Rating:
9.0
Dwellers Of The Twilight - Sycophant
11 November 2011


01. Skeptics
02. Dark Matter Lungs
03. Explorers
04. Endless Cycle
05. Fastwalkers
06. Sycophant
07. Self Conspiracy
08. Unearthing History
09. Terraformer
10. Serpents In The Sky


Dwellers Of The Twilight is a two-piece black metal band from France - unsigned and searching for the right label. Sycophant is their second full-length release, following up 2009's Grey. And the differences are more than noticeable.

Initially it seemed as though the Dwellers (by the names of Human 1 and 2) sought out to join the hordes of raw lo-fi black metal projects, but Sycophant saw them take a turn in the right direction. The direction that makes reviewers like me draw comparisons to the likes of countrymates Deathspell Omega and Antaeus, for willing to experiment within the confines of what some think of as a tired genre.

The sound isn't entirely their own, but it's not exactly a carbon copy either. There seems to be a strong focus on the psychedelic effects the guitars create, distorting their way into a mythical, occult madness - sometimes even reminiscent of contemporary Akercocke. It's not the hoity-toity type of atmospheric black metal that a lot of Alcest rip-offs are vying to emulate, it's the kind of album you absorb while simultaneously taking in the mosaic that is W. Somerset Maugham's Of Human Bondage over tea and crumpets crepes (it's okay to think A Forest Of Stars here, so long as they have curly mustaches).

So you've got the psychedelia, the occultism, the all-around raw maniacal machine of a parasite that is the Dwellers Of The Twilight, but what of the spaced out intellectualism marred only by a true cynic's disbelief. That's a fancy way of me telling you that this isn't a straight-up balls to the wall anti-humanistic tongue-lashing for the weak, but a mesmerizing mix of spite and aggression with orchestrated insanity that borders on conspiratorial skepticism to go along with a time-changing propensity most progressive metal bands would be proud of.

This is both black metal for gentlemen as much as it is black metal for nihilists. See for yourself which group you belong to: http://dwellersofthetwilight.bandcamp.com/.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 10


 



Written on 15.12.2011 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 43  
Users visited: 402  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 15.12.2011 at 12:57  
Troy and a nine rating. Now that's something you don't see very often.
DerRozzengarten - 15.12.2011 at 13:24  
For gentlemen and nihilists, aight? I'll approach it!
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.12.2011 at 15:25  
French?! Black Metal?! The?! And?!

[EDIT]

S'on Spotify. Sexual guitar tone and sound. There's definitely an N.K.V.D./The Amenta etc. industrial tinge to this. Maybe even more than a tinge actually.

[EDIT]

I see they use a drum machine so definitely industrial oriented.
Ag Fox - 15.12.2011 at 15:46  
Sweet review. Gonna check them out soon
Mikyz - 15.12.2011 at 16:28  
I listened to this last week, I wouldn't rank them as high as DsO... but it's interesting black Metal, some kind of Raw Post-Black sound.... has more in common with the latest Dso then their other Kenose-like releases, add to that some slight industrial aspects. I'd like to see how it sounds with real drums.
Edmund Fogg - 15.12.2011 at 17:31  
That's a fancy way of me telling you that this isn't a straight-up balls to the wall anti-humanistic tongue-lashing for the weak, but a mesmerizing mix of spite and aggression with orchestrated insanity that borders on conspiratorial skepticism to go along with a time-changing propensity most progressive metal bands would be proud of.
-----------------------------

That is one hell of a long sentence. Got lost for a bit haha. Nice review will try them out
metaleaterr - 15.12.2011 at 17:59  
Killer review!! Like the "distorting their way into a mythical, occult madness" expression. Can't wait to hear this! I like mythical occult shit!!
PocketMetal - 15.12.2011 at 18:22  
Never got why you praised "woods of desolation" and "defheaven" so much , I've come to the conclusion our tastes are very different .
I hope this one turns out to be real good .
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.12.2011 at 18:43  
Written by PocketMetal on 15.12.2011 at 18:22

Never got why you praised "woods of desolation" and "defheaven" so much , I've come to the conclusion our tastes are very different .
I hope this one turns out to be real good .

Well I liked it and Troy's and my tastes are like Yin and Yang.
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 18:57  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.12.2011 at 15:25
French?! Black Metal?! The?! And?!

For serious, as soon as the first track started playing, I was like... Joe, Rozz, the little Doc, Mikyz (even though he said he didn't like it as much), Clint W., etcetcetc would all dig this.
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 19:20  
Written by Edmund Fogg on 15.12.2011 at 17:31
Got lost for a bit haha.

I got lost listening to the album. I was hoping to write a bit of a crazy review to reflect that crazy vibe.
K†ulu - 15.12.2011 at 19:26  
Interesting...
Mr. Doctor - 15.12.2011 at 20:38  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 18:57

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.12.2011 at 15:25
French?! Black Metal?! The?! And?!

