Rating:
6.9
Omnium Gatherum - Beyond
22 February 2013


01. Luoto
02. New Dynamic
03. In The Rim
04. Nightwalkers
05. Formidable
06. The Sonic Sign
07. Who Could Say
08. The Unknowing
09. Living In Me
10. White Palace
11. Subdivisions [Rush cover] [Digital bonus] [feat. Dan Swanö]


I've been listening to Omnium Gatherum for a while and I like their stuff. Surely there's enough energy in their music to keep you going and the band seem to know what they're doing with their music, but let's face it; they're missing something, besides originality of course.

Beyond follows the same formula as New World Shadows and it certainly seems compelling for the ears, but terrible for the brain. The inconsistency is far too great for the musicianship or the performance to maintain a proper balance. The album has some decent moments and the catchy melodies are brilliant and dynamic but in the end, they all sound bland and uninspiring. What you're left with is a bunch of good songs with little to offer and a couple of fillers by the time you reach the hour mark. Even the bonus track "Subdivisions" comes out as a song that's a little hard to digest, although it could've made Rush proud.

Why would a band ignore risking while they have that ability to blossom into something far more cohesive? I'm not saying they must never take chances with their music and stick to the same plan over and over for another 10 albums, but it's no longer a matter of personal taste to hear that inconsistency in their music which could be considered a major flaw.

I didn't feel sorry after listening to it, just moved on and wondered about how long it will take for them to be left out of my playlist, only to realize they didn't even make it to my playlist at all. Beyond isn't actually a perfect piece of art that is marred by scars and imperfections; it's more of a forgettable yet decent effort from capable people.

In the end, I suppose I'm left with a bit of anticipation for their next album. As for some highlights: "New Dynamic" and "In The Rim".

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 9


Band profile: Omnium Gatherum
Album: Beyond


 


written by Monolithic | 13.10.2013


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
IronArkadius666

Rating:
9.3
Now before you all think, "Oh god, not another melodeath fan who thinks that every new melodeath record is the greatest one there ever was and will be... much like the city of Qarth" I ask that you all hear me out as I truly believe that this album is exceptional and enough time has passed that, if I once was, I am no longer caught up in the hype that typically follows the release of every melodeath album.

Read more ››
published 03.07.2013 | Comments (16)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 118  
Search this topic:  


DonMoenning - 13.10.2013 at 09:17  
Step 1 - Strap on skis or a snowboard at the top of the mountain and put Beyond on. Step 2 - Score this 2 points higher
Monolithic - 13.10.2013 at 09:41  
Written by DonMoenning on 13.10.2013 at 09:17

Step 1 - Strap on skis or a snowboard at the top of the mountain and put Beyond on. Step 2 - Score this 2 points higher

As much as I would love to, Step 2 is really impossible for me. I gave it a 6.9 not because I love to bash them, but because it doesn't really sound like a masterpiece according to my standards. Otherwise it's good enough if you're in for a ride on a snowboard or something. But thanks for reading.
3rdWorld - 13.10.2013 at 09:54  
I enjoyed this bastard more than their last one.
Dylan - 13.10.2013 at 10:39  
I wholeheartedly agree with this entire review.
Gopherhawk - 13.10.2013 at 12:55  
Meh
Zaphod - 13.10.2013 at 13:35  
"it's more of a forgettable yet decent effort from capable people."
That's how I feel about OG in general. Really forgettable. I do agree about "In The Rim" being a highlight, that's the only song that stuck with me.
So I more or less agree with your review. Though I'd score it. Even. Lower. (sue me)
Dima - 13.10.2013 at 15:08  
'Meh' is a good way to describe the album
Erik M. - 13.10.2013 at 19:49  
Written by Monolithic on 13.10.2013 at 09:41

I gave it a 6.9 not because I love to bash them, but because it doesn't really sound like a masterpiece according to my standards.


