Rating:
9.0
Anaal Nathrakh - Passion
17 May 2011


01. Volenti Non Fit Iniuria
02. Drug-Fucking Abomination
03. Post Traumatic Stress Euphoria [feat. Conchúir O' Drona]
04. Le Diabolique Est L'Ami Du Simplement Mal
05. Locus Of Damnation
06. Tod Huetet Uebel [feat. Rainer Landfermann]
07. Paragon Pariah [feat. Paul Harrington]
08. Who Thinks Of The Executioner?
09. Ashes Screaming Silence [feat. Alan Dubin]
10. Portrait Of The Artist [feat. Maurice de Jong]


One of UK's finest extreme acts, Anaal Nathrakh, has awakened. Two years have passed since we found them lying In The Constellation Of The Black Widow, the warfare days are over and the forging of the new massive weapon has been accomplished. Operation Passion launched the first assault during the middle of May and the armada still marches supreme, inflicting major pain from earth, sea and air.

The grinding machines of zero tolerance keep on blast beating endlessly, with the black metal vibes and riffing strengthening their equities in the stock of vulgar ways of expression. Everything in here depicts a deformed portrait of violent beauty that slowly decays under the unending acid rain that is not willing to surrender. Ravenous clouds have gathered and the sun wouldn't dare to unveil a glimpse of hope in the demented scenery of collapsing morals.

Once again a wide variety of vocals confirm the end of days, the scissoring screams deflower all innocence under the frozen stare of the martyrs, whereas the clean interpreting in quite a wide range through the whole duration of the album reaches completion, evoking a sense of grandeur, the corrupted equivalent of glory. Of course, i shouldn't forget to mention that Rainer Landfermann donates a brilliant performance on Tod Huelet Uebel, bringing forth memories of early Bethlehem. The guitars harvest the seeds of hatred unfolding either a massive, malevolent riffing offence or a sinister form of excruciating melody. Needless to say that whenever a solo makes its appearance it makes the overall soundscape more complex through its speeding and raging point of view, simple, fast and furious, in the right place, at the right time. A mechanical aura is omnipresent due to the effects, the overall organic noise and production formula that keep the album a living entity and a menace to life at the same time. And under a threatening sky and an ever-expanding bombardment even the sirens dare not wail.

The cover artwork is the best they ever had, a "Drug-Fucking Abomination" in "Post Traumatic Stress Euphoria"; or is it just the "Portrait Of The Artist"? I bet both options complete the puzzle as it explodes leaving you lying in pieces no one would dare recollect. Passion's magic can be found as well in the fact that it doesn't surpass the 35 minutes of duration, enough time to make you highly interested in everything it possesses and at the same time leave you incomplete. Until the next spin starts making its appearance for the second and third and on time in a row; then you are complete.

I don't know who will be pleased and who probably won't, it doesn't matter anyway, what actually matters is personal experience cause that's what the relation between a single listener and an artist is, inside business. But I do insist you give this album a shot and "see" for yourself. As for me, it blew my mind once, it blew it twice, it blew it a lot of times and I will let it do the same over and over again until the last brain fucking cell explodes.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Anaal Nathrakh
Album: Passion


 



Written on 03.06.2011 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 26  
Users visited: 328  
Search this topic:  


Skyum - 03.06.2011 at 14:13  
Disappointing album. I kept comparing it to "In The Constellation.." and it simply never reached that awesomeness. The intro to "Drug-Fucking Abomination" is an annoying unwanted break from the otherwise awesomeness of the song and the song before, "Post Traumatic Stress Euphoria" is good but way too short, "Locus Of Damnation" is even shorter and seems pointless, most of "Paragon Pariah" is good but the chorus is cheesy and annoying as fuck.. There are simply too many things that annoy me. I posted my review of it on Rockfreaks.net about a month ago.
MechanisT - 04.06.2011 at 01:24  
As always, inspiring review, Rozz. Agreed on everything that you said, especially on "Tod Huelet Uebel". That song, in particular, is just...
Again, great album and review.
Fallen - 04.06.2011 at 08:10  
A good album but not quite as good as CBW which was much more brutal and awesome. But good review nonetheless the rating is probably more deserving of a 8-8.7ish but hey its your review and your opinion. I am not trollin
bluegreengod - 04.06.2011 at 10:12  
I don't know what exactly an anal nathrakh is, but it sounds like a jolly good time to me! Oh wait it's anaal. Oh well, I'll listen to it anyway while nathrakhing my anaal.
Dööm - 04.06.2011 at 10:36  
Wow. That's an annoying review for someone who doesn't know Anaal Nathrakh beforehand.
I really have no idea what the music is about, except bombastic adjectives. I would prefer that reviewers do not masturbate off their vocabulary in such a vulgar manner as this particular review. Get yourself togehter and get to the point.
K†ulu - 04.06.2011 at 11:15  
Flipping! Such reviews always linger on the edge between being totally pointless and not describing the music and being totally brilliant and, despite all the imagery and metaphors, conveying so clearly what one should expect from the album, but you pulled it off! I will actually give this a try although neither grindcore nor Anaal Nathrakh has ever interested me. Good job!
DerRozzengarten - 04.06.2011 at 11:36  
Written by Dööm on 04.06.2011 at 10:36

