Rating:
9.0
Nachtmystium - Addicts: Black Meddle, Part 2
8 June 2010


01. Cry For Help
02. High On Hate
03. Nightfall
04. No Funeral
05. Then Fires
06. Addicts
07. The End Is Eternal
08. Blood Trance Fusion
09. Ruined Life Continuum
10. Every Last Drop


It's been accepted long ago that traditional black metal is getting pretty tired, though it's fun to listen to the staples, hearing new bands put out the same crap year after year, month after month is just flat out boring. It's just the natural order of things; music needs to evolve. The real question to ask is; how can music evolve without turning it's back on the original sound?

Holy fuck. It appears Nachtmystium have figured out the answer to that rhetorical question.

The surprise in itself is surprising, seeing as Nachtmystium have already turned a lot of heads with their previous album, the strange Assassins: Black Meddle, Part 1. What would be a good follow up to that? Well, making something even more different-er, naturally. Trying to describe Addicts: Black meddle, Part 2 is a real noodle-scratcher, seeing as descriptions are generally based on relativity, and this really stands on its own. The core of the music is US black metal, with psychedelic keyboards and melancholy riffs built around the black metal core. As been stated by many others, this is black metal you can dance to...although that dance may be a depressed zombie shuffle. Danceable black metal; this is about the point whenever people will either turn their nose up in disgust, or say to themselves "that sounds fucking terrible, I gotta hear it!". Well, sorry to disappoint, but the whole album just sounds natural. They found the perfect equilibrium between raw aggression, and fantastic melody.

One thing that doesn't go unnoticed is the entire album concept - drug addiction, obviously. Not exactly a new topic in the world of music, but rarely portrayed like this. It wouldn't be a far stretch of the imagination to find out these artists have had first hand experience with substance abuse, based on how genuine everything sounds. It's cripplingly depressing, tracks like "No Funeral", "Ruined Life Continuum" and "Nightfall" carry upbeat melody with depressive overtones while "Blood Trance Fusion" is just downright sinister. There's no way these guys aren't familiar with drug addiction.

Nachtmystium have easily put themselves high in the running for album of 2010, do not overlook this one!

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Nachtmystium
Album: Addicts: Black Meddle, Part 2


 



Written on 25.08.2010 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 233  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 25.08.2010 at 18:27  
I haven't listened to this enough to make any kind of judgement. I'm not really sure what I think of it to be honest. It kinda rocked and sucked at the same time.
In Bone Factory - 25.08.2010 at 19:08  
Haha.great review with exact points of view.
BitterCOld - 25.08.2010 at 20:51  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.08.2010 at 18:27

I haven't listened to this enough to make any kind of judgement. I'm not really sure what I think of it to be honest. It kinda rocked and sucked at the same time.


yeah, the jury is out with me as well. i was going to review the album,gave it a couple listens, and at times was fired up and at other times was "meh"... never got around to. never got really motivated enough to. the overall vibe is cool, but at times it contains a lot of the catchy choruses of the Part I album that i was kind of hoping would be avoided this lap around the track.

i like the fact that is at least darker/creepier than it's predecessor.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.08.2010 at 21:05  
Written by BitterCOld on 25.08.2010 at 20:51

yeah, the jury is out with me as well. i was going to review the album,gave it a couple listens, and at times was fired up and at other times was "meh"... never got around to. never got really motivated enough to. the overall vibe is cool, but at times it contains a lot of the catchy choruses of the Part I album that i was kind of hoping would be avoided this lap around the track.

i like the fact that is at least darker/creepier than it's predecessor.

To be honest I still haven't got over the change in style from Instinct: Decay. That album had such an impact I can't help resenting the band for changing. Just need to sit down and properly separate this album from I:D
BitterCOld - 25.08.2010 at 21:21  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.08.2010 at 21:05


To be honest I still haven't got over the change in style from Instinct: Decay. That album had such an impact I can't help resenting the band for changing. Just need to sit down and properly separate this album from I:D


i have gotten over it, i suppose, but I:D was my first Nachtmystium offering and i really like the zany, creepy psychedelia as that album unfolds... which at times made Assassins a bit of a let down in comparison. i liked the album plenty, but it didn't reach the bar set by I:D. of course, i prefer all three of their latest albums to what i've heard from their prior works.

i'll give this one a few more spins to see where it ultimately sorts out.
MeloDeathViking - 26.08.2010 at 01:12  
This album is seriously trippy. I love it. I love the fact that it's not just trad black metal and that they really do have their own sound!
Troy Killjoy - 26.08.2010 at 01:40  
What a great atmosphere. Lovely production! (In fact, the only thing deserving of a 10 in my opinion is the production, although everything else is definitely worthy of praise.)
Ag Fox - 26.08.2010 at 02:39  
I really like this album too. I agree that it further deviates from traditional BM because it was a lot easier to get into than Part 1 for me who don't listen to loads of BM.
Necrodamus - 26.08.2010 at 05:32  
Great review Doc. Never thought I'd be a fan of this type of black metal but this album is such a great accomplishment for the genre, and it's just a good album in general.
Merchant of Doom - 26.08.2010 at 11:37  
An intelligent post-black metal album, although a touch inconsistent for me...
ScanDoppelganger - 30.08.2010 at 21:07  
I have found this to be an awesome release, and im very curious to see how it influences others. I was very excited to hear Judd say that interpol was in someway an influence, even though it brought about some head scratching. Great review, surely it will push some over the border of experiencing this "experiment".
MétalNoir - 01.02.2011 at 03:28  
No Funeral sounds like Disco Black Metal or something like that, which is either brilliant or downright shit, as the reviewer points out. Personnally I love it

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Nachtmystium - Addicts: Black Meddle, Part 2 9 24.07.2010 by LeChron James
Reviews Nachtmystium - Assassins: Black Meddle, Part 1 8.5 17.04.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Albums Nachtmystium - Assassins: Black Meddle, Part 1 7.5 27.11.2011 by Oaken
Reviews Suicide Silence - The Black Crown 6 30.07.2011 by Lit.
Reviews Black Tusk - Set The Dial 6 15.11.2011 by BitterCOld



Hits total: 5178 | This month: 37