Rating:
9.6
Dream Theater - Images And Words
7 July 1992


01. Pull Me Under
02. Another Day
03. Take The Time
04. Surrounded
05. Metropolis - Part I "The Miracle And The Sleeper"
06. Under A Glass Moon
07. Wait For Sleep
08. Learning To Live


This is it! My first Dream Theater review! I can say that this progressive band from New York is my favorite band and will still be in ten years from now. So, back in 1992, the band released their masterpiece "Images And Words" and after that nothing was going to be the same again in the musical world. Why? Well, because this album brought something totally new to the scene, this famous progressive metal sound that would become Dream Theater's signature and it would make them famous for being one of the most influential bands ever.

From the beginning, it's a totally different sound. With 'Pull Me Under', you are already able to foresee what is coming your way. Incredibly complex song structures, tremendous musicianship, perfect execution and an intriguing originality that makes you wonder "who are these guys"? Well, these guys are Mike Portnoy [drums], John Petrucci [guitars], John Myung [bass], Kevin Moore [keyboards] and James LaBrie [vocals], among who you already know Portnoy and Petrucci for sure, these two being all the time part of diverse side-projects and productions, but also often nominated when it's time to vote for best musicians awards. Let's say it loud: that was the best lineup they ever had, especially considering that James LaBrie was on top of his vocal abilities at that time. Kevin Moore is a really imaginative keyboard compositor and player, and paired with master Petrucci on guitars, they were something else. Regarding Mike Portnoy, whom I admire since I've listened for the first time to this album, he's probably the best "disciple" of Neil Peart [drummer of the Canadian combo Rush, Portnoy's number one source of inspiration, and probably the best drummer on earth]. John Myung is not any bass player either and you just need to see Dream Theater on stage or to watch any live videotape to understand why [tip: his fingers movements are amazing...]

Among the best moments of this amazing recording, which features only 8 songs but almost one hour of essential material, let's name the opening track 'Pull Me Under', 'Take The Time' [my favorite song ever], 'Metropolis Part I', 'Under A Glass Moon' and 'Learning To Live' as highlights. Now, some songs can be considered as fillers [especially 'Another Day' and 'Surrounded'] or even cheesy songs. You're the judge but as a whole, "Images And Words" is a masterpiece and also an historical album.

So if you don't know that one yet, try it, and if you don't like it at first, listen to it again. When you fully digest the complex compositions, you'll enjoy it as you enjoy nothing else. And if you don't, well, you will never like any kind of progressive metal [too bad for you!]. Oh by the way, I almost forget to tell you that "Images And Words" is a way to say "music and lyrics", which is not a bad image [or words ;-)].

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Dream Theater
Album: Images And Words


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 09.01.2004



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 50  
Users visited: 323  
Search this topic:  


dark awakening - 07.08.2006 at 11:17  
Best DT album a MASTERPIECE!
Olddoggie - 08.08.2006 at 17:32  
A Masterpiece without any doubt. Every progressive and/or melodic and symphonic metal lover should have this one in his/her collection. This cd is beyond imagination!
BurbotsRevenge - 06.09.2006 at 12:35  


that pretty much sums it up

great album
Xtreme Jax - 07.09.2006 at 05:10  
This is definatly my favourite Dream Theater album.