Wow. That's an annoying review for someone who doesn't know Anaal Nathrakh beforehand.
I really have no idea what the music is about, except bombastic adjectives. I would prefer that reviewers do not masturbate off their vocabulary in such a vulgar manner as this particular review. Get yourself togehter and get to the point.

Pyramid God - 05.06.2011 at 06:48  
Grindcore doesn't appeal to me but I gave these guys a listen and they are pretty good. I'm picking this one up at some point.
EverythingIsFire - 06.06.2011 at 00:19  
Dööm is right. For all your verbosity and flourishes of imagery you really didn't say much at all about the release. Turning every statement into a drawn out metaphor does not lend your writing a vivid lucidity sure to communicate the essential nature of the album to your readers; all it does is make your writing nearly incomprehensible. Focus your thoughts instead of spitting them out at random. Sentences like these are exactly what I'm talking about:
"Everything in here depicts a deformed portrait of violent beauty that slowly decays under the unending acid rain that is not willing to surrender"

"A mechanical aura is omnipresent due to the effects, the overall organic noise and production formula that keep the album a living entity and a menace to life at the same time"

"Once again a wide variety of vocals confirm the end of days, the scissoring screams deflower all innocence under the frozen stare of the martyrs, whereas the clean interpreting in quite a wide range through the whole duration of the album reaches completion, evoking a sense of grandeur, the corrupted equivalent of glory"

You could be talking about nearly anything in this review. Most of what you have written, because it is so imprecise and undeveloped, could be generalized to any release by a black/death/grind/whatever band. We only know this is an Anaal Nathrakh release because the connection is made explicit through irrelevant references to their songs and album titles which could easily be substituted for those of another band. Your review is nothing more than a very wordy and awkward way of saying that you like Passion without ever explaining why.

tl;dr: Cut down on the vocab words and metaphor stew, focus your thoughts, and say something substantive about the release.
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.06.2011 at 00:32  
I agree with doom and ewverythingisfire. Totally no idea what the music is like. Too many metaphors for metaphors sake I tthink.
Mr. Doctor - 06.06.2011 at 00:38  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.06.2011 at 00:32

I agree with doom and ewverythingisfire. Totally no idea what the music is like. Too many metaphors for metaphors sake I tthink.


If this review was music I could swear it was Power/progressive
Assassiyoun - 24.06.2011 at 23:38  
You just don't get it folks! Or as a fan of Twilight would say to a non-fan : You simply don't understand all the beauty in it! ...Yes, I really don't understand...
Deadmeat - 25.06.2011 at 13:01  
Basically i believe that this is a very "artistic" review when anaal nathrakh isnt about art at all. they are only about insanity and paranoia!
DerRozzengarten - 25.06.2011 at 13:04  
Written by Deadmeat on 25.06.2011 at 13:01

Basically i believe that this is a very "artistic" review when anaal nathrakh isnt about art at all. they are only about insanity and paranoia!

Insanity and paranoia may have their own artistic aspects
Deadmeat - 25.06.2011 at 13:06  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 25.06.2011 at 13:04

Written by Deadmeat on 25.06.2011 at 13:01

Basically i believe that this is a very "artistic" review when anaal nathrakh isnt about art at all. they are only about insanity and paranoia!

Insanity and paranoia may have their own artistic aspects

yeah but violence doesnt!
Troy Killjoy - 25.06.2011 at 14:12  
Written by Deadmeat on 25.06.2011 at 13:06

yeah but violence doesnt!

Violence can be very artistic.
Deadmeat - 25.06.2011 at 14:18  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.06.2011 at 14:12

Written by Deadmeat on 25.06.2011 at 13:06

yeah but violence doesnt!

Violence can be very artistic.

anaal nathrakh's violence???
Troy Killjoy - 25.06.2011 at 14:26  
Written by Deadmeat on 25.06.2011 at 14:18

anaal nathrakh's violence???

