Rating:
8.5
Old Man's Child - In Defiance Of Existence
January 2003


01. Felonies Of The Christian Art
02. Agony Of Fallen Grace
03. Black Seeds On Virgin Soil
04. In Defiance Of Existence
05. Sacrifice Of Vengeance
06. The Soul Receiver
07. In Quest Of Enigmatic Dreams
08. The Underworld Domains
09. Life Deprived


After 3 long years of waiting, Old Man's Child finally released their fifth Full length Album with Jardar in the guitars, Nicholas Barker (Dimmu Borgir) in the drums, and the almighty Galder in the vocals bass and keyboards.

Now about the album per se, it's a good album, the lyrics are about insolence, disobedience, blasphemy, depravity, etc. in short the lyrics have the usual Old Man's Child substance and theme. The drumming is incredible and I mean it, not only because it's fast also because it's very complex and multifaceted. The atmosphere is overwhelming and the execution is great.

The best song in this album must be "Black Seeds On Virgin Soil" or "Agony Of The Fallen Grace", the first one has hard guitar solos (bizarre in the Black Metal world),great riffs, and the best lyrics in the album, the second one has blasting arrangements and the best atmosphere. The fastest song in the album is "The Underworld Domains" with regular Riffs but fast as hell, this song resembles a lot to Old Man's Child earlier work.

The Production and Recording is the best one in the Old Man's Child Career, it has the cleanest sound that a band could ask for, and every instrument can be appreciated clearly and well. The winner in "In Defiance Of Existence" is Shannon Hourigan (artwork responsible), the album cover and artwork is awesome, the best I've seen in this particular genre, it fits incredibly well with the album dark atmosphere and grim mood.

Sure it's not the usual Ultra Fast with no Keyboards Black Metal band but it's different in a good way and the songs are executed incredibly. Now this album is not the best one in the Old Man's Child catalog, if you are a fan you will love this album and cherish it forever, but if you want to hear this band because someone told you it's amazing and you haven't heard anything by them I recommend you to try "The Pagan Prosperity" Old Man's Child best work.


Band profile: Old Man's Child
Album: In Defiance Of Existence


 


written by Herzebeth | 29.07.2004



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 106  
Search this topic:  


Doommaker - 19.07.2006 at 18:32  
OLD MANS CHILD MY FAVORITE BLACK METAL BAND, THE FIRST ALBUM I BOUGHT WAS " THE PAGAN PROSPERITY":banger2: IN DEFIANCE OF EXISTENCE IS A GOOD ALBUM, MY FAVORITE SONG AND ONE OF MY FAVORITES " BLACK SEEDS ON VIRGIN SOIL" MEN I LOVE THAT SONG:thumbup:
Xtreme Jax - 20.07.2006 at 10:45  
^ Oh I hate it when people write it caps

Anyway, this is a good release by OMC. Clear and good production, dont think i could pick a favourite track of it because they are all excellent songs. Some really neat riffs aswell. An 8 from me.
Gefahr - 28.09.2006 at 06:50  
NICK BARKER IS GOD
Baz Anderson - 28.09.2006 at 22:58  
yeh, this is one of my favorite black metal albums
Old Man's Child is one of my favorite black metal bands even though i havent listened to them in a long time
but then barring Emperor, i havent listened to any black metal in a long long long time
ThunderAxe1989 - 23.03.2008 at 00:54  
THE DRUMS! ...................wow.
Sunioj - 23.03.2008 at 22:54  
And really awesome riffs, I've always liked Galder's riffwork in this band more than Dimmu.
Uirapuru - 06.04.2008 at 05:15  
great band.. one of the best on melodic black metal. This album is more atmospheric than all the others, and its not bad. To me, its the second best work of the band, behind The Pagan Prosperity,
ThunderAxe1989 - 13.05.2008 at 04:32  
@Sunioj: But the later Dimmu Borgir is nothing compared to Old Man's Child . I mean Black Metal really shouldn't be so commercialised, but OMC don't seem too poppy to me at all.
Ether - 13.05.2008 at 05:13  
Nice review Herzebeth, very fair, I'd agree with you on all the points on the music. The art's ok, no huge theme creator but fine nonethless.

I actually wish that OMC did Defiance first, and then Pagan Prosperity. It's got that feel to it. Pagan is better, but there's not much wrong with this album. It has a couple of stand out tracks. For me the others blend in a little too much, but the average quality of those songs is still very good, so that's not too much of a complaint considering the nature of melodic bm albums, to be fair.
It's a bit different to what I'm listening to these days in BM. Quite a bit different, so I may be being harsher than when I first picked this album up. Overall I'd say it's a better than average melodic bm album, but not an excellent one.
Sunioj - 13.05.2008 at 19:00  
Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 13.05.2008 at 04:32

@Sunioj: But the later Dimmu Borgir is nothing compared to Old Man's Child . I mean Black Metal really shouldn't be so commercialised, but OMC don't seem too poppy to me at all.


I definitely agree that later Dimmu doesn't hold a candle to OMC. To me, it's not the fact that Dimmu sound more 'poppy' than OMC, but it's that I genuinely think OMC has more passion, angst or whatever you name it.
Mull666 - 19.06.2008 at 04:48  
i agree with justr about every positive comment on this page even if some may seem 'fanboyish' but Old man's child certainly deserves it. for me black metal is all about creating atmosphere and mood in my mind and Galder does this flawlessly. From dispair and misanthropy to voilence and punishment, excellent stuff on most of his albums. Now to the bad part, PP, I-NSI, R666 and IDE all have really low scores!!! i recommend everyone who loves this band and others to see how talented this guy is and ramp up those scores!!! i wanna see more OMC after vermin!!! and still no news KEEP IT METAL

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Old Man's Child - In Defiance Of Existence 7.5 09.12.2012 by Erik M.
Reviews Old Man's Child - Vermin 5.5 08.06.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Chimaira - Pass Out Of Existence 4.5 16.04.2007 by Doc Godin
News Old Man's Child - New Album Details 4.5 10.04.2009 by Kasper
Albums Old Man's Child - Revelation 666 - The Curse Of Damnation 4.5 16.12.2012 by Erik M.



Hits total: 6371 | This month: 60