Metal Storm logo
P.O.D. - Veritas review



Reviewer:
6.0

17 users:
6.06
Band: P.O.D.
Album: Veritas
Style: Alternative metal, Nu metal, Alternative rock
Release date: May 2024


01. Drop
02. I Got That
03. Afraid To Die
04. Dead Right
05. Breaking
06. Lay Me Down (Roo's Song)
07. I Won't Bow Down
08. This Is My Life
09. Lies We Tell Ourselves
10. We Are One (Our Struggle)
11. Feeling Strange

So, when are we getting paid?

2024 seems to be the year that nu metal bands of yore have been waiting for, a time to emerge from the shadows they had faded into after their halcyon days two decades ago; six years and one pandemic later, Christian nu metallers P.O.D. return to once more try their hand at breaking out of their position on the margins with Veritas. While it is commendable that the band are not content to rest on their laurels, Veritas is an unfortunate reminder that gambling on releasing new music does not mean that the house always wins.

One of the more unique nu metal acts when they first broke through, P.O.D. defied the stereotype of what a nu metal band was, with their songs far from the teen angst-fuelled rants at the world, and taking in a broader range of influences than turntables and power chords, with tracks that explored different sonic avenues. Veritas retains the former, but is surprisingly devoid of the latter sonic exploration that helped carve out the niche that helped P.O.D. initially find success.

Veritas is an OK record, if not much beyond that, containing tracks that are enjoyable to listen to, albeit with little in the way of replay value. "Afraid To Die" does sound like it could have been pulled from Satellite, with its quiet verse giving way to a catchy choir-like chorus. "Breaking" sounds built for rock radio, with its inoffensive sound likely to have your head bopping along. "Lies We Tell Ourselves" has a Sugar Ray vibe that is more 90s pop rock than nu metal, but is catchier than you would think.

P.O.D. have retained the same core group of members since their early years, with the only departure taking the form of Bernando, who vacated the drum stool in 2021. Given this, it is no surprise that the band sound tight in their performances and have maintained the same sonic identity throughout the years. Adding the production team of The Heavy (no, that is actually their name) into the equation, and Veritas sits in an enjoyable sonic pocket that both retains the band's sound without sounding dated.

As alluded to, while Veritas isn't a bad record, it isn't much beyond an OK one either, with its high points not finding much altitude. The band's decision to narrow their sonic focus does see them blunting their strengths for no real gain, leaving them occupying a middle ground that won't help attract listeners in a crowded sonic marketplace.

The payment still hasn't come through, and I'm starting to think the investment is going to continue to offer diminishing returns.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 6
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 5
Production: 7





Written on 14.05.2024 by Just because I don't care doesn't mean I'm not listening.


Comments

Comments: 7   Visited by: 93 users
15.05.2024 - 16:15
K✞ulu
Seeker of Truth
Wow, this review... dude, simple always beats smart in writing. Just describe the music. No one cares about your investment metaphors and poetic language. I seriously don't know what to make of stuff like "high points not finding much altitude"? What does it mean?
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
15.05.2024 - 17:56
A Real Mönkey
Written by K✞ulu on 15.05.2024 at 16:15

Wow, this review... dude, simple always beats smart in writing. Just describe the music. No one cares about your investment metaphors and poetic language. I seriously don't know what to make of stuff like "high points not finding much altitude"? What does it mean?

This dude’s reviews have always been mediocre. Always seems like he puts more effort into coming up with those cringe headlines than the rest of the actual review.
----
"Change the world. My final message. Goodbye."

~Last words of Harambe, seconds before he was shot, according to child he shielded from gunfire
Loading...
15.05.2024 - 19:44
Starvynth
i c deaf people
Staff
Written by K✞ulu on 15.05.2024 at 16:15

I seriously don't know what to make of stuff like "high points not finding much altitude"? What does it mean?

