Rating:
9.5
N.K.V.D. - Vlast
2011


01. Geheime Staats Polizei
02. Incipit SSSR
03. Ibn Al Khattab
04. Alkhan-Kala
05. Geniul Din Carpati
06. Krasnaya Paranoia
07. Socijalisticka Federativna Republika Jugoslavija
08. Grozny


A spectre is haunting black metal the spectre of communism. What? Hell no, don't be misguided by the grandiose soviet aesthetic of the cover artwork and the imposing hammer & sickle at its centre. It's not a call to arms for the proletariat to fight back oppression. Judging from the title of their first EP, Dictatura, and its cover which is a multi-portrait of Adolf Hitler, Joseph Stalin, Slobodan Milosevic and Akhmad Kadyrov you can get a reference to what N.K.V.D.'s music wants to bring forth through their politically incorrect design status. Everything becomes clearer when you get in mind that N.K.V.D. (Narodny Komissariat Vnutrennikh Del - People's Commissariat for Internal Affairs) was one of Stalin's major weapons to strangle the voices of his opposers once and forever.

Vlast is their debut full-length release and it's a ruthless, massive blast of hatred through its vast, emotionless and cold soundscapes. Of course it's industrial black metal we're talking about, drawing its inspiration from totalitarian rulers whose voice is breathing through the compositions with sampled speeches they left behind them in the march of history. Big moustache, small moustache, no moustache, the actions are in the same sphere, it's the magnitude that differs and the veil under which they are covered. N.K.V.D. set this veil aflame and evoke a mechanical, often militaristic, ambiance through their sonic rapture.

The compositions are surrounded by a thick darkness as if a parasitic swarm was omnipresent during the recording. The production compliments Vlast, accomplishing in the first place everything the band wanted to present through their sound and visual aspects. There's a heavy industry working on in here, from the mechanical fumes and effects to the programmed drumming and from the menacing continuous riffing to the floating threat, the keyboards. "Socijalisticka Federativna Republika Jugoslavija" is the perfect example of instrumental militaristic industrial black metal with bombastic ambiance which engulfs pure human darkness and whose only voice is a sample. Of course there are vocals in the album that enrich the band's visions through their either fuming/rasping or hoarse echoing edge. Without them the outcome would still be clinical, but with them it's exquisite.

I have to admit that I really adored the very end of the album, a few seconds of chanting from an orthodox liturgy is always welcome after all this chaos, with the difference that it makes the effect even stronger with some hypocrisy-infused divinity.

You don't know what to expect until you listen, you will definitely find some Mysticum in here, but in the end what you'll really witness is 37 minutes of abhorrent disharmony and echoes from the recent past transmuted in morse signals in exchange for your soul.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


 



Written on 31.08.2011 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 74  
Users visited: 516  
Search this topic:  


Oaken - 12.05.2012 at 18:59  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.05.2012 at 18:55

Written by Oaken on 12.05.2012 at 18:53

You got me wrong. I meant that those dudes on the cover of the EP can be... "replaced". If you know what I mean.


Nope, I have no idea what you're talking about

You following politics these days?
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.05.2012 at 19:02  
Written by Oaken on 12.05.2012 at 18:59

You following politics these days?

Perhaps you should put me out of my misery and stop talking in riddles, inverted commas and rhetorical questions and just say what you mean. Are you talking about the recent election in Russia or something?
Oaken - 12.05.2012 at 20:11  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.05.2012 at 19:02

Written by Oaken on 12.05.2012 at 18:59

You following politics these days?

Perhaps you should put me out of my misery and stop talking in riddles, inverted commas and rhetorical questions and just say what you mean. Are you talking about the recent election in Russia or something?

Not Russia.
I meant Gaddafi and his other "pals" and I don't think we should mention them.
Mr. Doctor - 13.05.2012 at 18:20  
Written by Oaken on 12.05.2012 at 18:53

What I told JOOE.


Still useless to "replace them" there's no reason for that. Considering the theme of the album and the fact that the politics of those people are still alive. Also, it's stupid to put recent politics people in the cover.... Specially if you don't want to get in trouble if you get my point.
Oaken - 13.05.2012 at 19:32  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 13.05.2012 at 18:20

Written by Oaken on 12.05.2012 at 18:53

What I told JOOE.


