Metal Storm logo
Bríi - Entre Tudo Que É Visto E Oculto review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

19 users:
7.79
Band: Bríi
Album: Entre Tudo Que É Visto E Oculto
Release date: February 2020


01. Caos E Ordem Tiveram Um Neto
02. Sabedoria De Tudo Que É Oculto
03. Valias Desmanchando Em Queda
04. A Hora Da Morte


A fellow MS user recommended this album to me maybe about a month ago saying it was something that would be right up my alley. Sure enough, it absolutely was and is. But that doesn't make it any easier to describe it.

Bríi is a rather difficult band to affix with a label, but I'll do my best. A one man Brazilian project from an individual going by "Serafim," the music on the debut Entre Tudo Que É Visto E Oculto could probably be dubbed generally as black metal, but that would still be slightly misleading. Indeed, a good bulk of this mysterious, multifaceted debut sits more in a dreamlike, almost folky ambient territory, and seems pretty comfortable exploring said territory for extended periods before any more extreme aspects of the composition come into play. The black metal elements have a tendency to enter the picture very gradually and begin slowly escalating from there in their intensity (see the opening track especially), often beginning as quiet riffs in the background while the ambient approach is still in the forefront. Sooner or later it all starts to build, however, to the point that by the end of a track one may be experiencing much more aggressive riffing and even perhaps some blasts as well while things were relatively more restrained and minimalistic perhaps not even 5 minutes prior.

After hearing a pretty impressive album from Deafkids last year (who, curiously, are also Brazilian), I began to develop a desire for more metal that merged both psychedelic and electronic influences, something that seems to be a rather untapped area of genre fusion with a lot of potential. Bríi somehow manages to scratch that itch with Entre Tudo, for in addition to the black metal and ambient elements there's also a significant undershade of swirly, trippy electronica, of all things. This is a somewhat more subtle aspect of the music, and it rarely finds itself "taking over" the composition, but it's still an integral piece of the whole that helps make Bríi's music that much more captivating. The typical method seems to be to have these electronic elements come in as something of an embellishment upon the black metal, pushing the music more to its proverbial climax. At other moments, once the music has retreated a bit from its climax points, Bríi may descend further into the electronics as a sort of compositional resolution, closing track "A Hora Da Morte" being perhaps the best example.

There's a lot to unpack with Entre Tudo Que É Visto E Oculto, and it's definitely the kind of release that one probably won't entirely "get" after the first listen, but the music within always seems very tightly controlled, fantastically developed, and not in any way messy or overly complex. Enjoyable from a wide range of perspectives for its unique blend of various black metal, ambient, psychedelic, and electronic styles, this is a very unique and powerful debut from Bríi that has given me as much reason as I ever would have needed to keep an eye out of Serafim and his subsequent endeavors with the project in the future. Considering how great Entre Tudo already is for a debut, I can't wait to see what else happens with Bríi from here.



Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9





Written on 30.04.2020 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 92 users
01.05.2020 - 12:51
musclassia

I was really digging the first 5 or so minutes of this - a full album in that vein would be well up my street, so I kinda wish they'd focussed on that sound a bit more. Nevertheless, there were a number of really neat parts in the rest of the record - very cool find.

Edit: Gave it a second listen immediately after the first - this is some real top-quality stuff. It's diverse but it doesn't feel unnaturally 'out there', it just feels unique in a fairly effortless way.
Loading...
01.05.2020 - 13:53
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
I admit I was a bit skeptical due to the "bedroom project" aspect of it, but you giving it a 9 certainly removed some of that.

Listening to it now, this is really well done while also being very weird, which is a winning combination for me. Most things only excel at one of the two, if any.
----
Do you think if the heart keeps on shrinking
One day there will be no heart at all?


2021 goodies
Loading...
01.05.2020 - 14:15
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by musclassia on 01.05.2020 at 12:51

I was really digging the first 5 or so minutes of this - a full album in that vein would be well up my street, so I kinda wish they'd focussed on that sound a bit more.

I'm a bit surprised to see you say that, I must admit. Never marked you as much of a fan of the dreamy ambient type stuff for some reason. I guess I stand corrected?
----
Check out Apothecary's Favorite Bands Playlist, brotendo. One track per band.
Loading...
01.05.2020 - 16:15
musclassia

Written by Apothecary on 01.05.2020 at 14:15

Written by musclassia on 01.05.2020 at 12:51

I was really digging the first 5 or so minutes of this - a full album in that vein would be well up my street, so I kinda wish they'd focussed on that sound a bit more.

I'm a bit surprised to see you say that, I must admit. Never marked you as much of a fan of the dreamy ambient type stuff for some reason. I guess I stand corrected?