Art and beauty are both subjective. I sense an argument about to happen that leads neither of us to a mutual understanding.

Anyway, AN's systematic chaos can be quite enchanting. More so on their earlier releases, though beauty in chaos is adamant throughout their career.
DerRozzengarten - 25.06.2011 at 21:19  
In general, concerning this review, neither do i have to apologize nor explain myself. If someone doesn' t know anything about Anaal Nathrakh either read between the lines (which is not that hard as some people make it to be) or search on the net. Or here, on metalstorm, you will see the tags "grindcore", "black metal". You don't have to receive everything served ready on the plate all the time, after all AN have been around for some time. I rest my case and i wouldn't change anything in this review for any reason. I'm always proud of what i write, it's not a 15 minute business, it's more like a child of mine. Peace.

And yeah, there's poetry in violence, chaos, insanity, paranoia and everything "negative". According to one's visions of course, it's always personal.
Troy Killjoy - 25.06.2011 at 21:58  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 25.06.2011 at 21:19

In general, concerning this review, neither do i have to apologize nor explain myself. If someone doesn' t know anything about Anaal Nathrakh either read between the lines (which is not that hard as some people make it to be) or search on the net. Or here, on metalstorm, you will see the tags "grindcore", "black metal". You don't have to receive everything served ready on the plate all the time, after all AN have been around for some time. I rest my case and i wouldn't change anything in this review for any reason. I'm always proud of what i write, it's not a 15 minute business, it's more like a child of mine. Peace.

And yeah, there's poetry in violence, chaos, insanity, paranoia and everything "negative". According to one's visions of course, it's always personal.

Fully agreed. Haters gon' hate, Rozz.
Eye-Licker - 04.07.2011 at 01:54  
Metaphors can be a good way of spicing up an otherwise very technical review, make it a more interesting read. apparently it's also a great way to kill a review by drowning it in ambiguous lines of wanna-be poetry. sorry, mate, try again.

this cover art being the best of any AN album seems odd to me, as the only cover art i would rate this above is When Fire Rains Down... and, Hell is Empty....
Domine Non Es Dignus takes the prize, then The Codex Necro imho. Then again, cover art is very subjective and not at all significant.

HearingLandfermann would be a part of this abum had me very excited, Dictius Te Necare being one of the hypothetical 10 albums i would have brought to a deserted island, the resulting song didn't dissapoint; like a castle chisseled out of the rocks resulting from the molten fires of hell petrifying once it froze over, with dark hallways haunted by terrifying echoes and the tormenting desperation of solitude, suffering injected into your brainstem through a rusted syringe. The walls surrounding the aforementined castle just don't seem well enough armed to survive the onlsought of previous lords from castle Nathrakh, the fire raining down from the sky searing the flowers in the starlit garden. see? it's just wankery. put in simpler terms: Passion is a good album on it's own, but when compared to Eschaton, The Codex Necro and Domine Non Es Dignus, it just falls a bit short. Dave Hunt does a great job as always, but there just seems to be that little extra lacking in this release. In The Constellation... was a great album, this is just average (from AN, had it had any other name on it it would have been great).

A 7 from me.
Frost Beast - 21.10.2011 at 15:18  
Great review. This album is a weird mix of the two rawest metal genres, black metal and grindcore. Still, it kicks ass, and doesn't lack melody, catchiness, brutality and a wide vocal range.
Evil Chip - 04.02.2012 at 22:29  
It couldn't grow on me. But I quite enjoyed some parts.
JD - 05.02.2012 at 00:53  
9.9\10 from me, I voted for them in the BM category.

Nice review btw.
Oaken - 02.09.2012 at 03:55  
Been a long while since I've listened to this amazing masterpiece :/
Concerning this review, I think it excellently conveys the emotional side of this record whilst keeping the actual music hidden for the listener to discover.
BestMetalstormer - 02.09.2012 at 07:59  
I got all of Anaal Nathrakh stuff besides it so sure to check out, the review is very explicit positively ... they seem to get good stuff in some new way respectively of each their release... wonder if they publish their lyric until now ?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Anaal Nathrakh - Passion 6 02.03.2010 by
Reviews Anaal Nathrakh - In The Constellation Of The Black Widow 5.5 17.08.2012 by
Albums Anaal Nathrakh - Man At C&A [Single] 4.5 27.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
News Anaal Nathrakh - New Song Streaming Online 4.5 02.10.2012 by J. N.
News Anaal Nathrakh - Start Working On New Album 4.5 28.02.2010 by Baz Anderson



Hits total: 5132 | This month: 58