Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.9
Royal Thunder - CVI
22 May 2012


01. Parsonz Curse
02. Whispering World
03. Shake And Shift
04. No Good
05. Blue
06. Sleeping Witch
07. South Of Somewhere
08. Drown
09. Minus
10. Black Water Vision


Is this abrasive...Or accessible? Jesus Christ, this album is such a great balance of the dirty, grittiness of southern rock influenced stoner metal meets classic prog rock. It's psychedelic, yet unbelievably easy on the ears, and easier on the brain.

It's like a Steve Miller lovin' Savannah, Georgia stoner metal riff fest. Only, take some of that dis-harmonic monolithic post rock guitar work found in Neurosis and throw it into the mix. It's rough edged, a bit spacey and catchy as all hell. Now, everything is just groovin' along perfectly, you're thinking to yourself "Well, shit, I might just have to go ahead and spend my crack rainy-day money on this!"

You might be a little sold, maybe a bit on the fence, then the 15 second mark kicks in, and it's game over, man, game over.

It's this wailing - it completely runs away with the whole album! Mlny Parsonz sings somewhere along the lines of Graveyard's Joakim Nilsson and Wolf's Viper Stalvind. Only, she leaves both of them sounding like that mumbling pencil-moustached guy who works at Radio Shack. The riffs are good, but the vocals are what makes this an album to not miss. These vocals are so good, if I could afford a second pair of underwear, they'd be reserved for the day Royal Thunder comes to town and needs someone to throw panties boxer briefs at the stage.

That's the first half of the album, though. The later half drifts further into the more ambient psychedelic spaciness. It's not bad, in fact, it's still pretty damn solid, it's just that after bouncing along to rolling stoner-classic rock tracks like "No Good" and "Whispering World", trying to tone things down just seems a bit anticlimactic.

A solid listen from top to bottom. Maybe the schizophrenic nature of Part A vs Part B does sully things a bit, but each song taken at face value makes CVI and album to not pass on.


Band profile: Royal Thunder
Album: CVI


 



Written on 17.05.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 319  
Search this topic:  


Nosurper - 17.05.2012 at 14:02  
Available for streaming: http://www.pastemagazine.com/blogs/av/2012/05/album-stream-royal-thunder---cvi.html

Will be purchasing day of release
Nosurper - 17.05.2012 at 14:03  
Good Aliens reference
Unhealer - 18.05.2012 at 21:41  
Their debut was excellent, this one should be as well. Let's see.
theFIST - 18.05.2012 at 21:45  
Boring
Draugen - 18.05.2012 at 23:26  
I have listened to their debut at Bandcamp a couple of times and was positively surprised by how good it was so I will without a doubt get this in a near future.
malaikat - 19.05.2012 at 13:57  
Listened to 2 songs on Youtube, and boy, those were best two songs I've heard in 2012. Trully a Jefferson Airplane v2.0, this band is godly.
JD - 20.05.2012 at 00:36  
This is good.
Spirit Molecule - 21.05.2012 at 23:19  
Definitely a great find by Relapse
strade - 07.06.2012 at 22:04  
Truly a bitching album. This might be new favorite female vocalist in rock/metal. Insanely great stuff.
Spirit Molecule - 08.06.2012 at 11:11  
Written by strade on 07.06.2012 at 22:04

Truly a bitching album. This might be new favorite female vocalist in rock/metal. Insanely great stuff.

Parson's Curse alright
Spirit Molecule - 19.06.2012 at 14:17  
This has become one on my favourites this year. I think I'm in love with miss Parson
BlueMobius - 10.07.2012 at 05:30  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 19.06.2012 at 14:17

This has become one on my favourites this year. I think I'm in love with miss Parson


Yeah, this was a nice surprise. There is just so much I like about this album.
Ozman - 07.10.2012 at 13:36  
Good but nothing special, same applies for the vocals, which could use a lot more power to them
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.11.2012 at 14:04  
Nice review. This is sounding quite excellent, and almost one of those records I let slip by this year.
Susan - 26.11.2012 at 04:04  
Great review, Luke! Spot on. I'm on the side that doesn't find the 2nd half any worse than the first. It slows down a bit but it's a nice journey.

One of my albums of the year. Dear. Lord.
Doc Godin - 26.11.2012 at 04:47  
Written by Ozman on 07.10.2012 at 13:36

same applies for the vocals, which could use a lot more power to them

You sure you're thinking of the right band here?
Ozman - 26.11.2012 at 07:04  
Written by Doc Godin on 26.11.2012 at 04:47

Written by Ozman on 07.10.2012 at 13:36

same applies for the vocals, which could use a lot more power to them

You sure you're thinking of the right band here?




yes I am sure
The Galactican - 19.01.2013 at 07:52  
I dig it bunches. Thanks for the pointer!
Diverge - 08.05.2013 at 07:17  
I can't believe I let this one slip by this year. A great album, accompanied by a good review!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Royal Thunder - CVI: A [EP] 6 27.06.2013 by Pazdzioch
Reviews OSI - Fire Make Thunder 6 03.04.2012 by Introspekrieg
Reviews Hayley's Royal Whores - Discoteque Tranny 6 28.03.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Albums Royal Thunder - CVI 6 28.06.2012 by JD
Reviews Eternal Deformity - The Beauty Of Chaos 5 04.05.2012 by Nosurper



Hits total: 6087 | This month: 39