Rating:
2.5
Otep - Hydra
22 January 2013


01. Rising
02. Blowtorch Nightlight
03. Seduce & Destroy
04. Crush
05. Hematopia
06. Necromantic
07. Quarantine
08. Voyeur
09. Apex Predator
10. Feral Game
11. Livestock
12. Hag
13. Theophagy


"Hey, Dane! Want to review the new Otep alum?"

"Opeth? Hell yeah!"

"No, Otep."

"Ummm...sure. Who are they?"

So apparently this band has been around for a while. From what I can gather, Otep is to Korn what Arch Enemy is to In Flames. Having no clue who they were, I did some quick research. First warning sign is that this band was picked up by Sharon Osbourne and played their 8th show ever at Ozzfest.

This is going to hurt, isn't it?

From the very beginning of this record I was already turned off. The over produce narrative opening has this whole faux macabre feeling that would make H.P. Lovecraft vomit in shame. Sadly, it doesn't get better from there. This entire album drips with the immature angst of a poet wannabe, as lead singer (and I use that term in the most liberal manner I can), Otep Shamaya tries and miserably fails to be artistic. One gets the feeling that Hot Topic kids wearing baggy jeans with way too many zippers on them, all had a circle jerk while they cried about how different they are from their peers, who don't understand them, and were recorded in a studio then compiled onto this CD.

Everything here is as grating as wiping your ass with a cheese shredder. Shamya's vocals are nothing more than a combination of non-flattering whispers and studio-raped screams. These may possibly be the worst vocals I have heard in a long time, and that includes the high school hardcore acts at the talent show last week. Speaking of high school, this music is the same uninspiring dribble I heard 15 years ago in my youth. It wasn't any good then, so what on earth made them think it would be good now? Are these the lost B-sides to Coal Chamber?

Dear miss Shamya, one Mr. Johnathan Davis called, he wants his signature crybaby anger back. Oh crap, she is trying to rap now!? When will it stop? Hydra, being just another dime-a-dozen nu metal act, wouldn't be so bad if it had been made a decade ago. I don't even have an issue with it being nu metal. I have an issue with it being a terrible nu metal album. This is the Tommy Wiseau of metal album; a confused and muddled train-wreck of unoriginal ideas executed by a directionless self-proclaimed hack of an artists. It seems like Otep saw that ICP's "Miracles" music video had 12 million views and said "damn, we need to hop on that bandwagon!"

As a reviewer I have to be fair and point of both the weaknesses and strengths of any given album. Are there any good things about this monotonous record? I am happy to say there is one. This is the last Otep album being made.


Band profile: Otep
Album: Hydra


 



Written on 17.03.2013 by
Dane Train
Dane hails from Asheville, NC which is Beer City, USA. When he is not drinking various craft and micro brews, Dane fronts the Stoner Doom Metal band, The Quick. He also has a massive collection of Hellboy comic books.
More reviews by Dane Train ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 46  
Users visited: 445  
Search this topic:  


Mattybu - 18.03.2013 at 00:12  
Typo in the last sentence lol last "Opet" album. Regardless sounds like utter shite, nice descriptive review lol
Unhealer - 18.03.2013 at 01:08  
I have to thank this band for indirectly introducing me to Opeth But that is the only good thing about this band for me, sadly.
chaosscizzors - 18.03.2013 at 02:35  
This is the best thing i've ever read. <3
psykometal - 18.03.2013 at 02:36  
Written by Mattybu on 18.03.2013 at 00:12

Typo in the last sentence lol last "Opet" album. Regardless sounds like utter shite, nice descriptive review lol

There are several typos and missing words in this review. Susan is a bigger grammar nazi than I am so she is probably going to have a mild aneuriysm if/when she reads through this.
psykometal - 18.03.2013 at 02:48  
Lol! Found this in a news piece on The Gauntlet, might explain why it sounds like pissy teen angst...