Still useless to "replace them" there's no reason for that. Considering the theme of the album and the fact that the politics of those people are still alive. Also, it's stupid to put recent politics people in the cover.... Specially if you don't want to get in trouble if you get my point.

Yes, I do.
deadone - 28.04.2014 at 05:20  
Wow what a tasteless name.

The worst thing is they're trying to make money by associating themselves with some of history's worst war criminals.

What a bunch of disrespectful wankers.
deadone - 28.04.2014 at 05:28  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 13.05.2012 at 18:20


Still useless to "replace them" there's no reason for that. Considering the theme of the album and the fact that the politics of those people are still alive. Also, it's stupid to put recent politics people in the cover.... Specially if you don't want to get in trouble if you get my point.



Actually a lot of the victims of these politics are alive too, especially the Yugoslav breakup (I am one of them in fact - I was in the Croatian civil war in 1991!).


And those politics are still "recent" - Bosnia is dysfunctional, there is still tension in Kosovo and still issues with Serbian nationalism. Oh and then there's the current situation in the Ukraine and elsewhere in the former USSR.


Ask yourself how you would feel if someone was trying to make money/get famous using imagery that was used as a symbol by people who tried to kill you and your entire family.
Mr. Doctor - 28.04.2014 at 09:19  
Written by deadone on 28.04.2014 at 05:20
The worst thing is they're trying to make money by associating themselves with some of history's worst war criminals.

Oh yes, I forgot you can get rich by this sort of music. Of course.
deadone - 28.04.2014 at 09:26  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 28.04.2014 at 09:19

Written by deadone on 28.04.2014 at 05:20
The worst thing is they're trying to make money by associating themselves with some of history's worst war criminals.

Oh yes, I forgot you can get rich by this sort of music. Of course.


Not saying they're going to make millions.

Obviously the imagery, song titles and overall pakcage are designed to stir shock and thus get attention which results in people listening to the band and ergo some money is made if they sell it.

Whatever the case, this cheapens the horror of what these regimes did and turns genocide and brutal oppression a marketing gimmick.
Mr. Doctor - 28.04.2014 at 09:32  
Written by deadone on 28.04.2014 at 09:26

Obviously the imagery, song titles and overall pakcage are designed to stir shock and thus get attention which results in people listening to the band and ergo some money is made if they sell it.
Whatever the case, this cheapens the horror of what these regimes did and turns genocide and brutal oppression a marketing gimmick.


Well, who am I to tell you what to enjoy or not.
I personally enjoy the imagery, specially the artwork. Two sides of the same shitty coin. Jesus Ain't in Poland is also a funny band name I enjoy. Then again, I like this sort of satire.
To me it doesn't cheapen the horror. It works as awareness.
Hell, I make jokes about Pinochet every now and then and some of my family and friends got really affected by that shit.
deadone - 28.04.2014 at 09:44  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 28.04.2014 at 09:32

Well, who am I to tell you what to enjoy or not.


Ditto

But it doesn't appear to be satire. Appears to be more for shock appeal.

Only managed to find one lyric for it and it seems to be glorification (Insipid SSSR):

Love for the Fatherland empowers
The souls and hands of Russian sons;
They each desire to spill their blood,
They draw their strength from sounds of war.

All hail the Fatherland

How does the mighty lion scare
A wolf pack baring poison teeth
Showing ferocious, gleaming eyes?
His roaring quakes the woods and shore,
His tail churns up the dust and sand,
Uncoiling mightily, he strikes.

All hail the Fatherland



Quote:
To me it doesn't cheapen the horror. It works as awareness.


I don't see how it increases awareness if the lyrics glorify it as in the song above. And someone else said the song SFRJ glorifies Yugoslavia.


Quote:
Hell, I make jokes about Pinochet every now and then and some of my family and friends got really affected by that shit.


I hope you don't do so in front of your relatives?

