad for metal.


Kind of ironic you say that. In my opinion, that fucking sorry excuse of a sorry excuse of a website is what's truly bad for metal. I'll leave it at that since there is nothing I can say about that abomination known as Metal Archives that hasn't already been said. BTW Metal was a mainstream genre long before this album came out, do some fucking research

The abomination known as Metal Archives? Really? You may not agree with a significant amount of it's reviewers(even though most of the MoP reviews are positive), but it is a great website for discovering lesser known bands, and has surely helped many people, myself included, get into metal.
Angelic Storm - 10.09.2011 at 11:24  
Written by Void Eater on 10.09.2011 at 06:07
but it is a great website for discovering lesser known bands


That is by far the best thing about Metal Archives. Their list of bands is exhaustive, and is undeniably great. In every other aspect though, Metal Storm is by far, a superior site for metal.
wintress - 28.01.2014 at 17:03  
Wait, didn't the bus accident happen in Sweden?
deadone - 29.01.2014 at 00:25  
Yes it did.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ljungby
bblitz - 01.04.2014 at 22:24  
Good album but nothing more.This review sucks major ass,adjectives given are simply funny,
to compare this album with Led Zeppelin IV,or Iron Maiden Number of the beast,come on man!!
This review is just a showcase what you hardcore Metallica fans always do.You always defend your band
to the extreme limits with theirs (very good) first 4 albums to cover the shame and disaster what they've done
to metal music later in their career.
deadone - 02.04.2014 at 01:13  
Written by bblitz on 01.04.2014 at 22:24

Good album but nothing more.This review sucks major ass,adjectives given are simply funny,
to compare this album with Led Zeppelin IV,or Iron Maiden Number of the beast,come on man!!
This review is just a showcase what you hardcore Metallica fans always do.You always defend your band
to the extreme limits with theirs (very good) first 4 albums to cover the shame and disaster what they've done
to metal music later in their career.


As the saying goes: "Denial ain't just a river in Egypt!"

This album is one of metal's defining moments. It certainly is up there with Led Zep IV or Number of the Beast or Reign In Blood or Paranoid or whatever.



Oh and I'm not a Metallica fanboy - I much prefer Megadeth and Iron Maiden.
Troy Killjoy - 02.04.2014 at 01:14  
Written by bblitz on 01.04.2014 at 22:24
You always defend your band to the extreme limits with theirs (very good) first 4 albums to cover the shame and disaster what they've done to metal music later in their career.

Or maybe they're just continuing to heap praise on an album almost universally regarded as one of the best of its time in its category.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 [3]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Metallica - Master Of Puppets 7 06.06.2012 by Loathera
Reviews Metallica - Master Of Puppets 7 25.01.2010 by In Bone Factory
Reviews Metallica - Kill 'Em All 6.5 12.08.2006 by Bulus
News Metallica - Orchestral Tribute To "Master Of Puppets" 6 26.08.2006 by Bas
Reviews Metallica - Ride The Lightning 6 22.07.2006 by vhaldemar



Hits total: 20052 | This month: 132