Goatwhore - Constricting Rage Of The Merciless review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

106 users:
8.00
Band: Goatwhore
Album: Constricting Rage Of The Merciless
Release date: July 2014


01. Poisonous Existence In Reawakening
02. Unraveling Paradise
03. Baring Teeth For Revolt
04. Reanimated Sacrifice
05. Heaven's Crumbling Walls Of Pity
06. Cold Earth Consumed In Dying Flesh
07. FBS
08. Nocturnal Conjuration Of The Accursed
09. Schadenfreude
10. Externalize This Hidden Savagery


Goatwhore is that scuzzy childhood friend. He's a little predictable, and sure, maybe he's the type of person who would put his own mother in a chokehold for a klondike bar, but he's dependable. In need of a thorough shower or not, he always knows how to show you a good time.

Constricting Rage Of The Merciless, above all else, is Goatwhore simply doing their thing. The black/death/thrash breed we've all come to expect from these guys album after album is untouched...and who's to complain? They perfected this sound with Blood For The Master - instantly infectious riffs, bouncing rhythms and some of the most furious vocals on the planet coming from the throat of Ben Falgoust make Goatwhore a consistently safe bet for awesome rowdiness with no pretensions.

The only true fault with Goatwhore really is the predictability factor ... which is why Constricting... tops anything they've ever done. It still delivers the sound the old-guard fans are expecting, while showing off some new tricks. Strange new pieces to Goatwhore's sound that still fit in seamlessly. Cuts like "Baring Teeth For Revolt" and "FBS" are so punky, they sound like a page torn out of Toxic Holocaust's book, "Cold Earth Consumed In Dying Flesh", is a slow, punishing stomp - a tempo rarely shown in any of their recordings thus far, and of course "Schadenfreude" is a big highlight as well, as it finally showcases this bands ability to thrown in some great melodies.

Constricting Rage Of The Merciless is easily Goatwhore's best album. It wouldn't sound out of place in a mixed playlist with their last few albums, yet it still incorporates enough new flavors to give the long-time listeners a refreshing experience.

Awesome work once again, Goatwhore.


 



Written on 17.07.2014 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 181 users
17.07.2014 - 09:30
Lit.
Account deleted
Quote:
"Baring Teeth For Assault"

Baring Teeth For Revolt, you mean?
Loading...
17.07.2014 - 09:56
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Guest on 17.07.2014 at 09:30

Quote:
"Baring Teeth For Assault"

Baring Teeth For Revolt, you mean?

Shit.

...I mean, I don't know what you're talking about.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
17.07.2014 - 11:20
bugsterscrow
This is truly the roots of extreme metal..... perfect. The vocalist have a black metal charasteristic vocal
Loading...
17.07.2014 - 13:37
Ksajal
I agree with the review completely. I was just thinking how this album is still very catchy and groovy as hell, and yet more diverse than "Blood for the Master".

"Cold Earth Consumed in Dying Flesh" is a prime example of this, it sounds almost like a doom song to me.

Like you've said, awesome work once again, Goatwhore.
Loading...
17.07.2014 - 19:19
Ilham
Giant robot
I totally agree with this review. My expectations were very low for this album. But it turned out to be the one I enjoyed the most.
Loading...
17.07.2014 - 19:19
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
These guys have perfected the art of balance. This is yet again another fine example of combining accessibility and extremity. Excellent stuff.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
17.07.2014 - 19:28
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
It's meat and potatoes... And damn fine meat and potatoes I must say.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
17.07.2014 - 20:56
JayMo4
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.07.2014 at 19:19

These guys have perfected the art of balance. This is yet again another fine example of combining accessibility and extremity. Excellent stuff.


Agreed. There's a lot to be said simply for finding something you do well and just firing on all cylinders and getting the job done.
Loading...
17.07.2014 - 23:28
Sir Thrashalot
Excellent review, Excellent album. I think that bands that stick to their sound while perfecting it tend to stick around and be good a lot longer than those who experiment too much, ESPECIALLY in the Thrash genre. For example, Overkill/Testament/Kreator compared to the likes of Megadeth/Anthrax/Metallica (Yes they are still around, but honestly who listens to their latest albums as much as the older ones? You only expect classics from them Live compared to the first 3)

I believe they understood that and NAIL their sound harder and harder every album. Great studio band, great Live band, GREAT band. I wish them a long career.
Loading...
18.07.2014 - 03:45
Totenlieder
This was the first album I've ever heard by these guys and I love it.
Based on your gnarly review I'm definitely going to get the rest of their stuff.
----
Blut & Krieg
Loading...
18.07.2014 - 06:01
MetalDoomMaster
I have not stopped listening to this album since I got it. It is so fucking awesome to hear something truly great in this genre. I don't want to say it's a perfect album, but it is damn close.
----
Loading...
18.07.2014 - 11:28
bugsterscrow
But, when i tried to listen again, sounds like first wave deathmetal....
Loading...
18.07.2014 - 17:48
MeatloafCupcake
I saw Goatwhore back in 2006 and they ripped it back then. I really have appreciation for these guys.
----
http://g.bf4stats.com/bfstatcard/xbox/MeatloafCupcake.png
Loading...
12.10.2014 - 08:14
Susan
Smeghead
Cuts like "Baring Teeth For Revolt" and "FBS" are so punky

Right?!!!? So true! As you said, so nice to see them sticking to their roots yet adding in a few "new tricks" so as to avoid predictability.

As someone else said, I didn't think I was going to really love this one but it ended up being more than expected.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
20.06.2016 - 22:39
VIG
Starman
Nice analogy at the beginning. great review.
----
"I've got good news. That gum you like is going to come back in style."
Loading...

Hits total: 4049 | This month: 13