"Hydra takes listeners on a fantastical, demonic ride through the mind of a girl who has been cast aside, set on vengeance against the world that has forgotten her. "

Definitely explains Dane's feeling that "a bunch of HT kids circle jerked their angst into this album", according to the album's concept she's just upset cuz her "style" has been irrelevant for the past decade so this is her last attempt to scream at the world for attention like an angry teenager...
Boxcar Willy - 18.03.2013 at 03:25  
Nothing compares to how shitty this actually is.
psykometal - 18.03.2013 at 04:10  
Honestly I haven't even listened to this at all. I checked out Otep like decade ago when nu metal was still "cool" (and when I was still very into nu metal) and I still thought they were garbage way back then. I have tried them out a few times again over the years (typically a song or 2 every time they release an album just to make sure my tastes in my music are still in good shape) and every time it makes me wonder how the hell this band was ever remotely popular (even at the heighth of nu metal popularity).
UnknownCheese - 18.03.2013 at 06:59  
The Tommy Wiseau of metal albums. Hah,that is classic. I don't think this is as hilariously bad as the Room, though.
Jaeryd - 18.03.2013 at 07:38  
The first bit of Seduce and Destroy wasn't quite as terrible as the rest of it, but yeah, that was disgustingly bad.
Cynic Metalhead - 18.03.2013 at 09:55  
You will see down in that list of 97 fans of Otep, I am also one of them.

My love for this band has always been about the songs not the albums. They sucks in live so do in their studios. I had some collection of "great songs" of Otep and spins them frequently. Those songs ain't that bad seriously.

I haven't check it out this shit yet but from this review I think it has a cut a very sorry figure on part of the "justice". I will check this out soon.
macscam - 18.03.2013 at 10:08  
Yeah, you were off with calling this the "tommy wiseau" of metal albums. "The Room" is so bad its good.... not really what you were trying to say. Oh, but, Mr. Dane Train, props to you for enjoying reading Hellboy comics.... I haven't actually read them, but the movies are easily some of my favorites (Guillermo del Toro makes awesome films).
Mr. Doctor - 18.03.2013 at 12:23  
This is the kind of shit I must hear to actually believe how shitty it is. Wish me luck!
PocketMetal - 18.03.2013 at 12:58  
I could survive it but I don't want to listen to anything from it ever again .
Scuzzy McDouche - 18.03.2013 at 15:57  
While I wholeheartedly agree with you that Otep is some of the worst garbage ever conceived, this comment in your review here: "Otep is to Korn what Arch Enemy is to In Flames" is concerning.

Arch Enemy takes an epic, massive, steaming mexican shit upon In Flames - and that's putting it lightly...Michael Amott (main founder of Arch Enemy) was playing melodic death before In Flames even released their first album. Ever heard of Carcass?
Mr. Doctor - 18.03.2013 at 16:35  
There was rap on this album? Where? Because I heard the whole thing (I'm a fucking trooper) and didn't find any.
Monolithic - 18.03.2013 at 17:27  
Nothing to relate to, not even "guilty pleasure", a huge disappointment...and I don't even wanna talk about Otep herself.
Dane Train - 18.03.2013 at 17:40  
Written by Scuzzy McDouche on 18.03.2013 at 15:57

While I wholeheartedly agree with you that Otep is some of the worst garbage ever conceived, this comment in your review here: "Otep is to Korn what Arch Enemy is to In Flames" is concerning.


I was referring to the concept of "just add boobs" and you have a hit.

Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.03.2013 at 16:35

There was rap on this album? Where? Because I heard the whole thing (I'm a fucking trooper) and didn't find any.


The song "Apex Predator" was a failed rap.
Mr. Doctor - 18.03.2013 at 17:48  
Quote:
Written by Dane Train on 18.03.2013 at 17:40
There was rap on this album? Where? Because I heard the whole thing (I'm a fucking trooper) and didn't find any.

The song "Apex Predator" was a failed rap.

That song? Huh, Didn't know that count as rap... Awful anyway.
Dark†SymphonY - 18.03.2013 at 17:53  
Listened to one of the songs, just for a joke and it was very bad. I won't even bother with this or their other material.
marzepka87 - 18.03.2013 at 21:39  
Written by psykometal on 18.03.2013 at 02:48

Lol! Found this in a news piece on The Gauntlet, might explain why it sounds like pissy teen angst...

"Hydra takes listeners on a fantastical, demonic ride through the mind of a girl who has been cast aside, set on vengeance against the world that has forgotten her. "

Definitely explains Dane's feeling that "a bunch of HT kids circle jerked their angst into this album", according to the album's concept she's just upset cuz her "style" has been irrelevant for the past decade so this is her last attempt to scream at the world for attention like an angry teenager...


