Rating:
8.6
Witchery - Witchkrieg
21 June 2010


01. Witchkrieg
02. Wearer Of Wolf's Skin
03. The God Who Fell From Earth
04. Conqueror's Return
05. The Reaver
06. From Dead To Worse
07. Devil Rides Out
08. One Foot In The Grave
09. Hellhound
10. Witch Hunter
11. Hung, Drawn And Quartered [limited edition bonus]


Witchery, a strange band in some aspects. A lot of people are familiar with them, it's a super group of world renowned musicians, yet you don't really hear much hype around them. This could possibly be because of the, although entertaining, fairly unremarkable albums put out, until now. Let's just say Witchery is finally giving people a reason to talk.

This album is the definition of "grower", and deserves a minimum of three plays in it's entirety at the centre of your attention. It's almost like that mildly attractive person at work or school who seems to get minutely hotter by the day, until one morning you show up with an uncontrollable, raging hard on; you've all experienced this at some point or another, don't act all high and mighty. Point being, this album does seem to come across as an unimpressive thrash/melodeath hybrid on the first play or two, but given the chance, Witchkrieg becomes pretty damn infectious pretty damn fast. Enough intimate one on one time with this album makes it impossible to walk away from without hearing songs like 'From Dead To Worse' and 'The God Who Fell From Earth' in your head for a few hours. Consider what it takes for a metal album to do this; powerful songwriting, memorable hooks, and [insert brutal imagery here] heaviness. Take all of those things, cut out the fat, and voila! You have Witchkrieg. It's design is simple enough, thrash riffage, melodic death metal leads, and some subtle hardcore moments thrown in here and there. The result is each member leaving their unmistakable thumbprint while still sounding like a cohesive unit.

Now, of course certain songs stand head-and-shoulders above the others, but frankly there isn't a filler to be found. Even the weaker tracks on the disc have at least one or two noteworthy parts worth listening to, whether it be an unforgettable riff, a soaring face-melter, or one of the anthem chorus'.

No more excuses, a band with a line-up of this calibre has no excuse to release anything but top notch metal, so let's just sum it up in two words; Witchkrieg delivers!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Witchery
Album: Witchkrieg


 



Written on 27.07.2010 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 219  
Search this topic:  


BudDa - 28.07.2010 at 09:19  
You are right about one thing Doc, this album is a "grower". I still spin this time and again and am amazed how the album has grown on me. At first though, I felt abit disappointed...mainly coz I felt the album provided so much but the delivery was abit incoherent.
Daggon - 29.07.2010 at 04:58  
I need some Thrash this days, maybe because I haven't searched very well on the last months, but I can't find a Thrash metal album able to satisfy my hunger Some great guest musicians, I should give this a try.
Fat & Sassy! - 29.07.2010 at 05:56  
The girl at work metaphor was great. Good to know that I'm not the only one who has had these experiences. xD
BudDa - 03.08.2010 at 10:13  
Written by Daggon on 29.07.2010 at 04:58

I need some Thrash this days, maybe because I haven't searched very well on the last months, but I can't find a Thrash metal album able to satisfy my hunger Some great guest musicians, I should give this a try.


If u haven't yet, try these;

Convicted(Gr) - Convicted
Abuser - Threats Of Fate
Angelus Apatrida - Clockwork
Altars Of Destruction - Gallery Of Pain
Violator - Annihilation Process EP
Warbeast(US) - Krush The Enemy
Ag Fox - 03.08.2010 at 18:56  
Written by BudDa on 03.08.2010 at 10:13

Written by Daggon on 29.07.2010 at 04:58

I need some Thrash this days, maybe because I haven't searched very well on the last months, but I can't find a Thrash metal album able to satisfy my hunger Some great guest musicians, I should give this a try.


If u haven't yet, try these;

Convicted(Gr) - Convicted
Abuser - Threats Of Fate
Angelus Apatrida - Clockwork
Altars Of Destruction - Gallery Of Pain
Violator - Annihilation Process EP
Warbeast(US) - Krush The Enemy
Oh yeah, I tried Angelus Apatrida. They are really good, but a bit too Death Angel rip-off

Anyway, I really like this album. Thank you for recommending ^ ^
Daggon - 04.08.2010 at 06:57  
Written by BudDa on 03.08.2010 at 10:13

Written by Daggon on 29.07.2010 at 04:58

I need some Thrash this days, maybe because I haven't searched very well on the last months, but I can't find a Thrash metal album able to satisfy my hunger Some great guest musicians, I should give this a try.


If u haven't yet, try these;

Convicted(Gr) - Convicted
Abuser - Threats Of Fate
Angelus Apatrida - Clockwork
Altars Of Destruction - Gallery Of Pain
Violator - Annihilation Process EP
Warbeast(US) - Krush The Enemy


Oh thanks, I've been quite busy and quite lazy this last months, and didn't pay attention to most albums that have been released this year, specially the Thrash metal albums. I'll take this ones into account, thanks

And back to Witchery, I have listened the album enough to say that my favorite tracks are "Witchkrieg", "The Reaver" (shit, Gary Holt and Lee Altus are all over this song! I love it ) and "Wearer Of Wolf's Skin", the rest aren't bad, but aren't as good as this ones.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Stephan Forte - The Shadows Compendium 4.5 26.02.2012 by K†ulu
Reviews Cancer Bats - Dead Set On Living 4.5 10.04.2012 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Allegaeon - Formshifter 4.5 05.05.2012 by psykometal
Reviews Intensus - Intensus 4.5 15.07.2011 by Marcus
Reviews Ominous Crucifix - The Spell Of Damnation 4.5 18.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 4776 | This month: 45