77 - High Decibels review



Reviewer:
3.9

7 users:
7.43
Band: 77
Album: High Decibels
Release date: February 2012


01. High Decibels
02. (Gotta Go) Gotta Hit The Road
03. Are You Ready For Rock 'n' Roll
04. Let's Beat It Up
05. Backdoor Man
06. Gimme A Dollar
07. This Girl Is On Fire
08. Meltin' In A Spoon
09. Since You've Been Gone
10. Promised Land
11. Things You Can't Talk About


Fuck. Fuck. Fuck. I already own AC/DC albums. Knock this shit off, for the love of Christ. No one gives a shit anymore. Airbourne is bad enough. This is worse.

Say what?! Worse than Airbourne?! Yes, such a feat is in fact achievable, it seems. 77 are, in fact, possibly the worst AC/DC wannabes I've come across, and I've heard my fair share of AC/DC rip-offs. Everyone from Jackyl to ex-Tokyo Blade frontman Vicki James Wright and his abysmal excuse for a band Johnny Crash took a stab at it. Then Airbourne came along and put them all to shame. Then there was 77, and their equally creatively titled High Decibels. It's essentially AC/DC's High Voltage. At least those other cheap knock-offs had the decency to rearrange the stolen riffs a little bit.

Let's not forget the vocals. Bon Scott had swagger. This guy just sounds lazy. Not just in the Bon Scott wannabe vocal delivery either, but the lyrics as well. You know when you're doing your laundry, or some other mundane task, and you have some random AC/DC riff stuck in your head? So you start humming it, but fail to realize what you're humming is 4 different AC/DC songs amalgamated into one, so you can't seem to find the right lyrics to fit in there? What do you do? Well, you just throw in some random, typical lyrics. "You wanna rock real hard/c'mon and show me your stuff/are you ready for rock n roll?" that would fit, wouldn't it? Well, here's something baffling; those are actual lyrics. No, I'm not fucking shitting you, someone actually thought those wouldn't sound like shit.

Don't. Fucking. Bother.


 



Written on 26.02.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 189 users
27.02.2012 - 02:08
Rulatore
I like Airbourne, dont see what's wrong with them
Loading...
27.02.2012 - 02:15
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
U MAD BRO?



Just kidding, this sounds like shit.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
27.02.2012 - 02:31
Lit.
Account deleted
KRY SOM MOAR!
Loading...
27.02.2012 - 05:27
AngelofDeth
Cyborg Raptor
Written by Rulatore on 27.02.2012 at 02:08

I like Airbourne, dont see what's wrong with them

I think theyre half-decent. But they are undeniably a ripoff of ACDC which is pretty lame.

like a tribute band gone awry.
----
pewpew.. gotcha
Loading...
27.02.2012 - 09:04
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Written by Rulatore on 27.02.2012 at 02:08

I like Airbourne, dont see what's wrong with them

Yeah. Runnin Wild was better than anything AC DC put out since Bon Scott died.
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"Thinking quickly, Dave constructs a homemade megaphone using only some string, a squirrel and a megaphone."
Sharks 2016 Premier
Loading...
27.02.2012 - 09:18
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by M C Vice on 27.02.2012 at 09:04

Written by Rulatore on 27.02.2012 at 02:08

I like Airbourne, dont see what's wrong with them

Yeah. Runnin Wild was better than anything AC DC put out since Bon Scott died.


I beg to differ on that. Back In Black is still awesome and For Those ABout To Rock is better as well. Okay after that AC/DC ceased to exist for me. Runnin Wild or Black Ice....... EASY Runnin Wild of course
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
27.02.2012 - 12:25
Milena
Learning To "X"
This is a thing now? Yeah, gonna pass on it.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
27.02.2012 - 13:05
Moosh666
THANK GOD. I thought the world got even stupider! Airbourne is fucking stupid rehashed crap of an already piece of shit band, I live in Australia, the home of BOTH. The amount of stupid bogans who shove that shit down my throat are unbelievable, I don't know what is more annoying, those two or any of that Parkway Drive shit.
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 4064 | This month: 14