I read the short article and it just made me extremely sad and angry, here's an example;
"OTEP has been terrorizing the metal scene for years with a mixture of unforgiving heavy sounds and beautifully haunting spoken words resulting in over 600,000 albums sold to date." - all bullshit.
"Utilizing her unrivaled songwriting ability, OTEP has powered through taboo topics such as politics, sex, animal rights, equal rights, bigotry and hatred in previous releases. Playing for fans across the globe, she has been preaching a venomous, metal-infused gospel for well over a decade." - more bullshit, can they stop calling Otep metal
"Proving art only gets better with time, Hydra has solidified OTEP's place as one of the most prolific, unique, female-fronted metal groups of our time. Be a part of history and order the final chapter from a poet whose outspoken nature has paved the way for all artists to come." hey look more bullshit, they did not get better with time, their music is as awful as it was with their first release, and think they are confusing the so-called paving of the way with trails of vomit of real metalheads brought on by this awful music. I'm just glad it will be the final release.
Gelati - 18.03.2013 at 21:42  
Yea is it wrong that I kinda wanna hear this now?
Mr. Doctor - 18.03.2013 at 23:50  
Written by marzepka87 on 18.03.2013 at 21:39
"Utilizing her unrivaled songwriting ability, OTEP has powered through taboo topics such as politics, sex, animal rights, equal rights, bigotry and hatred in previous releases. Playing for fans across the globe, she has been preaching a venomous, metal-infused gospel for well over a decade." - more bullshit, can they stop calling Otep metal

The music is completely awful, no doubt about it... But it's still metal.
psykometal - 18.03.2013 at 23:56  
Written by marzepka87 on 18.03.2013 at 21:39

I read the short article and it just made me extremely sad and angry, here's an example;
"OTEP has been terrorizing the metal scene for years with a mixture of unforgiving heavy sounds and beautifully haunting spoken words resulting in over 600,000 albums sold to date." - all bullshit.
"Utilizing her unrivaled songwriting ability, OTEP has powered through taboo topics such as politics, sex, animal rights, equal rights, bigotry and hatred in previous releases. Playing for fans across the globe, she has been preaching a venomous, metal-infused gospel for well over a decade." - more bullshit, can they stop calling Otep metal
"Proving art only gets better with time, Hydra has solidified OTEP's place as one of the most prolific, unique, female-fronted metal groups of our time. Be a part of history and order the final chapter from a poet whose outspoken nature has paved the way for all artists to come." hey look more bullshit, they did not get better with time, their music is as awful as it was with their first release, and think they are confusing the so-called paving of the way with trails of vomit of real metalheads brought on by this awful music. I'm just glad it will be the final release.

Yea, I figure people like this either have really bad hearing or they're just kissing somebodies ass.
rebel757 - 19.03.2013 at 05:52  
I checked a couple songs out, and I'm surprised my headphones are still intact (because I was furiously trying to punch my ears off my head the entire time). All I could imagine was Hot Topic kids with the chain/belt/loop pants and shitty platform boots whipping their Flock of Seagull haircuts out of their mascara covered eyes, then talking about how "true" this album is. The vocals are so pitiful that I think I could have my golden retriever do a better job, and he's nearly 15. The lyrical themes are just as described, the wannabe artistic crap that you find written with red nail polish on the bathroom mirror at those weird Hot Topic kid's houses.
Granted it's nu metal, yeah, it's still garbage. There are some good nu metal bands out there, but Otep is certainly not one. The only reason someone could truly pretend to like this is because she has boobs.
R'Vannith - 19.03.2013 at 06:38  
.... never again. NEVER again. I can only stand in awe of those who made it through the whole thing. Half was too much for me.
Jaeryd - 19.03.2013 at 11:11  
I listened to every song, but I'm not sure if that counts as "making it through the whole thing" because while I technically heard each song, I had to skip a lot of them halfway through. Sorry Otep, but if your song doesn't have any redeemable quality to be found when it's already half over, I doubt that the other half is going to have anything good about it.

And yeah, that was bad. Bad bad bad bad bad. Really bad. But it somehow gave me the weirdest boner...
Mr. Doctor - 19.03.2013 at 14:06  
Written by Jaeryd on 19.03.2013 at 11:11
But it somehow gave me the weirdest boner...