And it wasn't you personally? Trust me when you have sniper bullets whizzing by your head, you're living in a bunker and your house has been turned to swiss cheese by artillery, you don't see the humour in dictators.
!J.O.O.E.! - 28.04.2014 at 11:58  
Complaining about bands using shock imagery? Holy crap, does this guy even metal? Tastelessness, shock tactics and controversy have all been part of metal and various counter-culture music and art forms since forever. Just take a look at the early industrial movement. Of course it takes prissy reactions likes deadone's to make it what it is, so I guess we can be thankful for that. Of course it's always especially ironic when the OP has a list of favourite bands oriented around death, war, torturers and serial murderers and disease. Bands that are all glorifying in some form the use of offensive, destructive and controversial imagery. Even if they don't necessarily subscribe to the belief systems involved they are still using it to their own personal advantages to the detriment of others. Perhaps we should introduce him to The Meads of Asphodel.
Mr. Doctor - 28.04.2014 at 12:50  
Written by deadone on 28.04.2014 at 09:44

Quote:
To me it doesn't cheapen the horror. It works as awareness.

I don't see how it increases awareness if the lyrics glorify it as in the song above.


Ever read The Prince?
That shit glorifies the shit out of authoritarianism but the sarcasm and sattire for awareness sake was too obvious... So obvious that most people misunderstood Michavelli and missed the point completely though. I see a similar thing here. But that's my way of looking at it.
Vombatus - 28.04.2014 at 19:40  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 28.04.2014 at 11:58

Perhaps we should introduce him to The Meads of Asphodel.


Not from the 80'. Must be shit.


Jokes aside, now that you mention the Meads, good old Metatron said a few words about controversial topics in metal (refering to the case of NSBM) where he pretty much nailed it:

"Without such movements the past would be inevitably forgotten and lessons from specific ages of human history lost from memory. NSBM can serve as a reminder to both sides of a very controversial coin. [...] What is important is the freedom to discus without prejudice individual views, and NSBM is a medium for a minority to express those views. It is your choice whether to listen, but to silence this view is to become the very beast you attempt to muzzle."

I never understood people that tell others what should be allowed or what is decent and acceptable, specially in something like Metal.
!J.O.O.E.! - 28.04.2014 at 19:47  
Written by Vombatus on 28.04.2014 at 19:40

Not from the 80'. Must be shit.


Jokes aside, now that you mention the Meads, good old Metatron said a few words about controversial topics in metal (refering to the case of NSBM) where he pretty much nailed it:

"Without such movements the past would be inevitably forgotten and lessons from specific ages of human history lost from memory. NSBM can serve as a reminder to both sides of a very controversial coin. [...] What is important is the freedom to discus without prejudice individual views, and NSBM is a medium for a minority to express those views. It is your choice whether to listen, but to silence this view is to become the very beast you attempt to muzzle."

I never understood people that tell others what should be allowed or what is decent and acceptable, specially in something like Metal.

Good lord, I do love that man, and it's hard to disagree with him to be honest when you look at it from that perspective.
Karlabos - 28.04.2014 at 22:12  
2nd wave Black metal:"Christianism sucks, let's kill the Christians! Hail Satin!"
Metalhead reaction: "Hell yeah! Fvckn trve! So hardcore!"

NSBM: "Judaism sucks, let's kill the jews! Hail Hitler!"
Metalhead reaction: "Dude... That's fucked up..."

I never understood this paradox...
Vombatus - 28.04.2014 at 22:39  
Written by Karlabos on 28.04.2014 at 22:12

I never understood this paradox...


Antisemitism is based on a racial feature (inherit to the person), while christianity is only belief (personal decision). I still think it's a bit pathetic to tolerate/glorify one and not the other, though.
Also, Holocaust has caused much more impact both physically (numbers of deaths in record time) and psychologically (ww2 aftermath, shoa memory,constant homage/tribute, etc...) than any other massacre of christians.... And historically, the Church hasn't always been an example to follow (which gives the tr00 northern black metal warriors a reason to hate christianity) while jews were pretty much scape-goats forever. So yeah, I think this "paradox" you mention is quite a normal thing afterall.
mz - 28.04.2014 at 22:51  
Written by Karlabos on 28.04.2014 at 22:12

2nd wave Black metal:"Christianism sucks, let's kill the Christians! Hail Satin!"
Metalhead reaction: "Hell yeah! Fvckn trve! So hardcore!"

