Metal Storm logo
Cryptopsy - None So Vile review



Reviewer:
9.0

479 users:
8.76
Band: Cryptopsy
Album: None So Vile
Release date: July 1996


01. Crown Of Horns
02. Slit Your Guts
03. Graves Of The Fathers
04. Dead And Dripping
05. Benedictine Convulsions
06. Phobophile
07. Lichmistress
08. Orgiastic Disembowelment


1996 was a good year for Metal Music, Behemoth released their album Grom, Arch Enemy released "Black Earth", Cannibal Corpse found that George Fisher was better than Chris Barnes and released "Vile", Mortician, after 7 years of demos and EPs, finally released their first Full Length album and called it "Hacked Up For Barbecue", and a little Canadian Band Called Cryptopsy Released a great album called "None So Vile".

None So Vile is simply one of the best albums in Death Metal history, some songs may sound repetitive yes, but if you Really pay attention to all the details you finally will love this album. The album from the beginning to the end is marvelous, The intro in "Crown Of Horns" is amazing, some random screams and cool effects, Then the song begins blasting your amplifiers and shit, The first thing that amazed me was the vocal tone, its not about low growls and it's not high-pitched shrieks, it's a different tone, one of a kind, so this song is incredible; I can't believe the drummer, speeding, beating, crushing, and giving us one of the most impressive drums execution in Death Metal.

Now for the Best song in the album part. "Benedictine Convulsions" a fast catchy song, with the most brutal riffs and crushing bass-lines, every instrument here is at it's max power, and man the vocals are great, those short cutting screams are incredible, those double-bass beats are just unbelievable, and that (3:25) minute where everything seems to collapse, one long scream, catchy riffs, the most spectacular bass playing, and drums that are not as complex as in the other songs. Another incredible song is "Phobophile" if you want fast, complex, rushing drum beats, this is the song for you, but anyway that song is legendary so we all know what this song represents, I won't repeat what everyone always say.

Crushing Guitar riffs, Incredible Pounding Drums, The most insane Growls, fast aggressive and clean bass-lines, Blasphemous lyrics and artwork, suffocating and blasphemous music, yes that's a brief synthesis of what None So Vile represents; a legendary masterpiece? Well some might answer yes (myself included), the truth is "None So Vile" is a great album, and we all have to listen to it for a lot of reasons including musical appreciation and the fact that we are all captivated by good Metal music.

Follow: "Benedictine Convulsions" "Phobophile" "Slit Your Guts" "Orgiastic Disembowelment"

Written by Herzebeth | 10.01.2005



Guest review by
Oaken
Rating:
9.5
Death metal. The musical genre concerned with death, hatred and anguish. The aural paragon of blood, gore and mutilation. Ever since it was created about 20 years ago, death metal left nothing nasty undealt with; from the repulsive scenery of gory violence to the deepest of mental aberrations, it covered pretty much everything vile, both musically and lyrically, with death being the recurring theme. Not all bands though were able to convey the actual horror of death, but some wrote albums that redefined death in an aural way. One of these records is Cryptopsy's None So Vile.

Read more ››
published 29.09.2012 | Comments (4)


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 215 users
02.04.2007 - 20:20
Rating: 10
Dangerboner
Lactation Cnslt
"Cannibal Corpse found that George Fisher was better than Chris Barnes"

lol what the fuck dude
Loading...
02.04.2007 - 20:45
Herzebeth

Written by Dangerboner on 02.04.2007 at 20:20

"Cannibal Corpse found that George Fisher was better than Chris Barnes"

lol what the fuck dude

it's not literally speaking my man....Cannibal Corpse found about it, we didn't lol hahaha
----
Loading...
03.04.2007 - 06:52
Rating: 10
Dangerboner
Lactation Cnslt
lol ok, good point.

I liked how you said "some songs may sound repetitive yes, but if you Really pay attention to all the details you finally will love this album". This is so true....I can only listen to this album when I'm wearing headphones, so that I can focus on what's actually going on. If I play it as background music, it just sounds like a bunch of noise.

