Rating:
10
Green Carnation - Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness
8 January 2001


01. Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness


This review could be the shortest ever: excellent. But OK, let's see why this second release of the Norwegian band is so excellent.
First as you may have noticed, the album is a whole unique song of 60 minutes: the dream of many musicians is made a reality by guitarist Tchort (Carpathian Forest, ex. Emperor, ex. Satyricon), who composed all the music and lyrics for this doom masterpiece.

Musically dedicated to his son, the song has all you wish to find, from soft accoustic passages to heavy chords, saxophone solo to more variable speed riffs, women screams to growls, but never hitting the extreme limits of each style and above all, maintaining the logic of the song. And that's what amazes me the most: whereas some bands tend to make long songs a succession of riffs, this one is very homogeneous, you really feel like listening to a single song.
Lyrically dedicated to the Bottery brothers (In The Woods, and former GC members), the soft and quite monotonous voice of Kjetil Nordhus perfectly scatters some interrogations such as "Why am I not what I used to be?", "Where did I fail?", "Why do you torture me?", "Would I then reach divine entity?", that is to say "Doom" lyrics for sure! Dream, insanity, perfection, etc. "An everlasting mental and emotional journey" as Tchort himself said.
The sound is good, you won't notice any bad things about it, and the production was made under Tchort's control so that the album cannot sound in a different way than he wanted it to be.
"This is my musical legacy", he says, and I cannot say more.

Oh yeah, I gave it a 10, which I don't gave so easily as others do... But if this release is not a masterpiece, what the Hell is it? Anyway, no review could tell you how good it is, so get Light of Day, Day of Darkness now!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Green Carnation
Album: Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness


 


written by wrathchild | 01.12.2003

Guest review by
Bas

Rating:
10
It is quite some time ago since the last time I was so fascinated by a single song. In this case, it's a single song and a whole album at the same time. Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness is an epic 60-minutes long progressive doom metal masterpiece.

I have never before experienced a song that awakened so many emotions in me at the same time. Hope and despair, pleasure and pain, life and death, knowledge and incomprehesion become one on this CD. Letting the listener experience all at once. With sometimes melancholic, sometimes hopeful singing the listener is led from stanzas like "For it was my dream, To create a perfect world, From this cold imperfect world, And all the answers were inside my mind" to others like "What is left to say? What is left to see? Where did I fail?" Lyrically the whole song is nothing less then a rhetoric masterpiece.

Read more ››
published 10.10.2006 | Comments (7)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 261  
Search this topic:  


dark awakening - 14.08.2006 at 16:06  
I imagine that this is a great album; I'll check it if I'll find it.
Talvi - 12.12.2006 at 16:10  
No. It's a great song. But only to those who can manage to stand a 60 minutes song xD
Njord - 04.03.2007 at 18:25  
Great review. This song enchants me every time I listen it. Unfornately, for me this song is an island in all the discography of Green carnation.
JohnDoe - 04.03.2007 at 21:36  
Great concept album; although people say this is a doom/gothic album, I say it's progressive metal all the way. the music is innovative and adventurous, this is one of the most creative albums in recent years.
wrathchild - 04.03.2007 at 21:58  
Yeah, well, I think my review kind of sucks, it was one of the first review I wrote. Especially everything I wrote about how "doom" this album is. It's not that true and as marillionfan said, there can be something progressive in it.

Anyway, I really love listening to it from time to time, it does me good
4look4rd - 25.11.2007 at 05:18  
One of the very few albums that I think it deserves a 10/10 it is just perfect, from beginning to end.

I do think its Progressive Doom Metal, and not Gothic Doom... But I think its really hard to classify a song that is over an hour long
Keiheji - 26.02.2008 at 04:02  
Remind me to bring a pillow next time these guys come to my town for a show...but yet still intrigued, have to check it out
BurbotsRevenge - 04.07.2008 at 09:16  
not epic enough
Paradox0 - 22.07.2008 at 16:45  
1st 12 minutes were great, then nothing happens for about 35 mins (well their is that gated female voice, but she gets annoying) then we get a pretty nice solo which kind of sums up the feeling of the album, and then nothing happens until the first part is done again towards the end. The only appeal was that it was a 60 minute song and you wanted to see where it goes, unfortunatly, nothing much happens (I've actually heard better progression from....And Justice for All) 7/10
Powerslavex - 07.10.2008 at 23:42  
A true masterpiece
Merchant of Doom - 12.10.2010 at 13:12  
Not bad... It's mainly progressive metal, but there are doom/death breaks, although without the growling (shame! The mostly clean monotonous vocals ruin it for me). It's definitely "doomy" in atmosphere, but the progressions could be better (it's rather messy in places). The break with the female voice and the saxophone (sounds like King Crimson Island era, "Formentera Lady" in particular ) is actually pretty horrible - well, the vocals are. I love the fact they left the guitar solo after that as it is... rather imperfect. Kudos to them!
3rdWorldFuckface - 10.11.2011 at 02:23  
Written by Keiheji on 26.02.2008 at 04:02

Remind me to bring a pillow next time these guys come to my town for a show...


Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Green Carnation - Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness 10 10.10.2006 by Katatronik
Albums Green Carnation - Light Of Day, Day Of Darkness 9 15.05.2010 by DP_Megachiva
Reviews Green Carnation - A Blessing In Disguise 7.5 20.03.2007 by lazarus
News Green Carnation - Line Up Split 4.5 23.08.2007 by
News Green Carnation - European Tour Cancelled 4.5 17.08.2006 by Daru Jericho



Hits total: 7761 | This month: 60