Rating:
N/A
Sleestak - Book Of Hours [EP]
May 2013


01. Appeasing The Gods (Intro)
02. Seven Sorrows
03. Five Million Years To Earth
04. Lone Wolf
05. Blacklight Communion


I first heard Sleestak in 2011 with their stunning sophomore album The Fall Of Altrusia. That record was a singular moment in time, and some of the best psychedelic and atmospheric sludge/stoner/doom metal I've ever heard. Their long songs with slow build-ups were never boring; in fact, I remember several times just listening intently to the music and doing nothing else but being fascinated.

Imagine my joy when I was suddenly in possession of their new release. Though only an EP, here were a handful of new songs to satiate my need for this band. But, what's this? They're all 3-4 minutes long. Does that mean I don't get my intense Sleestak build-ups?

That's exactly what it means. But don't despair yet. Yes, the Book Of Hours EP takes the band in a very different direction than their debut. Gone is some of the sludge and doom, as well as the spooky, epic, build-ups. So, what is left? The blues, baby! And some damn spooky blues at that!

The creepy, spooky clean vocals are still very present, and the vibe has only changed its outer appearance while retaining the dark essence. Instead of long epics and sci-fi/fantasy darkness, we now have occult-based tunes that bring to mind old timey NOLA or a back-alley Memphis speakeasy. The guitars tantalize the ear and the rhythms bewitch the listener in a similar way to the build-ups of the previous record.

At first it was a bit jarring that this EP came from the same band as the last album - but over a short time I came to hear the deep-rooted similarities. As the chasm closed in my mind, I came to identify a true "Sleestak Sound." This really is not only an incredible release, but a testament to the band's extraordinary talent as songwriters and explorers of dark, crushing, metal music.

Listen and buy at Bandcamp.


Band profile: Sleestak
Album: Book Of Hours


 



Written on 30.06.2013 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.

Twitter: @HeavyMetalSusan
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 5  
Users visited: 151  
Search this topic:  


Xnoybis - 30.06.2013 at 05:00  
I liked the release a lot. while it was missing a lot of the cool out-there of Fall of Altrusia, the EP still is similar to the "other half" of their sound.

i did like the clean vox. not sure why but sounded partially like he was doing a semi-ironic take on Scott Weiland's take on olde tymee crooners of the Sinatra era.

not sure why in the hell that image popped into my head - specifically Scott Weiland - must have been lots of beer.
Susan - 30.06.2013 at 18:54  
It's a crime that someone hasn't signed them. But on the flip side, they're free to create whatever weird awesome music they want. Still, they deserve recognition/tours/a budget. If I was rich I'd start Sleestak Records.
Sleestak - 01.07.2013 at 22:38  
Cheers! Thanks for the kind words! You Metal Storm folks have always been so nice to us. The EPIC stuff is on its way, just a matter of time and money. And like I have been telling everyone, I am pushing the next album to be a 70+ minute monster. We have the first 20 minutes or so written and it is going to be absolutely the heaviest stuff we've ever done along with some of the most melodic/serene elements we've conjured. Still working on the concept though...

As for my vocals, I was brought up on singing along with Jim Morrison. And of course, he was a fan of and emulated Frank Sinatra. So I guess thats how I approach it.
Xnoybis - 01.07.2013 at 23:49  
Written by Sleestak on 01.07.2013 at 22:38

Cheers! Thanks for the kind words! You Metal Storm folks have always been so nice to us. The EPIC stuff is on its way, just a matter of time and money. And like I have been telling everyone, I am pushing the next album to be a 70+ minute monster. We have the first 20 minutes or so written and it is going to be absolutely the heaviest stuff we've ever done along with some of the most melodic/serene elements we've conjured. Still working on the concept though...

As for my vocals, I was brought up on singing along with Jim Morrison. And of course, he was a fan of and emulated Frank Sinatra. So I guess thats how I approach it.


fired up to hear about the horizon.

also good to hear my rough assessment on the vox wasn't terribly far off the mark. love both Morrison and Sinatra myself.
theembryo - 12.07.2013 at 09:14  
Written by Sleestak on 01.07.2013 at 22:38

Cheers! Thanks for the kind words! You Metal Storm folks have always been so nice to us. The EPIC stuff is on its way, just a matter of time and money. And like I have been telling everyone, I am pushing the next album to be a 70+ minute monster. We have the first 20 minutes or so written and it is going to be absolutely the heaviest stuff we've ever done along with some of the most melodic/serene elements we've conjured. Still working on the concept though...

As for my vocals, I was brought up on singing along with Jim Morrison. And of course, he was a fan of and emulated Frank Sinatra. So I guess thats how I approach it.



From just a listen to "Lone Wolf", I had to go and dig the rest of the EP. Thanks for this and other great listens - looking very much forward to what comes, especially "a 70+ minute monster" - Bravo!! Rock on!!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Sleestak - Book Of Hours [EP] 6 13.07.2013 by theembryo
Interviews Sleestak interview 3 20.08.2011 by AXA
Reviews Dark Moor - Ars Musica 3 29.06.2013 by atkmetal123
Reviews Arbor - The Plutonian Shore 3 26.10.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Articles Clandestine Cuts Vol. 3 #2 - Our Favorite New Demos And EPs 2 28.02.2013 by Susan



Hits total: 2604 | This month: 40