Rating:
N/A
Hatchet - Dawn Of The End
5 March 2013


01. After The Dark
02. Silenced By Death
03. Screams Of The Night
04. Fall From Grace
05. Revelations Of Good And Evil
06. Signals Of Infection
07. Dawn Of The End
08. Sinister Thoughts
09. Welcome To The Plague
10. Vanishing Point


"[Insert thrash band formed after 2000 here] ? They're just another one of those revivalist bands... Screw that! The only good thrash came in the 80's, all these new bands are just copycats."

Heard this before, or something like it? The truth is, a lot of people are very critical of the bands fueling the new wave of thrash we are in the midst of. Originality seems to be at the core of their position. If you are one of those people who is just chomping at the bit to hate on revivalist thrash, you are in luck; Hatchet doesn't bring anything new to the table; not a single thing. Their sound is one heard before in thrash, think among others, a mix of some Heathen and Exodus.

Review over, stay far away, right? Well, not quite. Looking at the music on its own, Dawn Of The End is a fairly well-made effort. At points the riff quality is strong enough to drive the songs forward on its own (example: "Silenced By Death"), and even when it tapers, it is apparent that the boys in Hatchet know how to put a thrash song together. Taken for what it is, it can be a fun little album. Not groundbreaking or incredibly impressive in any respect, but for people who just love to hear new thrash, there is merit to it.

At the end of the day, this album leaves me with very mixed feelings. On one hand, it really isn't anything special as a whole. On the other, there are moments where the riffs really shine, and there are certainly things to enjoy as a fan of thrash metal. The fact that it's not the most original piece of work does hurt its replay value, however, which leaves it in a sort of gray area for me. The thing is, based on Dawn Of The End, I consider Hatchet a band who doesn't just have room to improve, but they have the skills needed too as well. I see them as a band with a good enough grip of what it takes to make a good thrash album that they still could improve and forge an identity and greater success in the music world.

Until then, I play the waiting game; optimistically, though. Promising is the word that defines Dawn Of The End to me.


 


written by Mattybu | 05.06.2014


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 4  
Users visited: 12  
Search this topic:  


Dr.Overkill26 - 05.06.2014 at 22:40  
Good review, I have seen Hatchet live, they're good fun!
Mattybu - 05.06.2014 at 22:48  
Written by Dr.Overkill26 on 05.06.2014 at 22:40

Good review, I have seen Hatchet live, they're good fun!


I bet they are, that's good to hear - it certainly seems like they would have potential to translate pretty well into a live setting, if not be even better than on record. Thanks for the kind words.
-Morbid- - 07.06.2014 at 04:50  
Good review, pretty fair viewpoint I think.

As a thrash fan, the new wave of thrash stuff has been strange for me. Some of the albums just "click" with me and I enjoy the hell out of them, while others that seemingly have all the pieces needed I just can't seem to get into. This album is one of the ones that have managed to click with me.

One thing that really impressed me about the album was that despite the average song length being over 5 minutes (excluding the 2 instrumental tracks), I never felt a song was dragging on or overstaying its welcome. Even some of my favorite bands like Exodus manage to feel like they are dragging a bit during a 4 and a half minute song.

Maybe I have a little bit of a bias though... I saw these guys live with Exmortus a while back and it was one of the most enjoyable shows I've been to. They were very nice guys and they were great live. Despite the fact that it was in some no-name little bar in a small town and there were maybe 40 people there (including bar staff and opening local band family members), they were full of energy, enthusiastic, and genuinely seemed to enjoy themselves. Admittedly that made me want to like them a bit more than if it was just some random album I picked up.
Mattybu - 07.06.2014 at 05:03  
Written by -Morbid- on 07.06.2014 at 04:50

Good review, pretty fair viewpoint I think.

As a thrash fan, the new wave of thrash stuff has been strange for me. Some of the albums just "click" with me and I enjoy the hell out of them, while others that seemingly have all the pieces needed I just can't seem to get into. This album is one of the ones that have managed to click with me.


I can definitely relate to that feeling. This album didn't quite click with me the way, say, Waking Into Nightmares or Time Is Up has, but I still think it's all around quite well done.

Written by -Morbid- on 07.06.2014 at 04:50

One thing that really impressed me about the album was that despite the average song length being over 5 minutes (excluding the 2 instrumental tracks), I never felt a song was dragging on or overstaying its welcome. Even some of my favorite bands like Exodus manage to feel like they are dragging a bit during a 4 and a half minute song.


I found the songs were interesting and kept my attention for the most part. Like most albums there are a few tracks I didn't particularly care for but I do agree in that the majority didn't seem to drag on.

Written by -Morbid- on 07.06.2014 at 04:50

Maybe I have a little bit of a bias though... I saw these guys live with Exmortus a while back and it was one of the most enjoyable shows I've been to. They were very nice guys and they were great live. Despite the fact that it was in some no-name little bar in a small town and there were maybe 40 people there (including bar staff and opening local band family members), they were full of energy, enthusiastic, and genuinely seemed to enjoy themselves. Admittedly that made me want to like them a bit more than if it was just some random album I picked up.


Well, it certainly helps when you have a good experience with a band like that. But if you ask me, they earned that bias, so to speak. They gave you an awesome show so it's only fitting to feel like supporting them.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Runemagick - Dawn Of The End 5.5 19.05.2008 by Ozman
Reviews Paths Of Possession - The End Of The Hour 4 12.02.2008 by selken
Albums Abominable Putridity - In The End Of Human Existence 3 17.04.2010 by Boxcar Willy
Albums Machinae Supremacy - A View From The End Of The World 3 11.10.2010 by MaSuAnime
News Before The Dawn - Entire New Album Streaming Online 3 20.02.2011 by Justicelust



Hits total: 718 | This month: 90