Rating:
10
Death - Human
22 October 1991


Disc I
01. Flattening Of Emotions
02. Suicide Machine
03. Together As One
04. Secret Face
05. Lack Of Comprehension
06. See Through Dreams
07. Cosmic Sea
08. Vacant Planets
09. God Of Thunder [Kiss cover] [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [2011 re-release bonus]
Human - Basic Instrumental Studio Tracks
01. Flattening Of Emotions
02. Suicide Machine
03. Together As One
04. Secret Face
05. Secret Face - Part 2
06. Lack Of Comprehension
07. Felt Good [studio snippet]
08. See Through Dreams
09. See Through Dreams - Part 2
10. Vacant Planets
11. Cosmic Sea
12. Cosmic Sea - Part 2
13. God Of Thunder [Kiss cover]
Human Demos - March 25, 1991
14. Flattening Of Emotion [demo]
15. Lack of Comprehension [demo]
16. Suicide Machine [demo]
17. Together As One [demo]
18. See Through Dreams [demo]
19. Secret Face [instrumental version] [demo]
20. Vacant Planets [instrumental version] [demo]


There it is the turning point in the career of Death. The most controversial album of the all - is it death metal, or is it thrash metal. Many people claim it is true death metal, but the only way they would convince me is play me the album, recorded on a low-fi MC, which has been re-recorded numerous times.

However, I call it thrash, because Chuck has never quite been a death metal vocalist, after all nobody calls Sepultura's "Chaos A.D." death metal, despite Max Cavalera's very convincing throat. One thing is sure, though, this is a back to the roots album with many of death metal's ingredients present on two or three songs, but not more. It is heavy, slow at moments and very metal. This is true metal in fact. The deep, thick sound is there and if it weren't for the fast and extremely technical performance of this inexhaustible source of guitar inspiration, flowing like a stream into his music and into the hearts, minds and souls of many musicians and fans for the coming times.

The album is one of the best, being an important one for Death on their way to eternal musicianship. It is a brutal and harsh devastating album with a lot of inspiration and music put in it, being absolutely heavy and crushing. It will remain the history of metal as a by-the-book playing of raw, brutal and heavy music.


Band profile: Death
Album: Human


 


written by Yanko | 15.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Apothecary

Rating:
10
Human is one of only a handful of albums in the history of heavy metal that fundamentally altered the genre's future in ways possibly not even entirely imaginable. It's difficult to describe in words the exact impact this incredible slab of 90s death metal had, but I'll do my best.

Human can be taken as the mark in Death's career where the songwriting and overall composition really started to become more evolved, so to speak. Up until this point, Death had more or less been within the same style as a lot of early death metal bands (Obituary, Possessed, Morbid Angel, etc), albeit with the vocals being a tad less guttural. But Chuck, always a dedicated and talented musician prone to musical progression, then took it upon himself to bring in similar musicians who shared his virtuosity to accomplish the next step in his musical journey. Said musicians were Sean Reinert on drums and Paul Masvidal on guitar (both of future Cynic fame), as well as the almighty Steve DiGiorgio on bass. Armed with a new and highly talented lineup, Chuck set about writing the now-legendary Human.

Read more ››
published 28.03.2012 | Comments (7)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 21  
Users visited: 241  
Search this topic:  


Gharakh - 06.06.2006 at 06:52  
A rather sub-par review if you ask me. Surely someone can submit a better review for this album.

"The deep, thick sound is there and if it weren't for the fast and extremely technical performance of this inexhaustible source of guitar inspiration, flowing like a stream into his music and into the hearts, minds and souls of many musicians and fans for the coming times."

That sentence makes absolutely no sense. If it weren't for that.... then what? You never finish the thought, just ramble on into nothingness.
Sonic Titan - 18.07.2007 at 03:18  
this album is fuckin HEAVY BOY!!!
Infurnace - 19.07.2007 at 13:34  
I don't think this album is Thrash Metal. It's just old-school Death Metal. It's Death's last real Death Metal album. I really like the album, though.
Stalker - 18.10.2007 at 22:49  
For 1000th time: NO, it isnt fucking Thrash metal!!!