She's not even that good looking imo. Plus, she's lesbian.
Eye-Licker - 19.03.2013 at 17:05  
If i owned an elevator, this would be played on a loop in it.
Jaeryd - 19.03.2013 at 19:33  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.03.2013 at 14:06

Written by Jaeryd on 19.03.2013 at 11:11
But it somehow gave me the weirdest boner...

She's not even that good looking imo. Plus, she's lesbian.

I can't tell what she looks like from the sound. I just have this automatic reflex to be turned on when a woman is harshly whispering dirty shit in my ear. I didn't say it was a good boner, nor was it my proudest.

I don't think that was the actual reason for it, though. I think the music was so bad that my brain tried to starve itself of oxygen and die, so it flooded blood to everywhere else in the body. Unfortunately, it didn't save me.
Ritual_Suicide - 20.03.2013 at 01:23  
"One gets the feeling that Hot Topic kids wearing baggy jeans with way too many zippers on them, all had a circle jerk while they cried about how different they are from their peers, who don't understand them, and were recorded in a studio then compiled onto this CD."

...And that is where nu metal comes from.
marzepka87 - 20.03.2013 at 01:54  
Quote:
The music is completely awful, no doubt about it... But it's still metal.


Sadly you are right... One can only dream I guess
marzepka87 - 20.03.2013 at 02:05  
Quote:
Yea, I figure people like this either have really bad hearing or they're just kissing somebodies ass.

Chances are it's a combination of both factors... they say everyone has their preferences when it comes to music, but this is just unbearable, I tried listening to a song and felt the urge to
Thankfully I've got the entire Manegarm discography to make the awful pain go away
-DC-002- - 20.03.2013 at 04:20  
Everyone who has listened to this album, your toil and sacrifice in listening to this is not for nothing! I salute you as you as you are written into the anals of history.
Jaeryd - 21.03.2013 at 23:04  
Written by -DC-002- on 20.03.2013 at 04:20

Everyone who has listened to this album, your toil and sacrifice in listening to this is not for nothing! I salute you as you as you are written into the anals of history.

It's annals, not anals. You just told us that were were written into the ass-area of history. But I guess with this album that would be accurate enough.
-DC-002- - 22.03.2013 at 04:11  
Written by Jaeryd on 21.03.2013 at 23:04

Written by -DC-002- on 20.03.2013 at 04:20

Everyone who has listened to this album, your toil and sacrifice in listening to this is not for nothing! I salute you as you as you are written into the anals of history.

It's annals, not anals. You just told us that were were written into the ass-area of history. But I guess with this album that would be accurate enough.


i know thanks for catching that.
BlackHalo83 - 23.03.2013 at 23:53  
Overall a safe album for me. I mean this is what Otep is, they are like the metal version of a Poetry Slam. Why bitch on that. Although its recycled material the album is still good. Not their best by a long shot and not their worst. But 2.5 is just too much of a bad rating for this album. I'd say a 6 or 5.5, average because I don't feel an album deserves a 2.5 unless you actually know Otep good enough to really analyze and base your review on your Otep experience.
DraconianJays - 25.03.2013 at 06:54  
You all really just need to stop your hate-bashing and stop criticizing something you don't understand a single bit about. It's one thing to be ignorant, but to release that ignorance with negativity is pretty bad and especially when your idol is In Flames.
Ozman - 25.03.2013 at 12:35  
Written by DraconianJays on 25.03.2013 at 06:54

You all really just need to stop your hate-bashing and stop criticizing something you don't understand a single bit about.


what's there to understand? The only thing to understand is that this album is a heap of steaming shit.
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.03.2013 at 13:00  
Talking about ignorance yet our friend doesn't believe in modern medicine.
Dane Train - 25.03.2013 at 18:11  
Written by DraconianJays on 25.03.2013 at 06:54

You all really just need to stop your hate-bashing and stop criticizing something you don't understand a single bit about. It's one thing to be ignorant, but to release that ignorance with negativity is pretty bad and especially when your idol is In Flames.


Whose idol is In Flames? Not mine, that is for sure.
psykometal - 25.03.2013 at 19:26  
Wonderful thing about opinions is that it doesn't matter if anybody else agrees with you or not because it's still your opinion and a few disagreeing whiners aren't going to change it.
DraconianJays - 19.04.2013 at 15:17  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.03.2013 at 13:00

Talking about ignorance yet our friend doesn't believe in modern medicine.


