Rating:
7.3
Dodsferd - Suicide And The Rest Of Your Kind Will Follow
5 May 2009


01. Suicide And The Rest Of Your Kind Will Follow
02. His Veins Colored The Room


I must admit I was rather sceptical when I received Dodsferd's new album " Suicide And The Rest Of Your Kind Will Follow". The previous album "Death Set The Beginning Of My Journey" was an OK listen but no more than that, and what's more, only five months old. That means that in the past 15 or 16 months, mr. Wrath has released a whopping four albums! So yeah, you may understand that I was a little sceptical concerning the quality but even more so the originality and thus the listenability of this album (Wrath isn't the most progressive musician anyway), but during the first listen I was taken by surprise.

What we're treated to on "Suicide…" is cheesy as fuck, ridiculously misanthropic Depressive Black metal. That's right, gone are the punkish riffs, the Carpathian Forest-on-amphetamines vibe and the 'fuck you all!!' attitude and enter self-loathing and slow tempi. Well, there's actually still plenty of that 'fuck you' attitude bit, but Mr. Wrath is now the subject of his own hate, it seems. Perhaps he accidentally drove over his cat or something. But seriously, all joking aside, while his early works were enjoyable for a spin or three, this new one is certainly more interesting. Perhaps because he has done his homework examining Drudkh's early works? Or because his current style is just less comical than the old one? I wouldn't know, but he has certainly progressed. Even if he still keeps close to the genres guidelines.

He still uses his typical shouting-from-a-distance-style on numerous occasions and adds raw rasps and despaired howls á la Varg and young Kvarforth. And combined with the often Drudkh-ish riffs they work surprisingly well. Ok, Drudkh's riffs are still ten times better, but Wrath also found a way to blend razor-sharp edges with brooding and almost colourful use of tone. Call it shards of stained glass, if you will. In the first couple of minutes it almost seems as if Wrath decided to take Dodsferd into an avant-garde / experimental direction, but that feeling is quickly diminished when he returns to his new-found style of dissonance and misery. "Suicide…" is not a masterpiece by a long shot, but a decent, listenable and enjoyable record.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 6


 



Written on 16.05.2009 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 43  
Search this topic:  


Italics - 17.05.2009 at 22:39  
Man, I gotta disagree with you on "listenable"

This, my friends, no matter how you classify it, is noise.

This is the "musical" equivalent of a pimply faced, angsty teenager with no friends screaming his vocal chords out while flailing his arms around, causing everything in his room to crash to the ground.
In the background you can hear his only friend playing a fast guitar rhythm.

^^ That would have been a more accurate review ^^
Sunioj - 17.05.2009 at 22:56  
Nice, maybe I will give this a shot since alike Lucas, found Dodsferd's other stuff quite stale.
Lucas - 18.05.2009 at 00:15  
Written by Italics on 17.05.2009 at 22:39

Man, I gotta disagree with you on "listenable"

This, my friends, no matter how you classify it, is noise.

This is the "musical" equivalent of a pimply faced, angsty teenager with no friends screaming his vocal chords out while flailing his arms around, causing everything in his room to crash to the ground.
In the background you can hear his only friend playing a fast guitar rhythm.

^^ That would have been a more accurate review ^^


Feel free to write your own review.

However, I do believe I covered the aspect of 'angsty teenager' enough. Once you get past that, the music isn't all too shabby. But, and this is by no means meant as an insult, given your favourite bands this is not the right band for you.
Italics - 18.05.2009 at 02:31  
Written by Lucas on 18.05.2009 at 00:15

Written by Italics on 17.05.2009 at 22:39

Man, I gotta disagree with you on "listenable"

This, my friends, no matter how you classify it, is noise.

This is the "musical" equivalent of a pimply faced, angsty teenager with no friends screaming his vocal chords out while flailing his arms around, causing everything in his room to crash to the ground.
In the background you can hear his only friend playing a fast guitar rhythm.

^^ That would have been a more accurate review ^^


Feel free to write your own review.

However, I do believe I covered the aspect of 'angsty teenager' enough. Once you get past that, the music isn't all too shabby. But, and this is by no means meant as an insult, given your favourite bands this is not the right band for you.


And what I said was in no way intended to insult your review either (hence the winky face, right?)

Over the years I have adapted to and even learned to enjoy many forms of metal which I could not before... but when it comes to this style of BM, I shall always remain clueless as to how anyone can listen to it for its musical properties =P
jupitreas - 18.05.2009 at 02:35  
I wonder if this guy knows that the last time anyone used suicide as a verb was in 1917 or something...
Mr. Doctor - 18.05.2009 at 16:56  
Lol... I can't believe this guy. He really doesn't know a damn about Black.

