Ensiferum - Victory Songs review



Reviewer:
9.5

837 users:
8.43
Band: Ensiferum
Album: Victory Songs
Release date: April 2007


Disc I [CD]
01. Ad Victoriam
02. Blood Is The Price Of Glory
03. Deathbringer From The Sky
04. Ahti
05. One More Magic Potion
06. Wanderer
07. Raised By The Sword
08. The New Dawn
09. Victory Song
10. Lady In Black [Uriah Heep cover] [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [DVD]
01. Iron Tour
02. Photogallery


Everybody that is interested in this area of metal will know of the whole goings ons with Jari leaving after "Iron" in 2004 and then the anticipation and expectations for "Dragonheads" and this new album with Petri Lindroos taking over to fill in the large abyss Jari left. "Dragonheads" was more of a teaser for this new album than anything else, including just one actual new song - but now after some minor setbacks we finally have the highly awaited new Ensiferum album and this is the real deal.

Short introduction tracks of little relevance seems to be the popular thing nowadays but I cannot complain about the introduction to this album due to it presenting a lovely melody, and also because of its link to the last, and title track "Victory Song" that brings the album around almost into a circle. "Blood Is The Price Of Glory" kicks things off in the right direction sounding aggressive as ever and still keeping the trademark melody in there, but the magic of the album really doesn't start until we get to "Ahti", from here on the band shine so brightly, possibly like they have never done before providing their unique style of folkish metal that uses elements of power metal and entwines them perfectly with traces of black metal going from Markus and Sami's clean, almost sing along vocals to blastbeating and Petri's extreme vocals.

As well as "Ahti", single "One More Magic Potion" and almost ballad like "Wanderer" are real highlights in the album that will still be classics in this bands discography some years down the line. It is clear that the band has not lost any of their wondrous songwriting abilities and are still able to deliver the goods just as well as they always have been able to. This album is pretty much along the same vein as their other two albums; there aren't any major changes at all. Petri fits in like he has been a part of the band all along, and so hopefully band will now have a stable line-up for a good number of years.

Closing the album is the truly epic ten minute, and appropriately named "Victory Song" that really just epitomises the whole album. Galloping horse sounding drums to introduce the song, majestic melodies and a super catchy sing along chorus make this song, like pretty much everything else on this album, something really special and different to listen to. It has been quite some time now since I have been so engrossed in a new album that it makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck, it is such a pleasure to listen to and is a real gem of an album. Anyone remotely interested in folk music or power metal should fall in love with this album as soon as they hear it.


 



Written on 23.04.2007 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 54   Visited by: 304 users
04.09.2007 - 01:38
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
I love this album. Review is somewhat accurate for me. its in my list of top 5 albums of the year.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
04.12.2007 - 21:07
Stalker
Lone wanderer
I like it less than "Iron" but more than "Ensiferum". Good album IMO, but Iron is killer.

P.S. Am I only one who thinks that melody in "The New Dawn" is basicaly the main riff of Rhapsody's "Dawn Of Victory"
----
Loading...
27.12.2007 - 06:06
BurbotsRevenge
Foetal Butchery
im actually quite impressed with this album, its no 'iron' but its still pretty awesome
Loading...
28.12.2007 - 01:05
Abattoir
Great album, no doubt...in their style of course...must love it
Loading...
10.01.2008 - 19:24
BORT
once again great album
Loading...
02.02.2008 - 03:57
ozzysong
Totally agree, awesome album from the intro to victory songs
Loading...
22.06.2008 - 03:59
Opeth771
Account deleted
Awesome album, 9.5/10 for me. I really like Petri!
Loading...
22.06.2008 - 12:17
Hamird
HIV+
I like this great album too... I think Ensiferum is one of those bands which is improving every year.. but I liked Meiju Enho, who left the band
Loading...
22.06.2008 - 13:21
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
one of the best releases in last year
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
14.08.2008 - 22:20
plastikman
I have read some of the replies here and feel a bit ambiguous.

I think this is a GREAT album, well as good as both the debut and Iron...

It's easily my favorite black folk metal band...
Loading...
27.11.2008 - 17:05
Powerslavex
Alexskywalker
Another great album !
Loading...
01.05.2009 - 20:20
Xlaw
Account deleted
This albums is a killer, liked it A LOT! more catchy than the previous 2
Loading...
05.05.2009 - 19:24
Rosaka
All the albums are very good! I'm glad that Lindroos is doing great job as a singer and that there were no major changes in quality or style.
Loading...
06.07.2009 - 18:09
chematss
9.5 out of 10??!? It's way too much..
Loading...
15.09.2009 - 23:18
Wes
I know, while this album is good, its not good for Ensiferum.
The songs are cartoony, not epic or serious in any way. Just silly.
The power metal vocals and amorphis like vocals are so out of place, this album is kind of a joke at times.

What makes Ensiferum great is their Jari style chants and intense harsh vocals along with a mature melody.

This album fails at both of these. its just kind of bland, nothing unique. I'd give it a 7.

From Afar is good for Ensiferum. I think From Afar achieves everything they need to, truly great album, maybe even their best. I hope more people notice it >_>
Loading...
16.09.2009 - 12:05
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
Future will tell but i guess many people will think the same
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
30.12.2009 - 19:20
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
It does not get any close to the ''Ensiferum'' and ''Iron''. This is hugely overrated. Around 7 is more than ok to me.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
14.12.2010 - 21:40
AngelofDeth
Cyborg Raptor
Written by hard_tom on 24.04.2007 at 22:57

Very good job vikings !!!
But still waiting for next WINTERSUN....

haha and fours later......still waiting.

couldnt help but laugh when i saw the date on this post. no offense tho, im still waiting too..
----
pewpew.. gotcha
Loading...
27.07.2011 - 16:31
D.a.n
Written by AngelofDeth on 14.12.2010 at 21:40

Written by hard_tom on 24.04.2007 at 22:57

Very good job vikings !!!
But still waiting for next WINTERSUN....

haha and fours later......still waiting.

couldnt help but laugh when i saw the date on this post. no offense tho, im still waiting too..


Considering today's date, I think this post fully deserves to be necroed
Loading...
20.12.2011 - 04:50
Magician
Im waiting too!!!
Loading...
23.12.2011 - 04:49
TrueMetalJope
More like defeat songs if you know what I mean.
----
The guitar is my sword, I'll fight 'til I die /../
Loading...
23.12.2011 - 05:28
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by TrueMetalJope on 23.12.2011 at 04:49
More like defeat songs if you know what I mean.

It's funny because it's true.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
20.02.2015 - 01:33
AngelofDeth
Cyborg Raptor
Glad someone else enjoys this album as much as I do. Always thought that this album was about equal to Iron and Ensiferum in terms of quality and am always surprised to see so much hate for it, is it because it's actually a worse album? or is it just because Jari didn't write it?

I think if Jari had sung this album, but with exactly the same musicianship, it would have exactly the same rating as Iron and Ensiferum.
----
pewpew.. gotcha
Loading...
19.08.2016 - 13:27
kovr
Written by AngelofDeth on 20.02.2015 at 01:33

Glad someone else enjoys this album as much as I do. Always thought that this album was about equal to Iron and Ensiferum in terms of quality and am always surprised to see so much hate for it, is it because it's actually a worse album? or is it just because Jari didn't write it?

I think if Jari had sung this album, but with exactly the same musicianship, it would have exactly the same rating as Iron and Ensiferum.


I think the same man, is just sad how people cry about Jari and don't enjoy the masterpiece
I think they are as good as with him
Loading...

Hits total: 13489 | This month: 93