Rating:
9.3
Hail Spirit Noir - Pneuma
27 February 2012


01. Mountain Of Horror
02. Let Your Devil Come Inside
03. Against The Curse, We Dream
04. When All Is Black
05. Into The Gates Of Time
06. Haire Pneuma Skoteino


It has been philosophized that at every moment the universe destroys itself, then recreates itself just as quickly. If this were true, the only appropriate emotion for any human to have is a state of constant, yet pleasant surprise. Now, this theory does sound like a pile of absurd bullshit to me, but it seems like it can be appropriately applied to this bizarre form of black metal that Hail Spirit Noir put forth.

Where to begin...Yeah, Pneuma is definitely evil sounding, but Christ almighty, is it ever a blast to listen to! Take some post- type riffs found in Nachtmystium's latest album Addicts, now make them catchier, with a bit more bounce, have those riffs drift in and out of some rockabilly-esque guitar work that sounds like it belongs in some cheap 1950's horror movie. Liking it? It gets better; throw some organ behind it a la Acid Witch, then give it some gritty recent Darkthrone type vocals, and you've got the general idea...Until the later half of the album kicks in, then you're looking at something closer to Opeth during their 70's prog rock worship moments.

Spooky! Yes! That's the word I'm looking for! You know those dilapidated haunted house rides you go to at the carnival? The ones where the springs don't seem to work on any of the pop-out skeletons, a bit of the wall panelling has come down, a few bare electrical circuits showing, and there's a couple of toothless carnies, stoned out of their tree, fucking in the corner? You know how these little imperfections give the ride a much more sinister aura than it would if it saw proper upkeep? That's basically the feeling you get from Hail Spirit Noir

Like spooky, fun shit? Well, you know what to do - hop to it, asshole!


Band profile: Hail Spirit Noir
Album: Pneuma


 



Written on 26.02.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 442  
Search this topic:  


Ag Fox - 26.02.2012 at 14:51  
Sold
Mr. Doctor - 26.02.2012 at 17:37  
... SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!


From what I've heard from the myspace, this is great stuff!
Boxcar Willy - 26.02.2012 at 17:50  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.02.2012 at 17:37

... SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY!


From what I've heard from the myspace, this is great stuff!

^this.
Unhealer - 26.02.2012 at 18:48  
I'm checking the myspace also.
God, this sounds lovely.

EDIT: I mean it, this is great.
Pazdzioch - 26.02.2012 at 20:37  
I love this shit!
Czerny Reiter - 26.02.2012 at 23:10  
*wags tail*

You're pushing all my buttons, Doc.

Checking this out asap.
Fat & Sassy! - 26.02.2012 at 23:55  
I just listened to "Against the Curse, We Dream" on YouTube, and I'm pretty sure this is Sonic Youth reinventing themselves with a horror metal theme. xD I will certainly be checking this album out. It sounds great!
Draugen - 27.02.2012 at 13:36  
This is some crazy stuff. I like it.
gobbonero - 27.02.2012 at 21:51  
Love tis shit too
.Nick - 29.02.2012 at 20:13  
I've been listening to some songs on YouTube, sounded pretty cool.
Unhealer - 14.03.2012 at 14:55  
Definitely, champion record!
Urs Blank - 05.04.2012 at 17:44  
And to think that I didn't take the time to listen to this until today
Now on my fourth listen in a row and I'd dare say that it's my favourite 2012 release so far!
strade - 08.04.2012 at 06:23  
You steered us right, Doc. Seriously, how did I just get around to listening to this one? Incredible album.
calabazo2 - 17.04.2012 at 02:37  
Awesome and fresh!!! Mountain of Horror --> Classic
Apothecary - 21.08.2012 at 07:36  
Great album, the bass and the keys are what really sell it for me. Excellent review as usual Doc!
Hallford9000 - 12.09.2012 at 11:51  
Listening session finished. Gonna buy the original. Where do you guys dig up debut albums like this?
Doc Godin - 12.09.2012 at 18:14  
Written by Hallford9000 on 12.09.2012 at 11:51

Listening session finished. Gonna buy the original. Where do you guys dig up debut albums like this?

They get sent to us by bands & PR labels. Usually they blow, every once in a while though, you get something awesome like this.
Anoplogaster - 20.11.2012 at 03:25  
This is an amazing work!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Hail Spirit Noir - Pneuma 7.5 17.03.2012 by piratebay
Reviews Hail Spirit Noir - Oi Magoi 7 07.01.2014 by PocketMetal
Reviews Hail! Hornet - Disperse The Curse 6 09.08.2011 by Xnoybis
News Hail Spirit Noir - Debut New Video 6 07.02.2014 by Unhealer
News Hail Spirit Noir - Releasing Second Album Next January 6 25.11.2013 by mz



Hits total: 6704 | This month: 73