It took me a while to fully appreciate the music, but once I actually listened to it, this album became one of my favorites.
Loading...
03.04.2007 - 23:46
Basso
Account deleted
This is the only Cryptopsy album I listen to it, and its just fucking brilliant. Whenever I feel the mood to listen to something brutal, this is it... Look no further for extreme drumming and wormdevouring vocals, this is it.
Loading...
30.04.2007 - 19:59
Rating: 9
Shaddy

I'd say my fav from the album is Slit Your Guts with that crushing part at the middle of the song And Phobophile is the second Cryptopsy song i ever heard and it's great, yeah. I can really say i like the overall sound of the album very much \m/
----
November
Loading...
01.05.2007 - 03:46
Rating: 10
Stigmatized
..........
Brutal album, and truly great. One of my favorite DM albums ever.
Loading...
01.05.2007 - 20:12
Rating: 9
Sunioj

Crown of Horns is pretty badass...actually this whole album is fucking badass.
Loading...
07.06.2007 - 01:47
__Az__

This album is truely amazing. I love Cryptopsy, and this album is the reason why. The first Cryptopsy tracks I heard.

I completely agree with the review once again, the album may sound repetitive and songs may sound too alike, until you really pay attention and pick up on the finer details. When you do this, the magnitude of the album can really be appreciated.

Definately deserving of its 9.0, perhaps even more.... Needless to say though, this release was, and still is a death metal classic...
Loading...
08.08.2007 - 20:13
Visioneerie
Urban Monster
I want to know how this album compares to Blasphemy Made Flesh, in my opinion their debut kicks ass and its fucking brutal, and i wonder how much better None So Vile is
----
Any man can stand adversity, but to test his character give him power - A. Lincoln
Loading...
12.08.2007 - 01:26
ScumSlayer666
Account deleted
I think "Phobophile" was one of the first extreme metal tunes i learned to play on guitar and its been an absolute favourite of mine ever since.
I believe "None So Vile" is by far the finest Cryptopsy album and man I would love to see them live
Loading...
10.03.2009 - 07:45
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Fast'n'killer, exellent album... great choise for my first Cryptopsy album.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
27.05.2009 - 10:15
RockeRoy

If it wasn't for the poor production this album would be perfect, so i don't listen to it as much as i would have.
----
You found god? If nobody claims him in thirty days, he's yours

Walk with me in hell
Loading...
13.07.2009 - 21:27
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Written by Dangerboner on 03.04.2007 at 06:52

lol ok, good point.

I liked how you said "some songs may sound repetitive yes, but if you Really pay attention to all the details you finally will love this album". This is so true....I can only listen to this album when I'm wearing headphones, so that I can focus on what's actually going on. If I play it as background music, it just sounds like a bunch of noise.

It took me a while to fully appreciate the music, but once I actually listened to it, this album became one of my favorites.


Same here, once i listened to this immense masterpiece with my headphones its sheer brutality within technicallity emerged.Truly the benchmark of technical death and great review:banger2:
Loading...
18.01.2010 - 17:51
Rating: 10
thewall30

Nice review, this is by far my favorite death metal album of all time, and Flo Mounier is the definition of beast!
----
Loading...
28.03.2010 - 01:15
Insineratehymn
Account deleted
I know people are going to flame me for this, but I don't really like this album. The instrumentation is excellent, but Lord Worm's vocals just ruin it for me.
Loading...
06.08.2010 - 17:24
Rating: 9
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Guest on 28.03.2010 at 01:15

I know people are going to flame me for this, but I don't really like this album. The instrumentation is excellent, but Lord Worm's vocals just ruin it for me.

:O
----
14:22 - Marcel Hubregtse
I do your mum
Loading...
29.01.2011 - 19:07
Vivi'

Written by Guest on 12.08.2007 at 01:26

I think "Phobophile" was one of the first extreme metal tunes i learned to play on guitar and its been an absolute favourite of mine ever since.
I believe "None So Vile" is by far the finest Cryptopsy album and man I would love to see them live

Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeah!
Loading...
31.05.2011 - 01:47
Beastofmetal456
Account deleted
Great album. The vocals are shite, but anyway, everything else is great. My faves are Phobphile, Benedective Convulsions and Slit Your Guts
Loading...

Hits total: 8466 | This month: 14