Metal Storm logo
Updates - reviews


Reviews
Wode - Burn In Many Mirrors

As much of a fiend as I am for the abstract and the unorthodox strands of metal, I too can appreciate the younger bands that choose to go for a more retro, old school sound. But a retro sound infused with more contemporary techniques? Oh, my sweet Lord Azathoth, that's what I like to hear.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.09.2021 by Apothecary | Comments (0)

Reviews
Acausal Intrusion - Nulitas

Album artwork depicting a maned dragon/salamander, a floating eyeball, and a walking fish? Yup, definitely seems to be an Apothecary kind of thing.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.09.2021 by Apothecary | Comments (1)

Reviews
Sculptured - The Liminal Phase

My disappointment is immeasurable and my day is ruined.

Read more ››
Posted: 27.09.2021 by RaduP | Comments (4)

Reviews
Portrait - At One With None

The big release of September 3rd was of course Iron Maiden’s 17th LP, but on the same date came another album that deserves the attention of heavy metal lovers. It is Portrait’s At One With None and, tell me the truth, doesn’t this marvellous cover art by Adam Burke make you want to check this one out?

Read more ››
Posted: 27.09.2021 by nikarg | Comments (2)

Reviews
Skepticism - Companion

It is truly an achievement to be one of the godfathers of funeral doom metal, yet still being able to conjure up new sounds that shine true with pride and defiance against death.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.09.2021 by X-Ray Rod | Comments (6)

Reviews
Anette Olzon - Strong

Disclaimer: I am primarily writing this review because Anette is a personal friend of mine. At least in my version of the truth.

Read more ››
Posted: 25.09.2021 by Dream Taster | Comments (3)

Reviews
Warning - Watching From A Distance - Live At Roadburn

The last week brought a lot of bad news and a lot of tribulations for me. Today I drove home from a relative’s funeral. When I checked my e-mails to see what I had missed in my couple days of absence, I found this promo in my inbox. Of all the albums, of all the days…

Read more ››
Posted: 24.09.2021 by ScreamingSteelUS | Comments (13)

Reviews
Chrome Waves - The Rain Will Cleanse

To be, or not to be? That is the question. To be audacious that is. Chrome Waves, which are basically James Benson from Amiensus and Jeff Wilson (ex-Abigail Williams, Nachtmystium) are indeed audacious.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.09.2021 by Dream Taster | Comments (1)

Reviews
LLNN - Unmaker

There’s heavy guitar tones, there’s crushing guitar tones, and then there’s LLNN guitar tones.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.09.2021 by musclassia | Comments (9)

Reviews
Seven Spires - Gods Of Debauchery

Picture this: You are Seven Spires. You manage to be the a newer band that people care about in a God-forsaken genre that everybody* thought was pretty much dead. Do you: A) come up with a lean album that is all filler no killer and shows your best strengths; or B) come up with a 77 minute behemoth of an album that threads around being bloated?

Read more ››
Posted: 23.09.2021 by RaduP | Comments (3)

Reviews
Crisix - The Pizza EP

A lot of revivalist thrash metal often gets called, lovingly or derogatorily, "pizza thrash". Crisix embrace that.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.09.2021 by RaduP | Comments (5)

Reviews
Mastiff - Leave Me The Ashes Of The Earth

We all know that there's some sludge that's more doom, and some sludge that's more hardcore. Mastiff sit pretty comfortably in the latter category, to some pummeling results.

Read more ››
Posted: 23.09.2021 by RaduP | Comments (2)

Reviews
Rivers Of Nihil - The Work

If the purpose of ‘progressive’ music is to progress over time, Rivers Of Nihil are certainly in agreement.

Read more ››
Posted: 22.09.2021 by musclassia | Comments (3)

Reviews
Paradox - Heresy II - End Of A Legend

Heresy II: Electric Boogaloo.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.09.2021 by omne metallum | Comments (4)

Reviews
Carcass - Torn Arteries

The other hotly anticipated album this month.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.09.2021 by omne metallum | Comments (14)

Reviews
Sermon Of Flames - I Have Seen The Light, And It Was Repulsive

I have heard the album, and it was fantastic.

Read more ››
Posted: 21.09.2021 by RaduP | Comments (5)