I covered a new age ambient album last year for Radu's non-metal article series that I dug - that intro with the bongos and guitars just sounds like a heavier version of that, which it turns out I really like. Having said that, I'm not regretting that he moved into the 20 other places he ventured on this record instead of just focusing on that, although if he does a full song of new age space tribal ambient on record number 2 I won't complain
Loading...
01.05.2020 - 16:57
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by musclassia on 01.05.2020 at 16:15

I covered a new age ambient album last year for Radu's non-metal article series that I dug - that intro with the bongos and guitars just sounds like a heavier version of that, which it turns out I really like. Having said that, I'm not regretting that he moved into the 20 other places he ventured on this record instead of just focusing on that, although if he does a full song of new age space tribal ambient on record number 2 I won't complain

Cool to know. I'm particularly inclined to the crazy electronic and psych effects in the background here, wouldn't mind a full track or album of that kind of sound either. On that note, if you liked this album I definitely suggest checking out the Deafkids one from last year I mentioned in the review. It's the only thing I can think of that really reminds me of this in a way, though they're a lot more grounded in industrial than black metal
----
Check out Apothecary's Favorite Bands Playlist, brotendo. One track per band.
Loading...
01.05.2020 - 17:07
musclassia

Written by Apothecary on 01.05.2020 at 16:57

Written by musclassia on 01.05.2020 at 16:15

I covered a new age ambient album last year for Radu's non-metal article series that I dug - that intro with the bongos and guitars just sounds like a heavier version of that, which it turns out I really like. Having said that, I'm not regretting that he moved into the 20 other places he ventured on this record instead of just focusing on that, although if he does a full song of new age space tribal ambient on record number 2 I won't complain

Cool to know. I'm particularly inclined to the crazy electronic and psych effects in the background here, wouldn't mind a full track or album of that kind of sound either. On that note, if you liked this album I definitely suggest checking out the Deafkids one from last year I mentioned in the review. It's the only thing I can think of that really reminds me of this in a way, though they're a lot more grounded in industrial than black metal


I think I checked out Deafkids on a couple of occasions last year in relation to the MSAs - sadly didn't click with me in the way this record did
Loading...
01.05.2020 - 18:41
LuciferOfGayness
Account deleted
I liked the black parts but those interludes are too damn long. The black parts and vocals reminded me a bit of BHOTL, I guess both bands borrows from the traditional south, central american folk stuff.
Loading...
01.05.2020 - 18:45
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Guest on 01.05.2020 at 18:41

I liked the black parts but those interludes are too damn long. The black parts and vocals reminded me a bit of BHOTL, I guess both bands borrows from the traditional south, central american folk stuff.

Disagree personally, it's actually nice to see a band giving the ambient sections a nice, extended bit of attention whereas with most other "ambient black metal" bands they're a lot shorter and less frequent. Though to be fair, I'm not quite sure I'd really call this album ambient BM, at least not in the traditional sense.

I'm not hearing the BHOTL similarity, but whatever works for you I guess. This is a lot less raw and abrasive than BHOTL, I'd say. But you are right that both seem to have an underlying South/Central American folk influence to them. I'd say it's more noticeable with BHOTL though.
----
Check out Apothecary's Favorite Bands Playlist, brotendo. One track per band.
Loading...
01.05.2020 - 20:08
DeliciousDishes
always right
I really wanted a rave bm album for a while, just wish it was a bit of a bigger factor. But definitely really good. Maybe a slight bit too soft, otherwise A+
----
You are the hammer, I am the nail
building a house in the fire on the hill
Loading...
01.05.2020 - 21:00
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by DeliciousDishes on 01.05.2020 at 20:08

I really wanted a rave bm album for a while, just wish it was a bit of a bigger factor.

I don't get that vibe from this album much, but if you're looking for "rave BM", well, this is probably the closest you'll get to it
----
Check out Apothecary's Favorite Bands Playlist, brotendo. One track per band.
Loading...
01.05.2020 - 21:48
DeliciousDishes
always right
Written by Apothecary on 01.05.2020 at 21:00

I don't get that vibe from this album much

I dunno man that last track literally has goa in it.

For some reason I never really liked Servants of the Apocalyptic Goat Rave much.
----
You are the hammer, I am the nail
building a house in the fire on the hill
Loading...
03.05.2020 - 23:42
tintinb

I gave the album one full listen and I think I particularly like the ambient parts which are kind of trance inducing. They are few and in between a lot of stuff that is going on with the songs. But they really suck you in - the listener. I couldn't care for the black metal bits though. I mean there could have been no metal in the album and it wouldn't have made a difference, in my opinion.

I will of course give it a few more listens.
Loading...
03.05.2020 - 23:54
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by tintinb on 03.05.2020 at 23:42

I gave the album one full listen and I think I particularly like the ambient parts which are kind of trance inducing. They are few and in between a lot of stuff that is going on with the songs. But they really suck you in - the listener. I couldn't care for the black metal bits though. I mean there could have been no metal in the album and it wouldn't have made a difference, in my opinion.

I mostly agree with this, the album would have been a good deal more interesting without the black metal elements and just as some super trippy, electronic ambient something or other.

That said, I think the BM Is pretty well integrated with the other sounds at play here. Not only that, but it's a pretty nice take on black metal too: not too raw or blast heavy, more midpaced, riff-centric, and harmonic. I really can't complain.
----
Check out Apothecary's Favorite Bands Playlist, brotendo. One track per band.
Loading...

Hits total: 2394 | This month: 29