Rating:
6.5
Sarah Jezebel Deva - A Sign Of Sublime
February 2010


01. Genesis
02. A Sign Of Sublime
03. She Stands Like Stone
04. The Devils Opera
05. They Called Her Lady Tyranny
06. The Road To Nowhere
07. Your Woeful Chair
08. Newborn Failure
09. Daddy's Not Coming Home
10. Bitch [Meredith Brooks cover] [bonus]


I think that Sarah Jezebel Deva doesn't require specific coordindates of who she is, but I'll lend a few tips just in case, Cradle Of Filth, Therion, The Kovenant, Angtoria etc. Her vocals have haunted many wonderful pieces of music for quite many years, it was about time she released an album under her own name. And so A Sign Of Sublime saw the light of day during 2010, consisting of ten compositions, one of them, “Bitch”, being a Meredith Brooks cover, well, not actually, just a tiny bit heavier remake, but oh well, I don't like either versions.

Inevitably, some of the guitar passages, even keyboard-driven orchestrations, bring forth Cradle Of Filth memories, after all Dave Pybus and Martin Powell are responsible on these instruments here, the first being still member of the well-known UK metal act, the second in the past. But don't consider A Sign Of Sublime a Cradle Of Filth rip-off, it's only reminiscent at times. The title track (along with the intro) or “They Called Her Lady Tyranny” for example, there are moments you think Dani Filth's unearthly screams will enter and suddenly find yourself in the middle of Midian or something.

As for the rest of the album, one may find a wide variety of atmospheres, there are songs that move in generic symphonic/atmospheric or just female-fronted metal soundscapes (“She Stands Like Stone”, “The Road To Nowhere”, “Your Woeful Chair”), others being orchestral pieces with Sarah interpreting (“A Newborn Failure”, “The Devil's Opera”) or even pop lullabies (“Daddy's Not Coming Home”).

An interesting release, I was expecting something much better though from Sarah Jezebel Deva and for Christ's sake, a different cover! Sometimes it's better to sing someone else's songs rather than make your own and with this having been said, I wouldn't want to prevent her from composing again, it's neither my intension nor I think I will effect her this way, she's got both potential and experience. Until next time.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Production: 8


 



Written on 13.09.2010 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 192  
Search this topic:  


Lovecraft - 14.09.2010 at 17:40  
Idk why, but I didn't like this album. I don't like the cover either.
btw, organized review.
dismaleuphony - 19.09.2010 at 02:38  
Ya, I'm with you on many points in this review, as the production is good enough to keep it as an average release. And the cover is quite poor. On a personal side, I never could get into her singing, and on any of her past involvements before this project really. There's something about her intonation and natural tone that is just lost on me, but such is the essence of the human voice - sometimes it just doesn't appeal to some.

I could have gone without hearing that Meredith Brooks cover, though, even worse than the original.
DerRozzengarten - 19.09.2010 at 02:45  
Written by dismaleuphony on 19.09.2010 at 02:38

I could have gone without hearing that Meredith Brooks cover, though, even worse than the original.

Yeah, it got on my nerves I will never ever understand why she did this, she raped a murdered song, necrophiliac version pfff
DaMaGe - 20.09.2010 at 04:57  
I do not think she is capable to lead a band so my advice to her "Stick where Dani walks"
Lovecraft - 21.09.2010 at 03:04  
I haven't heard the bonus track. I will, though.
DerRozzengarten - 21.09.2010 at 03:06  
Written by Guest on 21.09.2010 at 03:04

I haven't heard the bonus track. I will, though.

Please, don't.
Vonpire - 22.03.2012 at 20:56  
Damn, she sounds terrible on this record. Appears a cat being scalped

The riffs and orchestrations aren't that bad. I agree with the rating, average, almost good release.

Now giving this MORE 0,5 than what you give to Draconian GOTHIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR ARFTA is a terrible joke (not this one the draconian review) Sorry mate.
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.03.2012 at 21:16  
Written by Vonpire on 22.03.2012 at 20:56


Now giving this MORE 0,5 than what you give to Draconian GOTHIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR ARFTA is a terrible joke (not this one the draconian review) Sorry mate.

Wow, you still mad bro?
Ozman - 22.03.2012 at 21:26  
Please get over the fact you think something is brilliant whereas others disagree
Slayer666 - 22.03.2012 at 21:27  
^
I love this guy. xD
Pretty sure he's trolling now, though.
Vonpire - 22.03.2012 at 22:17  
<snob mode >
GOTHIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR
</snob mode >

Marcel I am over that by ages. I just look at what you think it's brilliant and I just

But well most people loved it or else it wouldn't have won the award. Get over it.

I love you too Slayer666.
Troy Killjoy - 23.03.2012 at 01:41  
Apparently when an album wins an MS award it's due to quality and not popularity.
DerRozzengarten - 23.03.2012 at 06:31  
Lol
Vonpire - 23.03.2012 at 12:45  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 23.03.2012 at 01:41

Apparently when an album wins an MS award it's due to quality and not popularity.


{sarcastic mode on]
Oh sure, of course, Megadeth won, Nightwish won, Opeth won... Sure it's all about popularity.
[sarcastic mode off]
Troy Killjoy - 23.03.2012 at 14:09  
Written by Vonpire on 23.03.2012 at 12:45
[sarcastic mode off]

Hopefully when I'm 33 I'll be as cool as you.

I do agree with the majority here about this album though. Pretty bad stuff.
Vonpire - 23.03.2012 at 20:20  
Glad we could get to an understanding.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Sarah Jezebel Deva - A Sign Of Sublime 9 23.06.2014 by Mehdi Taba
Albums Sarah Jezebel Deva - The Corruption Of Mercy 6 23.03.2012 by Vonpire
News Sarah Jezebel Deva - Part Ways With Bassist, Announce Replacement 6 29.10.2012 by Ag Fox
News Sarah Jezebel Deva - Comments About Dissection's Frontman Passing 4.5 04.09.2006 by
News Sarah Jezebel Deva - New EP Artwork Revealed 4.5 30.04.2012 by Abel



Hits total: 4274 | This month: 40