For serious, as soon as the first track started playing, I was like... Joe, Rozz, the little Doc, Mikyz (even though he said he didn't like it as much), Clint W., etcetcetc would all dig this.


You had me at "This is both black metal for gentlemen as much as it is black metal for nihilists." Seriously... Both kinds of black metal are for me so this is like... for me squared! Checking it out asap.
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 20:39  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.12.2011 at 20:38
You had me at "This is both black metal for gentlemen as much as it is black metal for nihilists." Seriously... Both kinds of black metal are for me so this is like... for me squared! Checking it out asap.

You sir, are anything but a gentleman.
Mr. Doctor - 15.12.2011 at 20:41  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 20:39
You sir, are anything but a gentleman.


I would disagree, old bean!
/tophat

Also... Am I the only one that for some reason thought the album was some kind of tech death just because of the artwork?
Ag Fox - 15.12.2011 at 20:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.12.2011 at 18:57

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.12.2011 at 15:25
French?! Black Metal?! The?! And?!

For serious, as soon as the first track started playing, I was like... Joe, Rozz, the little Doc, Mikyz (even though he said he didn't like it as much), Clint W., etcetcetc would all dig this.
very affectionate
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 20:46  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.12.2011 at 20:41
Am I the only one that for some reason thought the album was some kind of tech death just because of the artwork?

If I hadn't known ahead of time that I was reviewing a black metal album, I would have definitely pegged this as a tech-death release based on the cover. It has a very Decapitated/Beneath the Massacre look to it.

Not that I think Beneath the Massacre are in any way good. But still. Cover art.
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 20:47  
Written by Ag Fox on 15.12.2011 at 20:42
very affectionate

It's the only way I can refer to him in a nickname kind of manner without confusing people with Godin (aka the true Doc).
Ag Fox - 15.12.2011 at 20:53  
I know, but I just found it quite endearing =P

Pretty good album btw. Won't rate it as high as you, still on my first listen but it sounds really enjoyable atm
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 20:55  
Written by Ag Fox on 15.12.2011 at 20:53
Won't rate it as high as you, still on my first listen but it sounds really enjoyable atm

I have a feeling many won't agree with the rating, but I know for a fact a lot of people who like black metal will at least think this is good. I'd be surprised if any of the users I chat with even semi-regularly give this anything less than a 7.
hadriel - 15.12.2011 at 23:05  
Awesome review, got me interested enough to check out some samples and it sounds pretty sick. Gonna give it a full go when I get some time this weekend, thanks! I generally like albums that aren't over-produced, but it sounded a little bit too raw to top some of my other favorites from this year. I get that it's what they were going for, and from what I heard it's a good match for the rest of its qualities, but I still prefer the 'crispness' of other releases like WoD and Deafheaven this year... mind you, that's just the vibe I got off the samples and I may become more accustomed to it after a full listen.
Troy Killjoy - 15.12.2011 at 23:19  
Written by hadriel on 15.12.2011 at 23:05
Gonna give it a full go when I get some time this weekend, thanks!

Glad to hear it piqued your interest. Lemme know what you think of it when you're done listening in full.
Frodd - 16.12.2011 at 02:01  
Holy fuck. you gave an album a 9. will check out.
Troy Killjoy - 16.12.2011 at 02:02  
Written by Frodd on 16.12.2011 at 02:01
Holy fuck. you gave an album a 9. will check out.

It's really not as rare an occasion as people make it out to be!
The Turbanator - 16.12.2011 at 09:33  
Apparently they are signed to "Eichenwald". Also, is this 2011 album? M/A says it's 2009.

I have their "Grey" album, it's very good.
Merchant of Doom - 16.12.2011 at 13:39  
A bit "samey", isn't it?
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.12.2011 at 14:02  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 16.12.2011 at 13:39

A bit "samey", isn't it?

Coming from a funeral doom fan ;] You should be used to "samey"
Merchant of Doom - 16.12.2011 at 14:48  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.12.2011 at 14:02

Written by Merchant of Doom on 16.12.2011 at 13:39

A bit "samey", isn't it?

Coming from a funeral doom fan ;] You should be used to "samey"


ah, ah, lol...
Slayer666 - 16.12.2011 at 18:52  
Cool beans this album. Not sure about "brilliant", though, but a very satisfying listen. Its shine fades a bit when placed against all the other releases this year, though.
Mr. Doctor - 16.12.2011 at 19:01  
Written by Slayer666 on 16.12.2011 at 18:52

Cool beans this album. Not sure about "brilliant", though, but a very satisfying listen. Its shine fades a bit when placed against all the other releases this year, though.


