Bandcamp music player

Rating:
6.8
Dying Fetus - War Of Attrition
6 March 2007


01. Homicidal Retribution
02. Fate Of The Condemned
03. Raping The System
04. Insidious Repression
05. Unadulterated Hatred
06. Ancient Rivalry
07. Parasites Of Catastrophe
08. Obsolete Deterrence


I loved Dying Fetus when I first heard "Nocturnal Crusifixion", it was brutal and scary, the vocals were so low and bleeding that made me look under my bed before sleeping, the music was so extreme and so intense that jammed this song in my top 5 of that time, it was one of the most agressive bands I had ever heard!

Then they signed to Relapse Records, now everything they release is just bland and very gay, they did a good effort in "Destroy The Opposition" but that album never sounded like the old Dying Fetus, it was a band trying to sell more albums and trying to hit the mainstream so bad that ended up masturbating with a pencil instead of writing good brutal songs with it.

Their new album is just an extension of their "Relapse Titles", it's hostile in some ends, it's neither edgy nor intense, it's just straight Death Metal with hardcore elements all over the place (less than expected at least). This album didn't mark their return, at least not for me, it's better than the ridiculously gay "Stop At Nothing" yes, but it's never as awesome as albums like "Purification Through Violence" were.

This album is half-good, actually if you don't compare it with their first couple of albums it would be a nice release, but all in all it's actually a "meh..." creator, an album that you might buy and forget about it after the first couple of spins, an album that will magically appear in your pile of CD's 3 years from now and you won't even remember the titles of the songs, it's that insignificant to tell you the truth.

I think if you're a fan of the band you need to buy this album, if you already bought "Stop At Nothing" well...you can't possibly screw things up more, but if you're not a completionist, don't even download this album, porn is more entertaining.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 9


Band profile: Dying Fetus
Album: War Of Attrition


 


written by Herzebeth | 11.04.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 21  
Users visited: 127  
Search this topic:  


sev7en77 - 11.04.2007 at 08:29  
arg whats with all these disappointing albums coming out
Eight - 11.04.2007 at 09:05  
When i hear first online song, i thought it would be something worth listening to, but after i listened to whole album...disappointment.
Thryce - 11.04.2007 at 13:03  
This album is indeed not their best. But not their worst either!
Everyone has his own opinion of course, but all in all I don't think this album is that bad as you want to appear that it is, Herzebeth... Meh.
Herzebeth - 11.04.2007 at 18:22  
Written by Thryce on 11.04.2007 at 13:03

This album is indeed not their best. But not their worst either!
Everyone has his own opinion of course, but all in all I don't think this album is that bad as you want to appear that it is, Herzebeth... Meh.

huh?¡?¡?
Stigmatized - 12.04.2007 at 04:07  
Meh, none of the song really stood out to me. The album had tthis sound like all the instruments were kind of random too. I'd say a 6.8 rating is fair.
Lucas - 12.04.2007 at 21:51  
Herzebeth, what is it with that latest comment.. ??

Name me ONE THING that is more entertaining than porn, and I shall deliver it to you personally, with a nice pink scarf around it.
KingovDeathMetal - 13.04.2007 at 00:34  
Hey, this is a great cd, what the hell is the reviewer talking about. Dying Fetus kicks major ass, the only good unique death metal in America. Talking about the war of terror. Now, thats awesome.:banger2:
Herzebeth - 13.04.2007 at 08:39  
Written by Lucas on 12.04.2007 at 21:51

Herzebeth, what is it with that latest comment.. ??

Name me ONE THING that is more entertaining than porn, and I shall deliver it to you personally, with a nice pink scarf around it.


exactly...I said porn is more entertaining. anyway, I have the correct answer for your question dude..HAVING SEX is way more entertaining that watching porn, go on, send me that stuff with a pink scarf around it... I'll give you my address when you confirm me with a picture wahooo hehehe
Lucas - 13.04.2007 at 10:16  
Dude, I don't know how, but I'll figure out a way to do it.
Collin - 13.04.2007 at 21:50  
Several things here

First, I think the rating doesn't match the tone of the review. 6.8 is not a bad rating for an album you onviously dislike.

Second, I tried and tried but couldn't find anything homosexual about Dying Fetus' music, unlike what you assessed in the second paragraph of your review.

Last, and more important, I don't agree with your review. I actually enjoy this album a lot. I've loistened to it a good dozen times since I bought it the other day and I don't get bored of it. I like the riffs, I like the voals, I find theoverall songwriting pretty catchy and the songs have distinctive features. I also like the insane drumming and the groovy breaks. I think the explanation is quite simple: I don't have the same approach as you, in the sense that I've never been a Dying Fetus fan and I've never really listened closely to this band. I don't really know their previous albums except for a few songs here and there, so I can't judge their evolution. And seeing things like this, War Of Attrition is a very good and talented death metal album
Dangerboner - 13.04.2007 at 22:11  
Written by Collin on 13.04.2007 at 21:50

I don't really know their previous albums except for a few songs here and there, so I can't judge their evolution.