It means that even the best moments of the album are not particularly good.
To be fair, I think that's a very clearly expressed statement with an unambiguous meaning that summarizes the previous points well. Even without the given context, it's still easy to understand (which I know because I read your comment first, and then the review).
----
signatures = SPAM
Loading...
15.05.2024 - 20:06
Auntie Sahar
Drone Empress
Elite
Written by K✞ulu on 15.05.2024 at 16:15

Wow, this review... dude, simple always beats smart in writing. Just describe the music. No one cares about your investment metaphors and poetic language. I seriously don't know what to make of stuff like "high points not finding much altitude"? What does it mean?

He did describe the album, quite effectively I would say, and this is something I don't even plan on bothering giving a listen to

"Veritas retains the former, but is surprisingly devoid of the latter sonic exploration that helped carve out the niche that helped P.O.D. initially find success."

"As alluded to, while Veritas isn't a bad record, it isn't much beyond an OK one either"

And he finished with

"The payment still hasn't come through, and I'm starting to think the investment is going to continue to offer diminishing returns," which is basically his way of saying "What we've been offered by the band still hasn't come yet, and I think that will keep being the case"

Don't get pissy at the reviewer if you're simply having an issue with some figurative language that makes the reading a little more intriguing than just a simple "album OK but me want it better." Finding fault with "metaphors" and "poetic language" in a music review, of all things? Sounds like more of a You Problem than anything, Mon Frére.
----
I am the Magician and the Exorcist. I am the axle of the wheel, and the cube in the circle. “Come unto me” is a foolish word: for it is I that go.

~ II. VII
Loading...
15.05.2024 - 21:01
Redel
Moderator
Written by Auntie Sahar on 15.05.2024 at 20:06

Finding fault with "metaphors" and "poetic language" in a music review, of all things?

This!
Loading...
16.05.2024 - 17:20
K✞ulu
Seeker of Truth
Written by Auntie Sahar on 15.05.2024 at 20:06

Written by K✞ulu on 15.05.2024 at 16:15

Wow, this review... dude, simple always beats smart in writing. Just describe the music. No one cares about your investment metaphors and poetic language. I seriously don't know what to make of stuff like "high points not finding much altitude"? What does it mean?

He did describe the album, quite effectively I would say, and this is something I don't even plan on bothering giving a listen to

"Veritas retains the former, but is surprisingly devoid of the latter sonic exploration that helped carve out the niche that helped P.O.D. initially find success."

"As alluded to, while Veritas isn't a bad record, it isn't much beyond an OK one either"

And he finished with

"The payment still hasn't come through, and I'm starting to think the investment is going to continue to offer diminishing returns," which is basically his way of saying "What we've been offered by the band still hasn't come yet, and I think that will keep being the case"

Don't get pissy at the reviewer if you're simply having an issue with some figurative language that makes the reading a little more intriguing than just a simple "album OK but me want it better." Finding fault with "metaphors" and "poetic language" in a music review, of all things? Sounds like more of a You Problem than anything, Mon Frére.


No, sir. I just didn't like the writing, so I provided feedback. I know it was a bit in your face, but I was really annoyed with this review. In any case, I am sure the reviewer knew what I meant, and they can take it or leave it, I don't really care, I wasn't trying to offend them.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
16.05.2024 - 18:36
Cynic Metalhead
Paisa Vich Nasha
Written by K✞ulu on 16.05.2024 at 17:20

Written by Auntie Sahar on 15.05.2024 at 20:06

Written by K✞ulu on 15.05.2024 at 16:15

Wow, this review... dude, simple always beats smart in writing. Just describe the music. No one cares about your investment metaphors and poetic language. I seriously don't know what to make of stuff like "high points not finding much altitude"? What does it mean?


Don't get pissy at the reviewer if you're simply having an issue with some figurative language that makes the reading a little more intriguing than just a simple "album OK but me want it better."


NoL, but I was really annoyed with this review. In any case, I am sure the reviewer knew what I meant


As other folks have said, the reviewer was clearly stating his opinion about the album. I still haven't understood what's your concern here.

It looks like you're pissed to see POD's album bashed front and back, and I don't think reviewer know what you mean here.
Loading...

Hits total: 1066 | This month: 1066