And IT ISN'T back to the roots album either, its their biggest step forward from that sound.
flamey - 15.08.2008 at 20:27  
Jesus, why does this guy keep saying every Death album is fucking thrash metal? IT IS FUCKING DEATH METAL FFS. He must be getting paid each time he says it's thrash metal and not death metal, I dont understand it otherwise.
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.08.2008 at 11:11  
Written by Guest on 22.08.2008 at 11:09

Download album Human (1991) Link to illegal download


Okay how many more times do I NEED to delete your post here?
Read the faq, NO links to illegal downloads allowed.
Murder - 12.09.2008 at 06:33  
thrash???????? o.o


WTF with you guy????????? I don't understand what is your definition of Death and Thrash... I love these metal genres and I'm soo fucking sure about this isn't a Thrash metal album, same for The sound of perseverance.... cuz you said the same blasphemy about it

MLSilbernagel - 19.02.2009 at 23:44  
One of the most progressive death metal albums, and one of the first with regards to the tone and mixing of each instrument recorded.
Paradox0 - 03.09.2009 at 22:46  
Why do I feel like I'm missing something with this album. I liked "Leprosy" and "Sound..." but I just don't understand whats so great here. To be honest I can sense the ambition put into the album, but it's just mostly long, mono-rhythmic riffs with the occasional syncopated drum work.
Deadmeat - 07.09.2009 at 11:13  
This album is not thrash. imo it is not as Great as Leprosy, Spiritual Healing, Symbolic or Individual Thought Patterns but it is still awesome.
Troy Killjoy - 01.01.2010 at 06:34  
This is one of the worst reviews I've ever read.

"It is a brutal and harsh devastating album with a lot of inspiration and music put in it."

Seriously. Not to mention this album is just death metal, there are definitely progressive elements, but all-in-all this remains a true death metal album. Obviously this comment is well overdue (as the review was published 6 years ago) but coming across this tonight I needed to say something.
Galar - 07.01.2010 at 00:31  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.01.2010 at 06:34

This is one of the worst reviews I've ever read.

"It is a brutal and harsh devastating album with a lot of inspiration and music put in it."

Seriously. Not to mention this album is just death metal, there are definitely progressive elements, but all-in-all this remains a true death metal album. Obviously this comment is well overdue (as the review was published 6 years ago) but coming across this tonight I needed to say something.

I completly agree that this is the worst review i have ever read. NOT THRASH EITHER. This guy needs to get review privledges revoked.
thewall30 - 11.02.2010 at 04:08  
Just got the album today, and damn, it's a hell of an album, masterpiece for sure! Can't wait to get used to this amazing release...
TTR - 04.08.2010 at 21:32  
It's still worth a 10, the score the reviewer gave, no matter what he said.
The Benighted - 25.06.2011 at 07:57  
"Derpa derpa Thrash Metal" I want to headbutt the physical manifestation of your review.
Beastofmetal456 - 28.06.2011 at 16:35  
The pinnacle of DEATH metal, not thrash. Do you call Obituary thrash because they don't GROWL??
Void Eater - 29.06.2011 at 06:15  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.08.2008 at 11:11

Written by Guest on 22.08.2008 at 11:09

Download album Human (1991) Link to illegal download


Okay how many more times do I NEED to delete your post here?
Read the faq, NO links to illegal downloads allowed.

Out of curiosity, why did you allow the link to remain when you quoted him?
Marcel Hubregtse - 29.06.2011 at 13:02  
Written by Void Eater on 29.06.2011 at 06:15

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.08.2008 at 11:11

Written by Guest on 22.08.2008 at 11:09

Download album Human (1991) Link to illegal download


Okay how many more times do I NEED to delete your post here?
Read the faq, NO links to illegal downloads allowed.

Out of curiosity, why did you allow the link to remain when you quoted him?


click on the link and you'll see I changed it so it doesn't work
Apothecary - 27.03.2012 at 20:47  
An album this good deserves a better review, and I'll gladly take it upon myself to do it.
Mr. Doctor - 27.03.2012 at 20:59  
Written by Apothecary on 27.03.2012 at 20:47

An album this good deserves a better review, and I'll gladly take it upon myself to do it.


If you are going to do that... Just make sure to not call this or any other Death album for thrash metal. I never understood that Yanko guy.
Apothecary - 27.03.2012 at 21:42  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 27.03.2012 at 20:59

Written by Apothecary on 27.03.2012 at 20:47

An album this good deserves a better review, and I'll gladly take it upon myself to do it.


If you are going to do that... Just make sure to not call this or any other Death album for thrash metal. I never understood that Yanko guy.

Hell no, Human is straight up tech death.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Death - The Sound Of Perseverance 6 20.07.2006 by insanity.peppers
Reviews Death - Spiritual Healing 6 28.02.2009 by AngelOfDisease
Reviews Death - Scream Bloody Gore 6 08.07.2006 by Bloody Rain
Reviews Death - Individual Thought Patterns 6 18.07.2007 by
Reviews Death - Leprosy 6 13.06.2007 by Warman



Hits total: 9572 | This month: 79