A Forest Of Stars - Opportunistic Thieves Of Spring review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.9

104 users:
7.97
Band: A Forest Of Stars
Album: Opportunistic Thieves Of Spring
Release date: June 2010


01. Sorrow's Impetus
02. Raven's Eye View
03. Summertide's Approach
04. Thunder's Cannonade
05. Starfire's Memory
06. Delay's Progression


With The Corpse Of Rebirth, A Forest Of Stars split the Black metal scene in half. One camp thought of it a genius, complex masterpiece, the other camp thought of it a pretentious, overly elaborate piece of drivel. I happily pitched my tent in the former camp and praised AFOS for their fresh approach and their attention to detail and imaginary. At the same time, I 'feared' A Forest Of Stars would prove to be one of the bands that would rapidly depart Black metal in favour of stronger, genre-transcending experimentation. Which would not necessarily be a bad thing, but still, we don't want to lose too many worthwhile to non-metal genres. Having a couple of strong, unique and daring extreme acts around is very healthy for our precious little scene.

My fear has turned out to be groundless. At least, for now. Opportunistic Thieves Of Spring is in many ways darker, blacker and stronger than its predecessor.

But let's start with what we already know: Mr Curse still possesses his manic shriek, judging by the wolf-like howl uttered in the opening of "Sorrow's Impetus". He might very well be one of the most hateful shriekers in recent years. He sounds like a crossbreed of Varg, Kvarforth and Marco Kehren, yummy! Something else that's still the same - the odd, estranging vibe. A Forest Of Stars also retained their knack for effortlessly jumping between styles and moods. So far, so good.

As I said, Opportunistic Thieves Of Spring is a much darker album. Its riffs are heavier, doomier than before and the violin is less dominant and more cooperative. It actually sounds a little close to Depressive Black metal at times. Check the opening of "Starfire's Memory" for an example, there's some fantastic ambient darkness to be found there. And just to throw in a nice cliché for good measure, it sounds quite a lot more 'mature' than its predecessor. Yey me for originality. A teeny tiny bit of criticism: it's slightly less adventurous then the debut.

It doesn't take me by surprise as much as the debut that, but that's completely natural of course. A Forest Of Stars has once again released a fresh, unique album that'll stand out for years to come. And as long as bands like this stay within the realms of Black metal, the genre has a bright future. Reach for the stars for A Forest Of Stars!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8


 



Written on 04.06.2010 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments

Comments: 19   Visited by: 341 users
04.06.2010 - 22:00
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
You've worried me a bit with the DSBM comparison, I'm sure I'll enjoy it though.
Loading...
04.06.2010 - 22:31
Got Mayhem?
Cheesy ending
Sounds interesting though, definitely something to check out.
----
Loading...
04.06.2010 - 23:38
Ag Fox
Angel No More
>Cheesy ending
+1
but thanks for the review
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
04.06.2010 - 23:39
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Yeah reading back the ending IS cheesy. Sorry guys. Excuse me while I blast Manowar.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
05.06.2010 - 01:56
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Listening to it right now and found your description v accurate as always. I'll probably end up liking this one more than their debut
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
05.06.2010 - 02:58
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Thanks for reviewing this - not as good as their debut in my opinion, but it's still a very strong release. Those vocals are just haunting!
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
05.06.2010 - 07:44
the stranger
Has anyone watch the new video they've released? I think it's pretty fucking amazing and goes really well with the music.
----
http://aljao.blogspot.com/(it's in Spanish)
Loading...
05.06.2010 - 09:43
Mikyz
Good news, I was also worrying that they would stray from their Black Metal side and experiment some more. As always thanks for the review. But I still didn't decide which I prefer more this or their debut.
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
05.06.2010 - 12:23
Elyar S.
Gud är Död
Nice review

Im not a black metal fan, but I like some bands and A Forest of Stars is one of them and I wasnt so patience to listen to their new album. and its nice again as good as their debut and maybe better in some ways. I think they are not an absolute black metal band. "Starfire's Memory" is a pure black metal song? I dont think so. and all of their songs have some special space, I dont know which is better to call, black doom metal? black gothic metal? avant-grade black metal? or as metal archives has written, Psychedelic Black Metal? anyway, genre doesnt matter so much hehe
----
Kiss my ass if you dont like me, I dont care.
Loading...
05.06.2010 - 12:44
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Opportunistic Thieves of Spring! What a title. I will check it out just because of that. Well, the review makes it sound promising too.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
05.06.2010 - 17:12
TheBigRossowski
Dudeist Priest'
To be honest, I found this album better than the debut. As you wrote, it wasn't as surprising as I expected, but more layered in darkness. Something eerie and pleasing going on in these songs.

Great fucking album, don't hesitate to buy it, Dudes!
----
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?
Loading...
05.06.2010 - 22:48
TheBigRossowski
Dudeist Priest'
Oh yeah, almost forgot!

How does that fire feel running down your back?!

I love ''Thunder's Cannonade'', it's simply perfect!
----
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?
Loading...
11.06.2010 - 18:21
Mikyz
This is a great album, and this album can only be defined as crushing Black Metal, the riffs are heavy and doomy. On my first listen I actually thought that I was listening to another band by mistake >.< It doesn't bother me that they altered their sound on the contrary I welcome with open arms fresh and original outputs.
----
Laugh and the world laughs with you. Weep and you weep alone.
Loading...
11.06.2010 - 18:32
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Still haven't listened to this. It took me about 6 months to get around to listening to their first one after getting so it'll probably be the same with this one. I opted against getting the shirt as I realised how uncool it would look wearing a shirt with "A Forest of Stars" written on. I'm all about the cool.
Loading...
11.06.2010 - 20:02
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Three words spring to mind with this album: Dense, Intense and Immense.

I was going to say that the style on this and the previous album are too abstruse to define a clear winner but I think this one has it in the bag. The only conceivable weak track is Starfire's Memory; the first 8 minutes don't work as well for me and neither do the female vocals (yet somehow I like the robotic vocal effect on the final track) but the last 4 minutes make up for it. Best black metal of the year by a longshot and nigh on a perfect album in most respects.
Loading...
02.03.2011 - 05:12
Marcus
Doit Like Bernie
Just got around to listening to this. Awesome. Some great atmosphere in here.
Loading...
03.03.2011 - 13:03
InnerSelf
proofread free
This got my vote for the MS awards after going back and forth between this release and Enslaved's I realized I like this more "and enslaved were going to win anyway "
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
02.02.2012 - 16:58
Apothecary
Drone Strike
"Reach for the stars for A Forest Of Stars!" Lol fanboy

But really, great review, and a really interesting band too. I kinda got into these guys after checking out Oranssi Pazuzu, so as quite a fan of out-of-the-box black metal, I'm sure this album will be a worthwhile addition to my collection
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
13.09.2016 - 20:27
Bad English
Masterchief
I have to agree about viola, still avant garde BM but indeed I did not hear so much viola
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 7524 | This month: 22