Very much so deserves the high rating

Again, Masterpiece
Baz Anderson - 07.09.2006 at 11:40  
yes this is my favorite Dream Theater album as well - it is fantastic
i love the feel i get from it
the album just oozes typical early ninteys and thats really good to listen to
ylside - 07.09.2006 at 13:39  
Awesome album indeed, however I still think that Metropolis II: Scenes From A Memory is their best effort.
Warman - 14.06.2007 at 16:25  
Best Dream Theater album and the best album of all time!
Excellent review too!
Bitch Boy - 14.06.2007 at 21:37  
One of the very best albums in the metal world. Very good review too
RavenLord - 15.06.2007 at 23:01  
Absolutely brilliant album, definitely in my top 10 of all time. Not to keen on their newer material (Train of Thought etc.); can anyone tell me the last album they did which was primarily more melodic than simply technical?
Noel Sonic - 05.07.2007 at 04:10  
Comparing with their following album, Images And Words did not let me feel extreme complex melody or the deep exploration of human thoughs.I like Take The Time, Under A Glass Moon.There songs make me feel brisk(And this kind of songs is difficult to be found nowadays, maybe because kevin left the band)
BloodTears - 05.07.2007 at 20:38  
This is still my favourite DT album although metropolis II is quite close. Kevin Moore's contribution here is quite remarkable, I liked his ideas a lot. Wait for sleep is a masterpiece, learning to live probably my favourite song in there but then again which song isnt great here? Metropolis part I is quite edgy too. Well I could go on... it's a must-have.
BlankFile - 14.07.2007 at 23:58  
A Masterpiece Album, that influenced lost of bands. Maybe tbe best o DT, at the side of Metropolis part 2
MetalMac - 21.07.2007 at 13:20  
umm lets just talk about this album.....this album is what most metal bands try to match or become as successful as dream theater did with this album!! tp this day and forever will this album be in my mind as the album that made progessive metal happen.

-Mac
JoshGao - 01.08.2007 at 18:03  
This alblum should be listed in the top 10 metal masterpiece for all the time.

It establishes a new style and gives great impact to the follower.
Mizer - 31.08.2007 at 12:08  
Truly an excellent album. Images And Words and Metropolis Pt II are DT's top albums, IAW being more catchy. If you like progressive metal - it's a must have! I agree with review highlights, but "Another Day" and "Surrounded" shouldn't be called cheesy or fillers. They present the softer side of the album (together with "Wait") and are propably the easiest songs to get into. Anyway they're very melodic and pack a lot of feeling, quality stuff... Every album needs a couple of lighter songs too.
duyhung - 11.12.2007 at 00:12  
Images And Words means a lot to me, i still remember the first time i listened to this true masterpiece nearly 4 years ago..... Tonight i give it a listen again after a quite long time, and i still can feel the impression it gave me back in 2003... , everything is still the same, the feeling i have when lying in the bed with sounds of 'Surrounded' fulfill the room, soothing my tired mind...
Warman - 11.12.2007 at 00:37  
Hey, I fucking cried when I saw them perform Surrounded and the crowd was higher than the band. Such a touching moment.
duyhung - 11.12.2007 at 01:52  
Written by Warman on 11.12.2007 at 00:37

Hey, I fucking cried when I saw them perform Surrounded and the crowd was higher than the band. Such a touching moment.

Lucky you , where and when did it happen?
Warman - 11.12.2007 at 15:33  
Written by Guest on 11.12.2007 at 01:52

Written by Warman on 11.12.2007 at 00:37

Hey, I fucking cried when I saw them perform Surrounded and the crowd was higher than the band. Such a touching moment.

Lucky you , where and when did it happen?

I saw them live a couple of months ago here in Stockholm. They played an extended editon of the song. New guitar and keyboard solos, even a new verse. I think my tears came during the "But I will raise a shelter to the sky/And here benath the star tonight I lie". I was also very touched at the end, the "tonight I'll still be lying here surrounded..." part. I'm pretty sure that Surrounded was the highlight of the show!
duyhung - 12.12.2007 at 00:52  
Written by Warman on 11.12.2007 at 15:33

Written by Guest on 11.12.2007 at 01:52

Written by Warman on 11.12.2007 at 00:37

Hey, I fucking cried when I saw them perform Surrounded and the crowd was higher than the band. Such a touching moment.

Lucky you , where and when did it happen?

