Rating:
8.3
Funeral Whore - Step Into Damnation
27 February 2012


01. Eternal Genocide
02. Wasteland Of Corpses
03. Obidience
04. Camp Blood
05. El Salvador Death Squad
06. Step Into Damnation
07. The Bitch Died
08. Pierce My Flesh
09. Threesome
10. Failure Of The Sacrifice
11. Buried In Hell


Don't even bother with this one ladies and gentlemen. It's just another old school death metal album. It's not like it's cram packed with some of the crunchiest riffs you could imagine or anything...

Just kidding. It is.

Here's where you're expecting me to go into some in-depth detail about how they take old school Swedish (er...Dutch, I guess) death metal and combine it with a bunch of other crazy crap. Well, I won't. Because there isn't any. Yes, folks, this is just death metal..."Just" death metal doesn't sound right, though. It's not far from the truth, but it just doesn't seem to do an album like this justice. When you're playing straight up death metal, with no twists or odd mixtures, you've got to know what you're doing. It all comes down to the riffs. You can write boring, frantic riffs with nothing but ferocity in mind, thus becoming creating another generic album no one except you and you're bands friends will remember in 2 months time, or you can do what Funeral Whore have done with their debut; write awesome riffs, then build around those awesome riffs. It's not the fastest or most furious death metal you'll hear, but the focus on the infectious rhythms has done nothing but pay off for this band. There's a few of those eerie leads thrown in from time to time, but Step Into Damnation is an album built for rhythm. The appropriately thick ass production is an indication of what this album was built for.

No, Funeral Whore probably aren't the next "big thing" in death metal (if such a title is possible), or a game-changing, groundbreaking, envelope pushing type of act, but rather a band that upholds a level of quality in an increasingly saturated environment. Have a craving for undiluted death metal but can't seem to find anything new amongst the hordes of generic crap out there? Give Funeral Whore a spin.


 



Written on 12.03.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 137  
Search this topic:  


Boxcar Willy - 12.03.2012 at 18:00  
Epic trollz at the beggining.


anyway, I'm not a huge fan of death, but I'm bored, So I'm going to go check this out.
Unhealer - 12.03.2012 at 18:19  
Old-school death metal is something that I enjoy no matter what. Can't remember checking any modern bands recently, I'll give this a try.
RottingDeathHead - 12.03.2012 at 18:38  
100% agree with this review
This band is sick. Been listening to the album ever since I read the review
Troy Killjoy - 13.03.2012 at 00:47  
Hm. Those last few sentences might actually make me check this out at some point.

No promises though.
Marcel Hubregtse - 13.03.2012 at 01:01  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.03.2012 at 00:47

Hm. Those last few sentences might actually make me check this out at some point.

No promises though.



mmm, actually Funeral Whore is as generic as they come. And to be honest, they are among the weaker osdm revivalist bunch. Even Vallenfyre beats them imo
Troy Killjoy - 13.03.2012 at 01:31  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.03.2012 at 01:01
...they are among the weaker osdm revivalist bunch.

I didn't realize they were revivalist. Maybe I'll pass in that case. :/
Marcel Hubregtse - 13.03.2012 at 01:33  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.03.2012 at 01:31

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.03.2012 at 01:01
...they are among the weaker osdm revivalist bunch.

I didn't realize they were revivalist. Maybe I'll pass in that case. :/


well,, when you take old Swedish death metal as a band you're pretty much revivalist.
And I still find it weird you enjoyed Cruciamentum when you claim to dislike all revivalist dm.
Troy Killjoy - 13.03.2012 at 01:40  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.03.2012 at 01:33
well,, when you take old Swedish death metal as a band you're pretty much revivalist.
And I still find it weird you enjoyed Cruciamentum when you claim to dislike all revivalist dm.

When I read that first part I just thought it meant they were inspired by bands like Entombed or something. I didn't realize they were paying homage to the scene.

And I don't claim to dislike all revivalist death metal. I claim to dislike all revivalist thrash, though. Some bands I just find something I like about them, like with Cruciamentum it was all about their atmosphere. With black metal I can usually tell if I'm going to like something within the first minutes of listening. With revivalist death it's anyone's guess what I'm going to think of it.
Koen Smits - 14.03.2012 at 13:50  
I'll check it out.
Btw, nice logo.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Funeral Whore - Step Into Damnation 9 10.05.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Lahmia - Into The Abyss 6 12.05.2012 by -DC-002-
Reviews Rose Funeral - Gates Of Punishment 6 15.10.2011 by Void Eater
Reviews Step In Fluid - One Step Beyond 6 17.03.2012 by K†ulu
Reviews Ominous Crucifix - The Spell Of Damnation 6 18.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 2195 | This month: 27