Specially with the "musical properties" part. I would like to know his opinion about really slow doom and drone. It would be as or maybe more childish.
Sunioj - 18.05.2009 at 22:18  
I tried this out and I actually find it very enjoyable.
Italics - 19.05.2009 at 10:06  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.05.2009 at 16:56

Lol... I can't believe this guy. He really doesn't know a damn about Black.

Specially with the "musical properties" part. I would like to know his opinion about really slow doom and drone. It would be as or maybe more childish.


Dude, it doesn't take a genius to be able to pick apart the elements of this album:

1) Fast, repetitive, droning riffs
2) Monotonous shrieking
3) Double bass, blast-beat drumming (again, repetitive)

Does it take talent to play this music? Yes!
Does it take talent to WRITE this music? Hell no.

Hence why the only people I've ever met who like this noise are... well, nonexistent outside of the internet.

But hey, I'm not saying you can't enjoy it if you like it. I'm just stating my opinion... which is that this type of BM sounds like nothing beyond talentless music for pimply faced outcasts of society. At least that must be their target audience.
Mr. Doctor - 19.05.2009 at 16:09  
Written by Italics on 19.05.2009 at 10:06

But hey, I'm not saying you can't enjoy it if you like it. I'm just stating my opinion... which is that this type of BM sounds like nothing beyond talentless music for pimply faced outcasts of society. At least that must be their target audience.



Oh, My misstake... I thought you were talking about thew entire BM scene. Well, if it's just this one then I can agree with you on the firsts things. It doesn't take much talent to write this kind of music, but it does takes a lot of talet to do it good.

And that about "pimply faced outcasts of society" Your just generalizing. But yeah, it's your opinion.
Italics - 19.05.2009 at 20:14  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.05.2009 at 16:09

Written by Italics on 19.05.2009 at 10:06

But hey, I'm not saying you can't enjoy it if you like it. I'm just stating my opinion... which is that this type of BM sounds like nothing beyond talentless music for pimply faced outcasts of society. At least that must be their target audience.



Oh, My misstake... I thought you were talking about thew entire BM scene. Well, if it's just this one then I can agree with you on the firsts things. It doesn't take much talent to write this kind of music, but it does takes a lot of talet to do it good.

And that about "pimply faced outcasts of society" Your just generalizing. But yeah, it's your opinion.


Well I'm not the biggest BM fan in the world, so I don't know much about the genre.
I've listened to a few Immortal songs and I felt the same way about them... however, Emperor sounded half decent.

The only "BM" band I've ever heard and kind of enjoyed was *prepares to dodge tomatoes* COF. I am still far from ever wanting to actually buy their music... however, the fact that they had cool orchestrations and even somewhat catchy music was impressive.
Mr. Doctor - 20.05.2009 at 17:52  
Written by Italics on 19.05.2009 at 20:14

Well I'm not the biggest BM fan in the world, so I don't know much about the genre.
I've listened to a few Immortal songs and I felt the same way about them... however, Emperor sounded half decent.

The only "BM" band I've ever heard and kind of enjoyed was *prepares to dodge tomatoes* COF. I am still far from ever wanting to actually buy their music... however, the fact that they had cool orchestrations and even somewhat catchy music was impressive.


Impressive that the only BM band that you liked is just 1/3 or at best half BM. Tastes differ, I can see that. But still you can't say that this kind of music are for idiots or other kind of stupid people.

I'm not a fan of Immortal/emperor anyway.
Haiwaan Das - 12.12.2011 at 15:14  
In my country, in prison, especially criminal who do weird stuff like fucking in the ass of small kids or murdering who gets life imprisooniment or death penalty get access to this genre of music. The Jailer plays depressive suicidal black metal every day in the prison. News people did documentry and showed in the TV that this music actually made the Crime guys sit quite in one place.

They are talking about making this genre as MUSIC to be used with LAW and Authority in the Parliament.
Troy Killjoy - 12.12.2011 at 19:41  
Written by Haiwaan Das on 12.12.2011 at 15:14
They are talking about making this genre as MUSIC to be used with LAW and Authority in the Parliament.

At least they'll be listening to good music before they die.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Dodsferd - Death Set The Beginning Of My Journey 8 17.05.2009 by Italics
Reviews Skitliv - Kristiansen And Kvarforth Swim In The Sea Of Equilibrium While Waiting 6 07.09.2008 by Doc Godin
Reviews Bang Your Head: The Rise And Fall Of Heavy Metal 5.5 26.03.2008 by GT
Reviews Success Will Write Apocalypse Across The Sky - The Grand Partition And The Abrogation Of Idolatry 5.5 09.04.2009 by munson
Reviews ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of The Dead - The Century Of Self 5.5 14.05.2009 by Susan



Hits total: 2790 | This month: 27