NSBM: "Judaism sucks, let's kill the jews! Hail Hitler!"
Metalhead reaction: "Dude... That's fucked up..."

I never understood this paradox...

So true.
mz - 28.04.2014 at 22:57  
Written by deadone on 28.04.2014 at 09:44


I don't see how it increases awareness if the lyrics glorify it as in the song above. And someone else said the song SFRJ glorifies Yugoslavia.

I haven't seen N.K.V.D being associated with NSBM or fascism but at the end, even if the band tries to glorify these subjects, the fact is that for listener , in some way, it would be easier to feel the oppressive atmosphere of dictatorial governments by this record and thus, it will gain, in an odd way, sympathy for the victims of those regimes. In the other word, the final result, regardless of the intention of the band, would not be any good for likes of Hitler.
mz - 28.04.2014 at 23:05  
Musically speaking, this album has have one of the greatest impacts on my musical taste. I was wandering in MS one day and saw this review of Derr and because there were a lot of advanced words which I just recently had memorized, I decided to try this. It was followed by listening to gnaw their tongues, which I again was sold on because of Derr's review. It was a little to intense for me but after one week, I finally got used to the dark thickness of this record. Then, went to blut aus nord, because I was looking for more industrial black metal.
Pretty not an standard introduction to black metal I guess, but thanks God these three bands are among my favorite bands now and I adore them.
Before this album, I enjoyed the less abrasive forms of BM, like aggaloch and enslaved, but my interest in those bands was not becasue of BM aesthetic. This was pretty much my starting point.
!J.O.O.E.! - 28.04.2014 at 23:16  
Written by mz on 28.04.2014 at 23:05

Musically speaking, this album has have one of the greatest impacts on my musical taste. I was wandering in MS one day and saw this review of Derr and because there were a lot of advanced words which I just recently had memorized, I decided to try this. It was followed by listening to gnaw their tongues, which I again was sold on because of Derr's review. It was a little to intense for me but after one week, I finally got used to the dark thickness of this record. Then, went to blut aus nord, because I was looking for more industrial black metal.
Pretty not an standard introduction to black metal I guess, but thanks God these three bands are among my favorite bands now and I adore them.
Before this album, I enjoyed the less abrasive forms of BM, like aggaloch and enslaved, but my interest in those bands was not becasue of BM aesthetic. This was pretty much my starting point.

Had no idea you liked this album that much. It is an incredibly good one though and not a style and approach I've heard of quite like it anywhere else.
Mr. Doctor - 28.04.2014 at 23:39  
Way better than my first encounters with BM, mostly old Dimmu Birgir... Then again, it could have been worse. The first 3 albums are still good enough for me.
mz - 29.04.2014 at 01:36  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 28.04.2014 at 23:16

Had no idea you liked this album that much. It is an incredibly good one though and not a style and approach I've heard of quite like it anywhere else.

This record is probably one of the top 10 most influential records of my life.
Also, unfortunately, it is true that there are not many albums similar to this. The closest thing I've heard are helel and mysticum, which are not that similar. Most of the stuff labeled as industrial black metal is too much on cyber road for me.
mz - 29.04.2014 at 01:39  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 28.04.2014 at 23:39

Way better than my first encounters with BM, mostly old Dimmu Birgir... Then again, it could have been worse. The first 3 albums are still good enough for me.

It was not my first encounter with BM. I loved agalloch, enslaved and primordial (just had heard one record at that time) but this was the album that made me interested in BM aesthetic. I also had checked a few BM albums of 2nd wave, which did not like at all before going for this record.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums N.K.V.D. - Vlast 4.5 22.12.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Unholy - Gracefallen 3 30.06.2009 by lord artan
Reviews Daylight Misery - Depressive Icons 3 16.09.2010 by Edmund Fogg
Reviews Remembrance - Fall, Obsidian Night 3 20.09.2010 by Thanntos
Reviews Korpiklaani - Tervaskanto 3 16.11.2008 by Uirapuru



Hits total: 7117 | This month: 79