It has been quite the year for Black metal indeed.... God how much we have been spoiled.
Slayer666 - 16.12.2011 at 19:03  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.12.2011 at 19:01

It has been quite the year for Black metal indeed.... God how much we have been spoiled.


If 2012 is as good (or better) for BM, the world can end by December and I'll die a happy man.
Mr. Doctor - 16.12.2011 at 19:06  
Written by Slayer666 on 16.12.2011 at 19:03

Written by Mr. Doctor on 16.12.2011 at 19:01

It has been quite the year for Black metal indeed.... God how much we have been spoiled.


If 2012 is as good (or better) for BM, the world can end by December and I'll die a happy man.


I honestly can't keep up too much anymore. It's like a friggin factory:
"Here comes a very good album... Listens to it... enjoy it a lot... here's ANOTHER very good album...etc."
The enjoyment doesn't last that long and it's just not as enjoyable when you feel like you have to take the time to really listen to the stuff.... If I take my time to enjoy each album from 2011 that I found good... I'll be done by 2013 It's almost too good it's annoying.
Carl Berg - 16.12.2011 at 19:36  
Quote:
This is both black metal for gentlemen as much as it is black metal for nihilists.


Now THAT is worth checking out.
Troy Killjoy - 16.12.2011 at 20:24  
Written by The Turbanator on 16.12.2011 at 09:33
Apparently they are signed to "Eichenwald". Also, is this 2011 album? M/A says it's 2009.

I have their "Grey" album, it's very good.

Nothing MA says about them is accurate. I think I would know since the band contacted me themselves.

It was finished recording in '09 and they had it ready to release, but didn't officially release it until November.
Verdun_sc - 17.12.2011 at 03:15  
May check this out more extensively than just the track I heard on youtube... Way too processed sounding for me though, I think.
Troy Killjoy - 17.12.2011 at 07:55  
Written by Verdun_sc on 17.12.2011 at 03:15
Way too processed sounding for me though, I think.

If this is too processed you must really have an affinity for lo-fi stuff. The debut will probably impress you more in that case.
Verdun_sc - 17.12.2011 at 20:08  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.12.2011 at 07:55
If this is too processed you must really have an affinity for lo-fi stuff. The debut will probably impress you more in that case.

Well, mostly what gets me is the overbearing and obviously programmed drums. I've never liked those kind of drums, either in sound or in style, whatever you want to call them. The rest of the tone/whatever else is whatever, to me. I could live with it, if not for the drums.
Evil Chip - 17.12.2011 at 20:16  
This one and Rudra, Wolves in the Throne Room and Infestus are the best of the year for me.
!J.O.O.E.! - 17.12.2011 at 20:50  
Written by Verdun_sc on 17.12.2011 at 20:08

Well, mostly what gets me is the overbearing and obviously programmed drums. I've never liked those kind of drums, either in sound or in style, whatever you want to call them. The rest of the tone/whatever else is whatever, to me. I could live with it, if not for the drums.

You should check out the The Axis of Perdition's first album if you hate programmed drums so much ;]
Grody2themax - 18.12.2011 at 10:20  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 17.12.2011 at 20:50

Written by Verdun_sc on 17.12.2011 at 20:08

Well, mostly what gets me is the overbearing and obviously programmed drums. I've never liked those kind of drums, either in sound or in style, whatever you want to call them. The rest of the tone/whatever else is whatever, to me. I could live with it, if not for the drums.

You should check out the The Axis of Perdition's first album if you hate programmed drums so much ;]


I hate it when people irrationally hate on programmed drums. I think anyone would prefer real drums, but it doesn't make that much of a difference except for it maybe being too perfect. You'd probably never even notice the drums being programmed unless it was pointed out to you or they were done poorly.
Mr. Doctor - 18.12.2011 at 17:18  
Written by Grody2themax on 18.12.2011 at 10:20
I hate it when people irrationally hate on programmed drums. I think anyone would prefer real drums, but it doesn't make that much of a difference except for it maybe being too perfect. You'd probably never even notice the drums being programmed unless it was pointed out to you or they were done poorly.


Not to mention that sometimes they sound far better than normal ones considering the fact that some styles like industrial sound better and more natural that way.
InnerSelf - 20.12.2011 at 00:03  
Sounds like something I'd enjoy, nice review
Slinky666 - 22.12.2011 at 06:26  
I like this music. Good album.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Grey Heaven Fall / Twilight Is Mine - The Original Seed Of Decadence / Age Of Aquarius [Split] 7.5 15.12.2013 by
Reviews Reverence - The Asthenic Ascension 6 08.04.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Soreption - Engineering The Void 6 26.01.2014 by qlacs
Reviews Before The Dawn - Deathstar Rising 6 07.11.2011 by
Reviews Sargeist - Feeding The Crawling Shadows 6 14.04.2014 by Cynic Metalhead



Hits total: 8397 | This month: 23