Rating:
N/A
Ne Obliviscaris - Portal Of I
7 May 2012


01. Tapestry Of The Starless Abstract
02. Xenoflux
03. Of The Leper Butterflies
04. Forget Not
05. And Plague Flowers The Kaleidoscope
06. As Icicles Fall
07. Of Petrichor Weaves Black Noise


Reading other people's opinions is a funny thing. Before I checked it out myself, I was convinced Ne Obliviscaris would sound like a bastard child of meloblack-infused Wintersun and Into Eternity on drugs. And I'm not going to lie to you, there's definitely a bit of that in Portal Of I, but that's only a part of the picture.

What's the complete picture like? The "visible" part of the package should give you a crude idea. Song names that start with prepositions. Lyrics that breathe romanticism, echoing with despair. Winged creatures and fire. Everything hints at the blues of youth, spilled soul-blood, vibrant sonic colors; everything tells you each song will be like pushing against an invisible wall separating you from what you desire most.

The music is always incredibly busy, with two vocalists (Tim Charles, in charge for slightly nasal and very pleasant cleans is also the band's violinist, which wins him bonus points for musical diversity), a guitarist that fires riff after riff at you (and occasionally engages in tasteful soloing) and a drummer with a penchant for black metal beats. The band's usage of violin is often debated - as far as I'm concerned, it's always more than appropriate. It's out of place enough to be quirky and never jarring, it's important enough to be necessary but not overpowering enough for Ne Obliviscaris to be referred to as "that band with a violin". And besides, how often do you get to hear guitar/violin unison solos?

Throughout the first half of the album, the songs get shorter and more focused until the short break in shape of the acoustic guitar and violin-driven ballad "Forget Not", and the ending three songs essentially repeat the "all guns blazing, all the time"-formula of the first three ones. Progressive music should, among other things, be about going places within an album and a single song. The buss driver of Ne Obliviscaris sometimes takes unnecessary detours and piss breaks that last too long. Sometimes, you can't exactly remember the place you came from and can't tell where you will arrive. But the ride is always scenic as hell. That's quite enough for a debut album, so pick it up!


Band profile: Ne Obliviscaris
Album: Portal Of I


 



Written on 24.10.2012 by
Milena
A part of the team since December 2011, writes about the progressive, the sad and the melodic. She's nice until she's not.
More reviews by Milena ››

Guest review by
Dentura

Rating:
8.5
Now I for one am one of the newer fans of this unique progressive metal outfit. I was unaware of the Aurora Veil EP that came out in 2007, was already establishing a fan-base, and was building up significant hype for the release of Portal of I five years later. I have never even heard of Ne Obliviscaris, until right before the album was released, with the surrounding hype growing to a fever-pitch. I was finally able to order a copy from the band's label and after a few spins, I must say, I was quite impressed.

Read more ››
published 30.09.2012 | Comments (6)

Guest review by
Lucerna

Rating:
9.0
I was introduced to this band by a friend of mine whose taste in metal was quite similar to mine; he showed me a video of "As Icicles Fall". This took my attention, and I decided to check these guys out; and I was very pleased with what I heard.

Read more ››
published 04.06.2014 | Comments (2)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 485  
Search this topic:  


Dylan - 24.10.2012 at 13:24  
Album of the year for me, I don't know what it is about it specifically but I can't stop listening to it.
Merchant of Doom - 24.10.2012 at 13:42  
Pretty good stuff... recommended.
M C Vice - 24.10.2012 at 14:00  
"but not overpowering enough for Ne Obliviscaris to be referred to as "that band with a violin". "
That's A Forest Of Stars' title instead.
It's sad that the best music from my country isn't available in the shops. The lates tIdo or X-factor losers, however...
If your more sophisticated/complex than Cold Chisel, and aren't a singer-songwriter (Paul Kelly, Missy Higgins, etc.), most of the big music stores don't care.
Anyway, a real good album. Forget Me is a great building piece.
ToMegaTherion - 24.10.2012 at 14:00  
This is one of the best albums iv come across for a long time. I highly recommend any metal fan give it a try. A very classy album
Kuroboshi - 24.10.2012 at 14:02  
I should like it, but it refuses to stick in my head.
DelightfulJim - 24.10.2012 at 16:08  
Very good review. And an even better album!
R'Vannith - 24.10.2012 at 17:48  
I still have no words to describe this and I find it difficult to get into, some albums just leave you really stumped. It seems exactly like the kind of thing I would enjoy to the fullest (with the folk/progressive aspects) but.. something just puts me off, I have no idea what it is.
Maybe the problem is that it's being too "busy", as you say, for me.
Dentura - 24.10.2012 at 17:54  
Great review, I really liked this album a lot. It's definitely showing up in my personal Top 20 list this year.
Erik M. - 24.10.2012 at 18:32  
Good review, but I would've liked to see a rating.

