Rating:
6.9
Cadaveria - Horror Metal
31 January 2012


01. Flowers In Fire
02. The Night's Theatre
03. Death Vision
04. Whispers Of Sin
05. Assassin
06. The Days Of The After And Behind
07. Apocalypse
08. The Oracle (Of The Fog)
09. Requiem
10. This Is Not The Silence
11. Hypnotic Psychosis


Good lord, take a look at that cover art, would you? What a hideous picture to put as your cover. Ramping up for a negative review based on the cover art just didn't work out, these guys defied my expectations with something that isn't all that embarrassing, if not somewhat enjoyable between the excruciatingly boring moments.

When looking at some of the feedback for previous albums from Cadaveria, it's hard to believe I'm listening to the same band. I keep trying to find the "avantgarde" here, but it's nowhere to be found. It's not that this album is boring because it failed to fit into an expected sound of some kind, it's a boring album because it's horribly recycled. Horror Metal is nothing new, just a simple form of black metal somewhere along the lines of Dark Fortress. In other words, easily digestible riffing - by black metal standards - with a pretty strong emphasis on head-bobbing rhythms. Top everything off with some raspy-to-clean dual vocals, and what you've got is nothing new, nothing offensive, nothing memorable.

It's really difficult to get excited about Horror Metal in one direction or another. On one hand, it's got its infectious rhythm section, topped with a few decent Dark Fortress or Belphegor inspired riffs here and there. On the other, there's really no punch to it. It's not melodic in a catchy, memorable sense, and it's not ferocious in an eye-popping manner. It's a flat album that just sits happily in its room-temperature bath tub.

Bored of reading this yet? Good, then you've come to understand the feelings this album evokes. Had Cadaveria taken a leap and created a musical failure as embarrassing as the cover photo, I might have some kind of obnoxious rant for you. Sorry to disappoint.


Band profile: Cadaveria
Album: Horror Metal


 



Written on 10.01.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 250  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 10.01.2012 at 09:11  
So it's like a black metal Vampires Everywhere!
M C Vice - 10.01.2012 at 09:41  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.01.2012 at 09:11

So it's like a black metal Vampires Everywhere!

Their a real band? I thought they were one of you guys' April Fools jokes.
Troy Killjoy - 10.01.2012 at 09:50  
Written by M C Vice on 10.01.2012 at 09:41
Their a real band? I thought they were one of you guys' April Fools jokes.

Unfortunately, they exist. http://metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=9152
Check the date. It's not April 1st.
M C Vice - 10.01.2012 at 09:56  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.01.2012 at 09:50

Written by M C Vice on 10.01.2012 at 09:41
Their a real band? I thought they were one of you guys' April Fools jokes.

Unfortunately, they exist. http://metalstorm.net/pub/review.php?review_id=9152
Check the date. It's not April 1st.

I remember that review. I notice that the 2 people who have a copy of it didn't give it a rating.
Yet they won't let Limp Bizkit in...
Fat & Sassy! - 10.01.2012 at 19:35  
"I keep trying to find the "avantgarde" here, but it's nowhere to be found."

This is what I asked myself when I listened to their previous album. In fact, you could apply this review to that album too. No bueno... :[ So boring.
Paradox0 - 10.06.2012 at 09:01  
I seriously have no idea why they are considered avantegarde neither, and I actually really liked In Your Blood at one point. I suppose her vocal performance is pretty varied, especially for a female who "specializes" in extreme styled vox, but that barely justifies the label for the band as a whole. Although In Your Blood is kind of difficult to pigeon whole into a specific genre, I'd describe it as Alternative Gothicized Heavy Metal, which I suppose some people might have themselves believe that labeling a band by three genres is avantegarde (then again there are some people who consider Opeth classical music so its not the strangest label)

On the other hand, Horror Metal is a disappointing mess of all of their styles throughout their discography combined very badly. Its like they tried to take the intense repetitiveness of "the Shadow's Madam" and combined it with the stripped down sound of "In Your Blood". Lady Cadaveria's vocal performance also leans back more on the extreme side, but on occasion slips into alternative styles of singing, perhaps some of the few moments glimmers of enjoyment of the album, but sadly just feels too structured to truly be enjoyed as her performance on In Your Blood. Meanwhile, although the album does genuinely have good riffs, they begin out decent but with so little variation throughout the songs, they blur into a forgettable fog never to be paid attention to again.

However, despite all of this, the album somehow avoids being considered horrid due to the glimmers of hopeful moments throughout the whole album. Although sadly they never go anywhere, its almost as if the albums overall mediocrity saves it from myself as being remembered as a really bad album, just a disappointment, even if it was assumed.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Avenger (CZ) - Bohemian Dark Metal 6 08.04.2012 by D.a.n
Reviews R.U.S.T. - Forged In The Fire Of Metal 6 09.09.2011 by Cynic Metalhead
Reviews Revolting - Hymns Of Ghastly Horror 6 18.08.2012 by UnknownCheese
Reviews Various Artists - We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year 6 09.11.2010 by RAZAWOLF
Reviews 3 Inches Of Blood - Long Live Heavy Metal 6 23.03.2012 by Rulatore



Hits total: 4267 | This month: 84