Rating:
8.5
Darkthrone - Panzerfaust
1995


01. En Vind Av Sorg
02. Triumphant Gleam
03. The Hordes Of Nebulah
04. Hans Siste Vinter
05. Beholding The Throne Of Might
06. Quintessence
07. Snø Og Granskog (Utferd)


Unholy Darkthrone was upon us again back in 1995 with their fifth release now on new label Moonfog under the watching eye of Satyricon-man Sigurd Wongraven, the band released a very anticipated album called Panzerfaust a.k.a. 'Tank-fist'. For people who liked their old productions won't be disappointed because Nocturno Culto, Zephyrous and Fenriz succeeded again to create that kind a music where black metal is just all about.

And I think this is a perfect example of an album you just can't allow to be re-mastered because of the primitive production, Darkthrone's rusty sound makes the music even better and darker.

Because where Transylvanian Hunger ended, Panzerfaust continues, and this album his unforgettable riffs, screaming vocals and lyrics that makes you shiver from head to toe, crowns it all in that way that on a very hot summer day you still can feel theice-cold-Norwegian breeze blowing through your speakers...


Band profile: Darkthrone
Album: Panzerfaust


 


written by Wolf | 11.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 104  
Search this topic:  


dark awakening - 30.07.2006 at 13:05  
I agree! Great songs take place in this CD! True Norwegian Black Metal!
Krankheit - 27.08.2006 at 20:31  
This album is so f***ing grim and cold.
Ulven i Manden - 02.12.2006 at 01:23  
Awesome... Raw... Cold... Another Darkthrone masterpiece!
unforgettable, great Black Metal album!
+GLOBOSITOR+ - 08.01.2007 at 16:11  
Wooooooooow! Good album, yeah!!
Hans Siste Vinter is the best song of that album!:banger:
Rimfrost - 04.02.2007 at 21:28  
Best of the Darkthrone albums. En vind av sorg is a great song.
BurbotsRevenge - 27.10.2007 at 04:58  
i think theres a spelling mistake in third paragraph - album 'his' unforgettable - should be has? just a small change needed
daveandterrena@shaw. - 27.10.2007 at 17:30  
I like this band, their music is primal, organic. I watched their
dvd on a peaceville remaster, i think it was there first or second release. These guys are in there own world, which can be interesting to enter on occasion.
Uirapuru - 19.04.2008 at 07:36  
nice album.. it has the slower parts that i kinda like on raw black metal, but not toooo slow like Soulside Journey, The only bad song is Hordes of Nebulah, very boring.
Maxx666 - 25.06.2009 at 21:53  
Another raw black metal masterpiece.
BitterCOld - 26.06.2009 at 08:44  
This album ranks with FOAD and Total Death as my least favorite Darkthrone releases.

it sounds at points like it wants to recapture some of what Transylvanian Hunger had going for it, but just seems dull in comparison. it marked the beginning of a bit of a rut for the band, before Plaguewielder and the fantastic Hate Them got them out of it.
Mr. Doctor - 26.06.2009 at 16:20  
Written by Uirapuru on 19.04.2008 at 07:36

it has the slower parts that i kinda like on raw black metal, but not toooo slow like Soulside Journey,


... Soulside Journey is Death Metal as far as I'm corcerned. So is easy to understand why that album was different.
Uirapuru - 26.06.2009 at 18:59  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 26.06.2009 at 16:20

Written by Uirapuru on 19.04.2008 at 07:36

it has the slower parts that i kinda like on raw black metal, but not toooo slow like Soulside Journey,


... Soulside Journey is Death Metal as far as I'm corcerned. So is easy to understand why that album was different.


Yeah.. that's true, I didnt even notice that genre difference back then
Vitriolic Hate - 16.07.2009 at 17:56  
Written by Krankheit on 27.08.2006 at 20:31

This album is so f***ing grim and cold.

agreed
Slayer666 - 12.09.2009 at 14:00  
En Vind Av Sorg and Hans Siste Vinter are a lot better than even some stuff on Transilvanian Hunger, but the rest is medicore, IMO.
EDIT: Quintessence is also pretty good.
Lord_Regnier - 12.09.2009 at 14:15  
I've never been able to get into "Panzerfaust". It has only a few good songs like what Darkthrone made before this album. The rest is shitty Hellhammer-wannabe songs and vocals are so awful, it sounds like a grumpy drunk man screaming because he lost his beer bottle or burned himself with his cigarette. When vocals are crappy like that, I don't feel anything grim or cold. I just can't take the songs seriously because it's so bad it becomes laughable.
Vitriolic Hate - 11.03.2010 at 05:03  
Zephyrous didn't play on Panzerfaust
Lokaeda - 27.01.2011 at 21:13  
Sounds pretty much like some blackened Celtic Frost to me :p
Array - 28.01.2011 at 00:45  
Involves one of my favorite outros. The album is super (yep, Celtic Frostish guitar sound and in some places even riffing-wise too). 'Quintessence' every time does it (mental euphoria) while listening lyrics and playing the song (Storm's version also great).
Richard - 28.01.2011 at 05:57  
Written by Array on 28.01.2011 at 00:45

The album is super (yep, Celtic Frostish guitar sound and in some places even riffing-wise too). 'Quintessence' every time does it (mental euphoria) while listening lyrics and playing the song (Storm's version also great).


Ruddy Hell, yes! The early Celtic Frost inspired element to this album is clearly evident but totally deliberate, and what a great influence to have. And the song you mentioned in particular has an all-time great riff IMO, which as you also rightly said was also used to great effect in a song by Storm (which had Fenriz, Satyr and Kari Rueslattan).

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News Darkthrone - Panzerfaust Album To Be Re-Released 4.5 13.10.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Albums Darkthrone - Panzerfaust 4.5 16.06.2012 by M C Vice
Reviews Darkthrone - A Blaze In The Northern Sky 4 15.07.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Moonspell - Wolfheart 3 20.01.2010 by
Albums Darkthrone - Sardonic Wrath 3 27.01.2013 by Array



Hits total: 4790 | This month: 2