Anyway, this album blew me away when I first got to hear it. I put it in the list "My Top 20 Albums Of All Time" a few days ago, though I don't know if it'll stay there for long.
Fradd - 24.10.2012 at 18:46  
Excellent review. Awesome job, MIlena
tea[m]ster - 24.10.2012 at 21:19  
Nice review I just don't like this as much as others.
Don_Doom - 24.10.2012 at 22:38  
This album is soooo good, I totally recomend this masterpiece!!
Uldreth - 24.10.2012 at 23:32  
Really good review.

Quote:

What's the complete picture like? The "visible" part of the package should give you a crude idea. Song names that start with prepositions. Lyrics that breathe romanticism, echoing with despair. Winged creatures and fire. Everything hints at the blues of youth, spilled soul-blood, vibrant sonic colors; everything tells you each song will be like pushing against an invisible wall separating you from what you desire most.

Especially this part. I know this album has its flaws, but this feeling I get from listening to it compensates for it. It is just interesting enough for me to absolutely adore it.

I like this far better than anything Wintersun ever released.
Milena - 25.10.2012 at 10:54  
Written by Uldreth on 24.10.2012 at 23:32

I know this album has its flaws, but this feeling I get from listening to it compensates for it.

Yeah, that's how I feel about it... it loses focus and I'm not very attentive by nature but I like it a lot.
ben90 - 25.10.2012 at 12:08  
Breathtaking Record... For me this should get the 1st Position... And Honestly I feel the same about Of Breath And Bone of Be'lakor...
Susan - 26.10.2012 at 03:31  
"Song names that start with prepositions."

Yeah...

Well, Milena, you have made me really curious and excited to hear this! I'm going into the experience aware that it'll be flawed at times but nonetheless beautiful and full of surprises. Just like I like it Thanks for writing about this one!
blackmamba - 26.10.2012 at 05:55  
Wow, this album is really really good. Get it now!
Dylan - 26.10.2012 at 08:30  
Written by M C Vice on 24.10.2012 at 14:00

"but not overpowering enough for Ne Obliviscaris to be referred to as "that band with a violin". "
That's A Forest Of Stars' title instead.
It's sad that the best music from my country isn't available in the shops. The lates tIdo or X-factor losers, however...
If your more sophisticated/complex than Cold Chisel, and aren't a singer-songwriter (Paul Kelly, Missy Higgins, etc.), most of the big music stores don't care.
Anyway, a real good album. Forget Me is a great building piece.

JB Hi-Fi doesn't even stock Death albums in their metal section.
silenius - 29.10.2012 at 20:51  
Yea this album is something special, it´s been running non-stop for 3 days now.
Susan - 24.11.2012 at 19:56  
Excuse me while I wipe the drool away. GOD DAMN this album is stunning!!!!

Why do I do this to myself every single year? I read about an album I just know I'll love then take my sweet ass time getting around to listening to it. All this time I could have been worshiping Portal Of I but I waited until last night to finally spin it. Then I listened to nothing else all evening, instead playing this continuously. Captivating.
atkmetal123 - 04.12.2012 at 09:39  
Australia owns some of best new bands nowadays. These guys are pretty unique and amazing, I don't like the clean vocal much, but the rest is badass!
Godless Visions - 12.12.2012 at 21:59  
Sixth best metal album of the year for me - but Chiggedy Chuck doesn't get it. I think this album has been criminally overlooked and will truly be an important step in the development of both black metal and progressive metal. Brilliant, brilliant stuff.
I talked about the album on this show here but I don't think I raved about it enough.
Godless
https://soundcloud.com/nocontrolradio/visions-from-the-darkside12-9-12

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ne Obliviscaris - Portal Of I 5.5 04.06.2014 by Joodicator
Reviews Ne Obliviscaris - Portal Of I 5.5 30.09.2012 by Risto
Albums Ne Obliviscaris - Portal Of I 4.5 12.10.2011 by JaimeLeonel
Reviews Riverside - Shrine Of New Generation Slaves 3 09.03.2013 by Fradd
News Ne Obliviscaris - Asian Headlining Tour Confirmed 3 19.07.2013 by Kuroboshi



Hits total: 5787 | This month: 6