Metal Storm logo
Updates - reviews


Reviews
Knoll - Metempiric

Fellas, your grindcore has to be absolutely unrelenting, noisy, pummeling. Do the right thing. Add a trumpet.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.07.2022 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Candy - Heaven Is Here

Hearing that there's a band named "Candy" I was expecting some glam hard rock stuff. I was instead greeted by some of the noisiest hardcore out there.

Read more ››
Posted: 03.07.2022 by RaduP | Comments (1)

Reviews
Conjurer - Páthos

Conjurer are one of the hottest new metal acts in the UK right now. I hope that following the release of Páthos, they will be considered one of the hottest new metal acts anywhere right now.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.06.2022 by musclassia | Comments (1)

Reviews
Porcupine Tree - Closure / Continuation

The reunion that was never going to happen turned into the reunion that was never intended to take so long; Porcupine Tree waited just long enough for probably all but the most ardent believer to give up on any hope of a return before getting back together.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.06.2022 by musclassia | Comments (6)

Reviews
Bipolar Architecture - Depressionland

You might remember Bipolar Architecture from our Clandestine Cuts series. Here, they take the big step in creating a progressive post-metal debut full-length.

Read more ››
Posted: 30.06.2022 by RaduP | Comments (1)

Reviews
Final Light - Final Light

One of the biggest strengths of Roadburn as a festival is its tendency to bring together unexpected collaborators, with reliably successful results. Final Light was my highlight of this year’s edition of Roadburn, and now, with Final Light, the rest of the world can savour this treat.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.06.2022 by musclassia | Comments (1)

Reviews
Civil War - Invaders

Civil War’s fourth album defies expectations not only by its very existence, but by its dynamism and spirit – although I have been tempted for the sake of gripping emphasis to describe Invaders as a “resurgence,” which it is from a certain perspective, it is more accurately the first proper surge I have heard from this band.

Read more ››
Posted: 29.06.2022 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (1)

Reviews
Verberis - Adumbration Of The Veiled Logos

Generally one of the first questions that noobies ask when getting into extreme metal is "What's the difference between black metal and death metal?", and that's something that, at this point, we should be able to confidently answer. But when both genres play with dissonance and atmosphere, they can intertwine into inseparability. Like on Verberis' Adumbration Of The Veiled Logos.

Read more ››
Posted: 28.06.2022 by RaduP | Comments (1)

Reviews
Bríi - Corpos Transparentes

Corpos Transparentes makes it hard to believe that there was a time where it wasn't obvious that one-man bands Bríi and Kaatayra were actually the same one-man.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.06.2022 by RaduP | Comments (5)

Reviews
Process Of Guilt - Slaves Beneath The Sun

Over the last few years, I have gotten prematurely excited on more than one occasion about a new music announcement, only to re-read the band name and see that it’s from Portrayal Of Guilt (no offence to the Texans). Finally, the announcement that I’ve actually been hoping for has come: here’s the new Process Of Guilt album.

Read more ››
Posted: 26.06.2022 by musclassia | Comments (4)

Reviews
Krallice - Psychagogue

And just when I though Krallice was finally settling down, Psychagogue happened.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.06.2022 by RaduP | Comments (0)

Reviews
Inexorum - Equinox Vigil

Even though both "melodic death metal" and "melodic black metal" are genre tags that get used fairly often, the former is pretty well-established as a separate genre, to the point where you'd get scoffed at for calling Insomnium a "death metal band" but not a "melodic death metal band". The distinctions between "melodic black metal" and "black metal" are a bit muddier, but Inexorum try to make them a bit clearer.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.06.2022 by RaduP | Comments (1)

Reviews
Esoctrilihum - Consecration Of The Spiritüs Flesh

Seven albums in less than seven years should start feeling a bit stale by now, especially with how long their runtimes were. But Esoctrilihum knows not to make the exact same album twice. Consecration Of The Spiritüs is not just the shortest one, but the most violent one too.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.06.2022 by RaduP | Comments (4)

Reviews
Michael Romeo - War Of The Worlds, Pt. 2

Guitar virtuoso Michael Romeo took advantage of the hiatus his main band Symphony X seems to be under, and decided to write music for a solo project. But he got a little carried away and what he wrote was enough to fill two albums, hence we have the two parts of War Of The Worlds. The first one (which we despicably failed to review) came out in 2018, and the second one (which does get a -much deserved- review) was finally released in March 2022, even though it had been ready a long time before that.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.06.2022 by nikarg | Comments (1)

Reviews
Darkane - Inhuman Spirits

Oh, the inhumanity.

Read more ››
Posted: 19.06.2022 by omne metallum | Comments (2)

Reviews
Motionless In White - Scoring The End Of The World

"Say, that wasn’t half bad! You're right! It was all bad!"

Read more ››
Posted: 19.06.2022 by omne metallum | Comments (0)