Metal news

Darkthrone - Ravishing Grimness Album To Be Re-Released

As it was reported here, Peaceville Records is releasing new editions of classic Darkthrone albums.

After Panzerfaust, it is now the time of Ravishing Grimness to be re-released as a double-disc set on September 5th. This new edition includes a bonus disc featuring commentary from Fenriz and Nocturno Culto describing their inspirations, as well as memories from the time of recording.


Band profile: Darkthrone
Posted: 14.08.2011 by Sjuk | Comments (14)

Darkest Hour - New Video Online

"Love As A Weapon", the new video from US metallers Darkest Hour, can be watched below.

The clip was directed by Scott Hansen and was shot in the band's hometown.

"Love As A Weapon" comes off the band's latest album The Human Romance, which was released in February earlier this year.


Band profile: Darkest Hour
Posted: 14.08.2011 by Abattoir | Comments (0)

Winter In Eden - Sign Deal With Lycan Records

8th August 2011 - Winter In Eden agree to deal with Lycan Records

It is with great pleasure that Winter In Eden can announce they have agreed a record deal with Independent UK-based label, Lycan Records.


Posted: 14.08.2011 by dismaleuphony | Comments (4)

Vomitory - European Tour With Prostitute Disfigurement, Solace Of Requiem

Swedish death metallers Vomitory will embark on a European tour, dubbed No End To Suffering: European Tour 2011, which takes off by the end of October to mid-November. Tour dates can be seen below.

Support on the trek is set to come from Dutch brutal death metallers Prostitute Disfigurement and US technical black/death metallers Solace Of Requiem.


Band profile: Vomitory
Event: Vomitory: No End To Suffering Tour 2011
Posted: 13.08.2011 by Panzerchrist | Comments (1)

Dream Theater - Yet Another Song Snippet Online

After previewing "On The Backs Of Angels" and a snippet of "Bridges In The Sky" (previously reported over here), Roadrunner Germany and Dream Theater have released yet another 60 second preview from their newest album A Dramatic Turn Of Events. This time, they will be previewing the song "Breaking All Illusions", which can be heard bellow.


Band profile: Dream Theater
Posted: 13.08.2011 by Project Endgame | Comments (14)

Warrant - Former Warrant Singer Jani Lane Dead At 47

According to, former Warrant singer Jani Lane was found dead on Thursday, August 11th at a Los Angeles-area hotel. He was 47 years old.

Lane was pronounced dead by Fire Department personnel who responded to a call shortly before 5:30 p.m. in the Comfort Inn in the 20100 block of Ventura Boulevard in Woodland Hills, California, the Los Angeles Police Department said.

The cause of death was unknown, and the case was turned over to the Los Angeles county coroner's office, LAPD officer Sara Faden told the Los Angeles Times.

Lane was married three times and is survived by a wife and four children.

On July 23rd, Lane took part in a taping of an upcoming episode of the "That Metal Show" alongside Michael Sweet (Stryper) and Taime Downe (Faster Pussycat). The program featuring Lane is scheduled to air on October 1st on VH1 Classic.


Band profile: Warrant
Posted: 13.08.2011 by LonesomeRider | Comments (16)

Jeff Loomis - Returns To The Studio

Jeff Loomis returns to the studio at the end of this month to begin recording his eagerly awaited sophomore solo album. With key players contributing to the release, there is no doubt fans will be pleased. Aaron Smith (7 Horns 7 Eyes) will be producing the album.


Band profile: Jeff Loomis
Posted: 12.08.2011 by Panzerchrist | Comments (14)

Threat Signal - New Album Details

Canadian based modern heavy metal outfit Threat Signal has revealed the details for their upcoming self-titled album and follow up to their 2009 release, Vigilance. The bands third over all release will be available in physical and digital formats on October 7 (Europe) and October 11, 2011 (North America).


Band profile: Threat Signal
Posted: 12.08.2011 by Panzerchrist | Comments (4)

Xerath - New Video Online

"Reform Part III", the brand-new video from UK progressive groove metallers Xerath can now be seen over at Metal Hammer.

"Reform Part III" comes off the band's latest album II, which was released on April 25th through Candlelight Records.


Posted: 12.08.2011 by Panzerchrist | Comments (0)

Chimaira - New Video Online

"Year Of The Snake", the brand new video from US metallers Chimaira can now be watched below.

The video was directed by Todd Bell.

"Year Of The Snake" comes off the band's new upcoming album The Age Of Hell, which is scheduled for release on August 16th in North America via eOne Music, on August 26th in Germany and in the United Kingdom, Australia and the rest of Europe on August 29th through Long Branch Records.


Band profile: Chimaira
Posted: 12.08.2011 by Abattoir | Comments (0)

Anthrax - Another New Track Available For Streaming

US Thrash legends Anthrax have released another track of their upcoming, eagerly awaited new album Worship Music for streaming.

"The Devil You Know", in regard to the sound described as a mixture of the band's classic "Caught In A Mosh" and an AC/DC song à la "Whole Lotta Rosie" by guitarist Rob Caggiano, can be enjoyed at this location.


Band profile: Anthrax
Posted: 12.08.2011 by Angelic Storm | Comments (13)

Pure Reason Revolution - Disbanding After Final Shows In November

UK's prog band Pure Reason Revolution have announced that they are calling it quits after the final 6 shows in UK in November. The previously announced mainland performances in Ukraine at Moonloop Festival on August 14th, and two shows in Holland on November 11th and 12th have been cancelled. At the final UK shows the band will, however, also perform their highly acclaimed debut album The Dark Third in its entirety. Read more for the band statement and tour dates.


Posted: 12.08.2011 by Ivor | Comments (9)

Katatonia - Pull Out Of Unirock Open Air

Swedish dark metallers Katatonia have cancelled their appearance at Unirock Open Air Festival, set to take place from 9th to 11th of September 2011 in Istanbul, Turkey. The band's statement reads as follows:

"It is with great regret that Katatonia are forced to cancel their September 9th appearance at the Unirock Festival in Istanbul, Turkey. Due to a conflict with the festival's promoter who were not able to fulfil their contractual obligations, our agent and management decided to pull out as we can't afford to risk financial loss.
We hereby apologize to any fans who were expecting us to appear and we'll do our absolute best to schedule a new tour date for Turkey in the near future."

A statement from the festival organizers is yet to come and will be posted here as soon as possible.


Band profile: Katatonia
Event: Unirock Open Air Festival
Posted: 12.08.2011 by Promonex | Comments (9)

Converge - Re-Sign With Epitaph Records

Official press release

Converge has signed another worldwide deal with Epitaph Records, with whom they originally signed in late 2003 and have since released three albums. According to the band, they're staying with Epitaph "because they are good people." Deathwish Inc., the label co-owned by Converge frontman Jacob Bannon, will continue to handle the band's vinyl releases.


Band profile: Converge
Posted: 11.08.2011 by Abattoir | Comments (6)

Almah - New Album Tracklist Revealed

Brazilian metallers Almah will release their new album Motion via AFM Records this fall (the date will be announced soon). The new material was recorded at Norcal Studios (São Paulo, Brazil) in May-June 2011 and mixed and mastered at Split Second Sound Studios (Amsterdam, Netherlands) by Jochem Jacobs (Textures) in July. The album is produced by Edu Falaschi and Felipe Andreoli.


Band profile: Almah
Posted: 11.08.2011 by Abattoir | Comments (9)