Even a 9.0 score isn't a masterpiece. Anything that is a 9.5 or higher could be called a masterpiece. At least by my standards. I happen to agree with everything about the MS rating system except that a 10 equals "perfect" while it should equal "masterpiece", because no album ever is perfect.
Erik M. - 13.10.2013 at 19:51  
So it seems lots of people don't like this record or think it's decent at best, but then why is it at #6 in the top 20 albums of 2013 with an 8.6?
Monolithic - 13.10.2013 at 20:24  
Written by Erik M. on 13.10.2013 at 19:51

So it seems lots of people don't like this record or think it's decent at best, but then why is it at #6 in the top 20 albums of 2013 with an 8.6?

Well let's investigate the crime scene, shall we? haha

I would respect the people's opinion on whether they like the album or not, and it sounds plausible if someone gives it a 10 since they don't really care that much about musical values and morals like you or I do. As for being #6 on top 20 albums of 2013, you can see that we've had 444 votes, with 363 voters giving the album a rating higher than 8. So a lot of people think of it as being worthy of a +8 rating. But the question is: why? I've presented my interpretation of the album's impression so I'd wait for the proposers to present their side of the story.

To make things clear: I'm not trying to point the finger at anyone and make a scapegoat out of fans who gave it a 10. But then again, MS represents a rather inconclusive portion of votes and opinions imo. I would like to have a debate with someone who gives it a 10 and discuss those little variables that make an album worthy of being called a masterpiece and does it really matter to leave the impression that a single review could be the definitive summary of what the album's all about? Again it's all open to discussion and interpretation.
BehzadSh - 13.10.2013 at 20:51  
I agree with review, but 6.9 is a little low maybe something between 7-8 would be fair
MetalButt - 13.10.2013 at 21:33  
Well imo this is their best work...yes above new world...sorry to say but i disagree with you on a lot of points!!!
Monolithic - 13.10.2013 at 22:10  
Written by BehzadSh on 13.10.2013 at 20:51

I agree with review, but 6.9 is a little low maybe something between 7-8 would be fair

Actually I agree on that part. 7 or 7.2 maybe. I had written this review a long time ago and the proofreading took a while.

Written by MetalButt on 13.10.2013 at 21:33

Well imo this is their best work...yes above new world...sorry to say but i disagree with you on a lot of points!!!

Well we're civilized people so go on. I'm listening. *clicks gun haha
MHOE - 14.10.2013 at 15:47  
6.9? Umstbjkng,bro... Something between 9.8 and 10.0 would be more accurate.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.10.2013 at 16:45  
Written by MHOE on 14.10.2013 at 15:47

6.9? Umstbjkng,bro... Something between 9.8 and 10.0 would be more accurate.

let me guess, you such a huge fan of the band that we mere mortals would call you a fanboy?
MHOE - 14.10.2013 at 21:21  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.10.2013 at 16:45

Written by MHOE on 14.10.2013 at 15:47

6.9? Umstbjkng,bro... Something between 9.8 and 10.0 would be more accurate.

let me guess, you such a huge fan of the band that we mere mortals would call you a fanboy?


Haha, it was just for fun :-P I do like the album a lot but can certainly understand someone dont as much :-)
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.10.2013 at 21:50  
Written by MHOE on 14.10.2013 at 21:21



Haha, it was just for fun :-P I do like the album a lot but can certainly understand someone dont as much :-)


sorry for misunderstanding, I thought you were totally serious
Monolithic - 14.10.2013 at 22:18  
Written by MHOE on 14.10.2013 at 21:21

Haha, it was just for fun :-P I do like the album a lot but can certainly understand someone dont as much :-)

Haha Well, to say that you like it or not depends on how much pleasure you feel when you listen to the album, sometimes regardless of whether the music is a total masterpiece or not. As I said, I love Omnium Gatherum but the overall impression is...somewhat mediocre to good.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Omnium Gatherum - Beyond 7 03.07.2013 by IronArkadius666
Albums Omnium Gatherum - Beyond 6 29.03.2012 by Array
Reviews Omnium Gatherum - Stuck Here On Snake's Way 5.5 08.06.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Omnium Gatherum - New World Shadows 5.5 07.05.2011 by Warrior_Of_Ice
News Omnium Gatherum - Present Another New Video 4.5 15.08.2013 by HaaskAksaaH



Hits total: 1805 | This month: 36