Esoteric - A Pyrrhic Existence review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

82 users:
8.12
Band: Esoteric
Album: A Pyrrhic Existence
Release date: November 2019


Disc I
01. Descent
02. Rotting In Dereliction
03. Antim Yatra

Disc II
01. Consuming Lies
02. Culmination
03. Sick And Tired


A Pyrrhic Existence was released on November 8 of last year. It is now January 15. I guess that's how long it takes me to fully digest an Esoteric album.

Yes, the mighty Esoteric. Purveyors of a psychedelic brand of funeral doom that is simply unmatched within the rest of the style. It has been 8 years since their last full length, the longest gap of time between any two of their albums, but right away these Englishmen are letting listeners know that A Pyrrhic Existence was well worth the wait. The gigantic, 27 minute opener "Descent" is as big of a "welcome back, fuckfaces" type occasion as any, as the imposing five piece once more summons forth their colossal brand of well paced, ethereal melancholy. The mark isn't too far off from the band's previous material here: cascading waves of slowwwwly approaching riffs and ambiance gradually smother the listener as the compositions approach their eventual climaxes, resulting in a listening experience that, as is Esoteric's custom, highly rewards patience and numerous focused listens.

If there is are any real differences between A Pyrrhic Existence and prior Esoteric releases, they are very subtle, differences that you only really begin to grasp after multiple play throughs and rigorous cross comparison with the band's other albums. Of particular note is the fact that (at least to these ears) the music here sounds a little more abrasive, not quite as airy as the preceding Paragon Of Dissonance and a bit higher on the treble. Also whereas PoD's atmospheric moments seemed to have more in common with post metal in a way, the ambiance here is more in line with traditional psychedelia, and there appears to be a much greater utilization of synths and various other electronic effects.

The challenge of A Pyrrhic Existence is that, similar to past Esoteric releases, there is a lot to digest before tracks get to their proverbial peak. Newcomers to the band who are unaccustomed to their particular approach may find themselves listening to this album with the question of "what is really the point?" But the "point" of Esoteric's music has always been something that does not reveal itself easily. Instead it is very carefully unfurled, and one isn't quite like to "get it" after a first listen, a second listen, or maybe even a third listen. 100 minutes long with virtually no filler material whatsoever, A Pyrrhic Existence once again presents listeners with a boatload to take in, but an experience that highly pays off those eager to devote the time to unraveling its mystery. There's nothing for Esoteric to prove with this one. It's just another badge on their remarkably consistent and awe inspiring battle vest.

It's time to go to school.



 



Written on 15.01.2020 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 137 users
15.01.2020 - 19:39
VIG
Viggg
Great review. What I think of this album's sound is that is like Paragon Of Dissonance but with more of the psychedelic moments as well as a bit more absolutely crushing parts.
Loading...
15.01.2020 - 20:05
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Esoteric are probably the best funeral doom out there
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
15.01.2020 - 20:07
Bad English
Masterchief
Good work lad
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
15.01.2020 - 20:16
Lord Slothrop
I listen to this album about once a week. Or a least most of it.
Loading...
15.01.2020 - 20:57
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Lord Slothrop on 15.01.2020 at 20:16

I listen to this album about once a week. Or a least most of it.

"At least"
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
15.01.2020 - 20:58
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 15.01.2020 at 20:05

Esoteric are probably the best funeral doom out there

Probably, but Elysian Blaze would like a word with you
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
15.01.2020 - 22:21
bgcasio
Written by RaduP on 15.01.2020 at 20:05

Esoteric are probably the best funeral doom out there

Evoken the better !!!
Loading...
15.01.2020 - 22:23
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Apothecary on 15.01.2020 at 20:58

Probably, but Elysian Blaze would like a word with you

Blood Geometry is probably the only thing that can go toe to toe with The Maniacal Vale
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
15.01.2020 - 23:32
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 15.01.2020 at 22:23

Blood Geometry is probably the only thing that can go toe to toe with The Maniacal Vale

Very close tie between those two for best funeral doom album ever. I honestly don't know which I'd pick, both are 10/10 works but very different in style
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
16.01.2020 - 05:08
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I'm just grateful to be alive in the same time frame as these guys.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
16.01.2020 - 09:48
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Such a phenomenal record.

Will be voting for this in the Extreme Doom Metal category.
----
Loading...
16.01.2020 - 15:11
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 16.01.2020 at 09:48

Will be voting for this in the Extreme Doom Metal category.

I almost want to ask "what makes you so sure we'll nominate it?", but let's be honest: it's a given
----
Go tell that long tongue liar, go tell the midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
16.01.2020 - 20:28
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Apothecary on 16.01.2020 at 15:11

Written by Cynic Metalhead on 16.01.2020 at 09:48

Will be voting for this in the Extreme Doom Metal category.

I almost want to ask "what makes you so sure we'll nominate it?", but let's be honest: it's a given


I knew it we have leak here so tell me more :p
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
17.01.2020 - 00:21
Darkside Momo
Retired
Written by Bad English on 16.01.2020 at 20:28

I knew it we have leak here so tell me more :p

leak? more like logic
----
My Author's Blog (in French)


"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you"

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I am awake"
Loading...
17.01.2020 - 10:21
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Written by Apothecary on 16.01.2020 at 15:11

Written by Cynic Metalhead on 16.01.2020 at 09:48

Will be voting for this in the Extreme Doom Metal category.

I almost want to ask "what makes you so sure we'll nominate it?"


I haven't seen any new doom metal release came closer to this.
----
Loading...
17.01.2020 - 12:11
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 17.01.2020 at 10:21

Written by Apothecary on 16.01.2020 at 15:11

Written by Cynic Metalhead on 16.01.2020 at 09:48

Will be voting for this in the Extreme Doom Metal category.

I almost want to ask "what makes you so sure we'll nominate it?"


I haven't seen any new doom metal release came close to this.

Not in extreme but doft doom check out my n old nick list
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
17.01.2020 - 15:36
MetalManic
Written by Apothecary on 15.01.2020 at 20:58

Written by RaduP on 15.01.2020 at 20:05

Esoteric are probably the best funeral doom out there

Probably, but Elysian Blaze would like a word with you

Or Bell Witch
----
MetalManic
www.MetalManic.com
Loading...
17.01.2020 - 23:36
VIG
Viggg
Written by RaduP on 15.01.2020 at 20:05

Esoteric are probably the best funeral doom out there

Fo' shizzle
Loading...

Hits total: 1697 | This month: 202