Hail Spirit Noir - Pneuma review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.3

173 users:
8.27
Band: Hail Spirit Noir
Album: Pneuma
Release date: February 2012


01. Mountain Of Horror
02. Let Your Devil Come Inside
03. Against The Curse, We Dream
04. When All Is Black
05. Into The Gates Of Time
06. Haire Pneuma Skoteino


It has been philosophized that at every moment the universe destroys itself, then recreates itself just as quickly. If this were true, the only appropriate emotion for any human to have is a state of constant, yet pleasant surprise. Now, this theory does sound like a pile of absurd bullshit to me, but it seems like it can be appropriately applied to this bizarre form of black metal that Hail Spirit Noir put forth.

Where to begin...Yeah, Pneuma is definitely evil sounding, but Christ almighty, is it ever a blast to listen to! Take some post- type riffs found in Nachtmystium's latest album Addicts, now make them catchier, with a bit more bounce, have those riffs drift in and out of some rockabilly-esque guitar work that sounds like it belongs in some cheap 1950's horror movie. Liking it? It gets better; throw some organ behind it a la Acid Witch, then give it some gritty recent Darkthrone type vocals, and you've got the general idea...Until the later half of the album kicks in, then you're looking at something closer to Opeth during their 70's prog rock worship moments.

Spooky! Yes! That's the word I'm looking for! You know those dilapidated haunted house rides you go to at the carnival? The ones where the springs don't seem to work on any of the pop-out skeletons, a bit of the wall panelling has come down, a few bare electrical circuits showing, and there's a couple of toothless carnies, stoned out of their tree, fucking in the corner? You know how these little imperfections give the ride a much more sinister aura than it would if it saw proper upkeep? That's basically the feeling you get from Hail Spirit Noir

Like spooky, fun shit? Well, you know what to do - hop to it, asshole!


 



Written on 26.02.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 461 users
26.02.2012 - 14:51
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Sold
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
26.02.2012 - 17:37
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
... SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!


From what I've heard from the myspace, this is great stuff!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
26.02.2012 - 17:50
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.02.2012 at 17:37

... SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!


From what I've heard from the myspace, this is great stuff!

^this.
----
Sometimes Pro Motocross racer, check my instagram @tanner741
Loading...
26.02.2012 - 18:48
Unhealer
Eclecticist
I'm checking the myspace also.
God, this sounds lovely.

EDIT: I mean it, this is great.
Loading...
26.02.2012 - 20:37
Paz
News Man
I love this shit!
----
Follow me on Instagram:

Loading...
26.02.2012 - 23:10
Czerny Reiter
*wags tail*

You're pushing all my buttons, Doc.

Checking this out asap.
Loading...
26.02.2012 - 23:55
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
I just listened to "Against the Curse, We Dream" on YouTube, and I'm pretty sure this is Sonic Youth reinventing themselves with a horror metal theme. xD I will certainly be checking this album out. It sounds great!
----
You do you, brozzio.
Loading...
27.02.2012 - 13:36
Draugen
This is some crazy stuff. I like it.
Loading...
27.02.2012 - 21:51
gobbonero
Love tis shit too
Loading...
29.02.2012 - 20:13
.Nick
I've been listening to some songs on YouTube, sounded pretty cool.
Loading...
14.03.2012 - 14:55
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Definitely, champion record!
Loading...
05.04.2012 - 17:44
Urs Blank
And to think that I didn't take the time to listen to this until today
Now on my fourth listen in a row and I'd dare say that it's my favourite 2012 release so far!
Loading...
08.04.2012 - 06:23
strade
You steered us right, Doc. Seriously, how did I just get around to listening to this one? Incredible album.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
17.04.2012 - 02:37
calabazo2
Awesome and fresh!!! Mountain of Horror --> Classic
Loading...
21.08.2012 - 07:36
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Great album, the bass and the keys are what really sell it for me. Excellent review as usual Doc!
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
12.09.2012 - 11:51
Hallford9000
Listening session finished. Gonna buy the original. Where do you guys dig up debut albums like this?
Loading...
12.09.2012 - 18:14
Doc Godin
Full Grown Hoser
Written by Hallford9000 on 12.09.2012 at 11:51

Listening session finished. Gonna buy the original. Where do you guys dig up debut albums like this?

They get sent to us by bands & PR labels. Usually they blow, every once in a while though, you get something awesome like this.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
20.11.2012 - 03:25
Anoplogaster
This is an amazing work!
Loading...

Hits total: 7788 | This month: 9