Svartby - Biography




Svartby is a folk black metal band from Saint-Petersburg, Russia.

They sing about wild magical creatures living of Svartby (the Black Village) - witches, goblins, dwarfs - definitely unkind to human folk, but at the same time merry, nature-loving and nice living beings with a good sense of humor. The lyrics are in Swedish.

- Giftsvamp starts playing keyboards after a 4-year break - with thoughts of dark magical creatures. So echoes of melodies were born.
- Brutal death band Nordlicht (Giftsvamp - bass, Lindwurm - guitars) get acquainted with a rock-n-roll band Rroll and future Svartby frontman Torhall.

- Melodies become songs, ideas become lyrics.
- Lindwurm and Giftsvamp quit Nordlicht and Svartby is formed in June.
- Hemskalf is employed to sing clear vocals and be the second guitar.
- Torhall joins the band in August.
- Somna joins the band in October, 10.

- First demo-EP "Kom I Min Kittel" recorded in February.
- Svartby's first gig in June.
- Hemskalf leaves Svartby in October.
- Hök joins Svartby in October, 10.
- First Svartby gig with Hök in October, 28.

- Svartby starts recording debuting album.
- Great gig activity.

- First gig outside Saint-Petersburg in June. Svartby becomes a touring band.
- "Kom I Min Kittel" album, devoted to witches of the Black Village, is released at Fono Records in July.
- Svartby records new 5-song "Tomte" EP.
- "Tomte" EP is available for free downloading in November, 28.
- "Skogens Ursinne" song is included to "Pagan Battle Tunes" compilation cd.

- "Kom I Min Kittel" album is released in Europe by Trollzorn label in February.
- Svartby is signed at Trollzorn in July.
- The band records new album "Riv, Hugg Och Bit", devoted to the dwarves of the Black Village.