Eibon - Entering Darkness review



Reviewer:
8.9

23 users:
8.22
Band: Eibon
Album: Entering Darkness
Release date: June 2010


01. Through The Eyes
02. Entering Darkness
03. Convulse To Reign
04. Substance
05. These Chains
06. Path To Oblivion


France's Eibon is a Sludge Doom band that likes to take things nice and easy and post-rocky. Their self-titled EP was a smooth Sludge Doom ride, with titbits of Post-Rock and shizzle mixed in, creating an altogether wonderful scenery. A new opus dubbed Entering Darkness is now out. And you must check it out.

Why?

Well, let me tell you why. Eibon guarantees a smooth Sludge Doom ride, with titbits of Post-Ro---- whoops… already used that line. Ok, well, there's more. Entering Darkness frequently makes use of the 'capture and release' song writing scheme, alternating pulsing bass and shrieks plus feedback-squealing guitar intensity with soft instrumental sections and whispered vocals. It often sounds very catchy, due to the easy-to-follow lead guitars and melodies. It's surprising how 'soft' this sounds given its heavy rhythms and production. If you've heard their first full-length, you can guess what this sound likes. If not, check this the %^&* out already!

When spinning this baby, you'll often find yourself zoning out. Eibon has created an album that combines darkness, aggression and melody in one long captivating ride. I honestly rarely notice one song ending and the next one starting (even though there are obvious patches of silence in between) because its simply to relaxing. Another release in the Mental Massage Metal genre? Fuck yeah!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


 



Written on 13.07.2010 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 182 users
13.07.2010 - 22:56
PazuzuSKOM
Pazuzu
A good review for a good band ,, i checked there EP before and it seems i need to the album now ..
Loading...
13.07.2010 - 22:56
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Whoops, forgot to rate it.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
13.07.2010 - 23:27
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Sounds good indeed. And kudos on the use of the word shizzle.
Loading...
13.07.2010 - 23:40
Thryce
Retired Staff
Mucho thanks for the recommendation!
----
Your favorite band sucks.
Loading...
13.07.2010 - 23:46
BitterCOld
Gringo
Agreed, will be sure to check it out.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
14.07.2010 - 03:51
Got Mayhem?
This sounds like something I want to hear. Thank you.
----
Loading...
14.07.2010 - 18:34
oroboros
Boy..this is awesome..goes very nicely with narcotics
Loading...
19.07.2010 - 02:42
Thanntos
This is a good album. Great mix of Doom and Sludge well put together. Wouldn't give it close to a 9 though.
----
I will kill you so hard you will die to death.
Loading...
25.07.2010 - 22:20
InnerSelf
proofread free
While reading the review I thought that this album would be perfect for me and I went on and got it a couple of days ago and know it won't stop playing ... sounds great varied and heavy a lot
and the way the album kicks off and ends is just perfect
A solid release
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
25.08.2010 - 00:16
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Oh wow, listening to it right now and I really like it. Thanks for your awesome reviews as usual!
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
26.08.2010 - 23:09
BitterCOld
Gringo
This is a really enjoyable album. once again lucas shines some light on gems hidden in the dark.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
04.02.2011 - 02:26
Axe Argonian
This album was not what I had expected when I first learned of Eibon. Initially I was expecting boring, "run-of-the-mill" sludge doom, but Entering Darkness's blackened atmospheres, mucky vocals, and reassuring feeling that the listener is about to die a very horrible, miserable death proved me a fool in my initial expectations. Granted, this is not at all accessible music to get into; on the contrary Entering Darkness requires much patience and meticulous attention to be fully enjoyed. But even a neophyte in doom music can't help but get the feeling that what he is listening to is something special.

I'm definitely keeping my eyes on Eibon.
----
"Man does at all times only what he wills, and yet he does this necessarily. But this is because he already is what he wills." - Arthur Schopenhauer
Loading...
17.05.2011 - 22:30
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Written by BitterCOld on 26.08.2010 at 23:09

This is a really enjoyable album. once again lucas shines some light on gems hidden in the dark.

+1 same here
Loading...

Hits total: 7834 | This month: 29