Oh man, you're missing out then. Destroy the Opposition and Grotesque Impalement are one of the greatest death metal albums/EPs ever.
Herzebeth - 14.04.2007 at 21:58  
Written by Collin on 13.04.2007 at 21:50

Several things here

First, I think the rating doesn't match the tone of the review. 6.8 is not a bad rating for an album you onviously dislike.

Herz: The review is kind of harsh I know, but I do think this album has a couple of qualities, I can't miss the fact that the execution is good and some other details, that's why I didn't rate it lower

Second, I tried and tried but couldn't find anything homosexual about Dying Fetus' music, unlike what you assessed in the second paragraph of your review.

Herz: I didn't mean gay in the form of "lyrics about homosexuals" or something like that, my concept is in the form of a weaker band, not about sexual preferences I guess, I'll have to use it less I think

Last, and more important, I don't agree with your review. I actually enjoy this album a lot. I've loistened to it a good dozen times since I bought it the other day and I don't get bored of it. I like the riffs, I like the voals, I find theoverall songwriting pretty catchy and the songs have distinctive features. I also like the insane drumming and the groovy breaks. I think the explanation is quite simple: I don't have the same approach as you, in the sense that I've never been a Dying Fetus fan and I've never really listened closely to this band. I don't really know their previous albums except for a few songs here and there, so I can't judge their evolution. And seeing things like this, War Of Attrition is a very good and talented death metal album

Herz: The most important thing is "I don't have the same approach as you" while I did worship the band in their earlier days you knew only their Relapse titles I guess, so that might be the actual point IMO...besides the fact that, from what I've talked to you, I think you are way more bendy and versatile when it comes to Death and Melodic Death, I on the other hand think Melodeath is horrible, that going from ultra brutal to just catchy is selling out and so on so that maybe is the difference right?



thanks for this comment that actually made me think twice
Collin - 14.04.2007 at 23:55  
You're right man, a band has to play pop after starting out as a grind act for me to call them sell-outs You love death metal while I only like it, that explains why I don't agree with a lot of your reviews such as this one and the last Kataklysm for example But I respect your opinion because you really can back it up man.

Oh, and about that gay thing, I meant it as a joke, I know you were not talking about homosexual lyrics or something I just forgot to include a smiley at the end lol. But you know I don't like the use of "gay" in the sense of "bad"
White Winter Sun - 31.05.2007 at 11:33  
Just few words to said that Dying Fetus has posted the first video from "War of Attrition", for 'Homicidal Retribution', at this location.
DoomGuard - 17.01.2008 at 16:13  
Written by sev7en77 on 11.04.2007 at 08:29

arg whats with all these disappointing albums coming out


It's not dissapointing albums, its just harsh reviewers that don't give credit

I saw these guys on tour while promoting this album and you know wat? It was a freaking awesome show, their 'Destroy The Opposition' album was very good and has my favorite song from the band on there (Epidemic of Hate)....This album is well produced and not really 'gay' if you look at In Flames' new crap their calling music...

I bought this album and got it signed by the 3 members still in the band, and i've listened to it twice all the way through and i still love it...it's an unappreciated good album i guess
tcline - 22.03.2008 at 15:04  
I actually really enjoy this album. Granted, it took some time to grow on me but after listening to it a few times I think it is a very good helping of death metal. It my not be my favorite but it still deserves higher than it got. I think that people are still wanting the old dying fetus back but thats not going to happen...but is that really as bad as some make it out to me?
Uirapuru - 14.03.2009 at 05:37  
That's actually very good, they are still the super killer death grind And i didn't see all the bad thing that a lot of people seem to found.
Its really different from the previous, easier to get into, and I like it because of that... when a band gets a little less ''chaotic'' in their songs, doesnt mean they are becoming gay...
Maxx666 - 23.06.2009 at 22:36  
Although Dying Fetus is my best death metal band but this album really pissed me off.Man i was hoping for brutality in the level of Killing On Adrenaline or Destroy the opposition
Motionless - 17.09.2009 at 16:02  
War of Attrition is a very good album. I agree that Stop at nothing is bad. But for me that's the only bad album in their discography. Unique band extremely technical and brutal. As for the review. By the way their best album to date is undeniably destroy the opossition:beer2:
Butters49 - 10.12.2011 at 07:21  
This album is fucking sick! killer fuckin' riffs in this album
TrialByFire - 14.07.2013 at 10:26  
"very gay"
Reviewer devolves to the level of a nine year old who knows that gay is a 'naughty word'.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Dying Fetus - War Of Attrition 7.5 01.01.2010 by Deadmeat
Albums Dying Fetus - Killing On Adrenaline 4.5 15.08.2012 by musicalkaratekid
News Dying Fetus - Upcoming Album Details 4.5 25.12.2006 by
Albums Dying Fetus - Purification Through Violence 4.5 17.10.2010 by Fourth Horseman
Reviews As I Lay Dying - Frail Words Collapse 4.5 30.09.2006 by



Hits total: 3525 | This month: 40