So not only can you people criticize a band/culture you know nothing about but now you're going to criticize my beliefs and way of life. So it isn't really the culture at all, you all just like to hate and it doesn't really matter what it is. It appears I'm not the ignorant one here. Big pharma (legal hardcore narcotics) doesn't create cures, it creates more customers, the only way they thrive is to guarantee that you stay sick so they keep their customers. Pharmaceutical users have to recover twice, once from the disease and another from the drug. All this is elementary common sense, but I guess I was asking for too much for people to open their minds wide enough to see a perspective that's not selfish for once. Why would I want this: http://www.naturalnews.com/039958_prescription_drugs_side_effects_dangers.html when the fruit Soursop works 100x better at KILLING cancer right in it's tracks without the use of harmful drugs that kill all the other organs in your body on it's way out without the guarantee that it'll even work to begin with?

Leaving the talent level of music aside for now, do any of you criticizing Korn/Otep actually know what an EXTREMELY messed up child-hood feels like? Do you know what it feels like to be molested and raped by a family member for multiple years, to be psychically, emotionally and psychologically abused your entire childhood? To live with fear every second of your life, and that fear be induced by your own father/mother? Do any of you even know what shell shock feels like, to flinch every time someone around makes a move too quickly because you are used to your father hitting you all the time? For him to confess that he purposely uses fear because "that seems to be the only thing to work", and then go to school and passively accepting being bullied for years on end because your father has you too afraid to ever speak up for yourself? To not be able to have a descent relationship with you spouse because your sexual abuse from your own trusted family member has distorted your perception of what a lover should be? I don't think many of you could comprehend any of this. These bands aren't wining about anything, they are voicing their experience in an effort to reach out to those that know the same type of pain they've been through. It's not their fault that they have some Hot Pocket shoppers buying their CDs. Korn empowered a generation of neglected/abused children to stand up for themselves and take their lives back into their own hands. If Korn never have existed there's no way I'd be the strong man I am today. Aside from the fact that Jon is in fact a great vocalist that could hold his own against most Death Metal bands without busting a sweat, or that Reginald "Fieldy" is the one of the best bassist players in Rock/Metal history, or that David Silveria could no doubt keep up/out preform so many of the Rock/Metal world. As band altogether no, they don't compare to most other Metal bands, but they never claimed to be metal in the first place, and neither did Otep, that is just a label that the music industry put on them.

You all can nit-pick me all day and I'll just shoot your bias perceptions down with facts, or your can grow up, expand your perception and get a real hobby that evolves being a real man and not criticizing others especially when you know nothing about them.
Boxcar Willy - 19.04.2013 at 18:54  


Okay there buddy. Obviously you're living in a bit of a diluted world, so I'll just let you be.
DraconianJays - 07.07.2013 at 08:46  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 19.04.2013 at 18:54



Okay there buddy. Obviously you're living in a bit of a diluted world, so I'll just let you be.


Me diluted? You still praise darkness as if it were your master, that's probably because it is. Don't let your ego rule your actions for the entirety of your life, for it is fear and darkness that rule the ego, the false-self. Your ruling ego wont take you very far in life, to progress you must unlearn what you have learned and suffocate that ego before it destroys and everyone else around.
Boxcar Willy - 08.07.2013 at 08:36  
Written by DraconianJays on 07.07.2013 at 08:46


Me diluted? You still praise darkness as if it were your master, that's probably because it is. Don't let your ego rule your actions for the entirety of your life, for it is fear and darkness that rule the ego, the false-self. Your ruling ego wont take you very far in life, to progress you must unlearn what you have learned and suffocate that ego before it destroys and everyone else around.

Whatever you're on, take more of it.
psykometal - 08.07.2013 at 09:20  
Ok guys this thread is for discussing Otep's latest musical output, not battling to see who is the best quipster.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Living Sacrifice - The Infinite Order 4.5 30.01.2010 by Valaskjalf
Reviews Howl - Bloodlines 4.5 24.04.2013 by Nunzie 69
Reviews Stryper - Reborn 4.5 10.05.2009 by quirin
Reviews Soilwork - The Living Infinite 4.5 12.03.2013 by MaiSweettShaadow
Reviews The Perennial - Dissension 4.5 01.09.2009 by Ag Fox



Hits total: 8795 | This month: 104