I saw them live a couple of months ago here in Stockholm. They played an extended editon of the song. New guitar and keyboard solos, even a new verse. I think my tears came during the "But I will raise a shelter to the sky/And here benath the star tonight I lie". I was also very touched at the end, the "tonight I'll still be lying here surrounded..." part. I'm pretty sure that Surrounded was the highlight of the show!

Oh yes, and don't forger the beautiful piano sounds , like you i also love those intro and outro parts where they prove that a piano can bring really strong emotions if it's used well... And the live version you have seen sounds interesting, i'll try to find it on Youtube (well, if there's one there ).... All in all Surrounded undoubtedly is one of the best songs DT ever wrote..., this is no filler at all
Uirapuru - 19.03.2008 at 06:03  
very good album... but i prefer ''Falling Into Infinity''. My favorite tracks in this one are ''Another Day'', ''Take The Time'' and ''Metropolis''.
Clint W. - 19.03.2008 at 06:37  
Written by Warman on 11.12.2007 at 15:33

I saw them live a couple of months ago here in Stockholm. They played an extended editon of the song. New guitar and keyboard solos, even a new verse. I think my tears came during the "But I will raise a shelter to the sky/And here benath the star tonight I lie". I was also very touched at the end, the "tonight I'll still be lying here surrounded..." part. I'm pretty sure that Surrounded was the highlight of the show!


They did the same thing when I saw them. Except Jordan Rudess had a fucking keytar! He soloed next Petrucci, it was orgasmic. Sadly it was the only songs off the album they played that night.
Warman - 19.03.2008 at 15:43  
Written by Clint W. on 19.03.2008 at 06:37

They did the same thing when I saw them. Except Jordan Rudess had a fucking keytar! He soloed next Petrucci, it was orgasmic. Sadly it was the only songs off the album they played that night.

Yeah, that keytar is frickin' awesome!
ArisIgnusDeuce - 21.07.2008 at 13:36  
I personally believe that Images and Words is a masterpiece and second only to Scenes Of A Memory.The guitars,the vocals...everything is PERFECT.Just think about how many bands try to sound that way.And the review is just great.
Elio - 16.08.2008 at 15:11  
Another Day = Filler??????????????????????????????????? omfg
Fat & Sassy! - 08.09.2008 at 09:37  
Written by Uirapuru on 19.03.2008 at 06:03

very good album... but i prefer ''Falling Into Infinity''. My favorite tracks in this one are ''Another Day'', ''Take The Time'' and ''Metropolis''.


You, my friend, are a rare breed of Dream Theater fan. I don't completely agree with you though... but I do think Falling Into Infinity equally as good.
DreamingDesire - 12.10.2008 at 00:49  
Id just like tp oint out to those talkign about Scenes From A Memory here, that without Images And Words, Metropolis II: Scenes From A Memory wouldn't have existed. A sequel for Metropolis can be heard in DT's Falling Into Infinity demos, which ended up turning into the concept album Scenes From A Memory because of the record label not allowing a double album. Images And Words has alot to thank for, which i think made DT the way they are today imo. I respect peoples views on Scenes From A Memory being better than Images And Words, im not saying that, both albums are amazing, just one spawned the other

Great review for a great album!
Morphis - 12.11.2008 at 04:04  
One of the best albums ever made of all history, one of the best bands of the 90's.
wolf-dog - 14.12.2008 at 03:44  
Kevin Moore was a huge part of what made that album great, and is a big part of "what's missing" from newer releases for me.
Deadmeat - 09.05.2009 at 23:48  
My first and probably last progresive album. it is boring as the walking of a tortoise...
Nosurper - 16.06.2009 at 19:23  
Well i wouldn't say it's boring..however, I will say that this album comes off to me as a sibling Kansas album. The only difference is Dream Theater injects a splash of metal and a bit more technical prowess in there. Even lyrically they are somewhat similar. Dream Theater's musicianship is just a bit more advanced. Not taking away from Steve Walsh however, who definitely kills James LaBrie in the vocal department. I still like the album a lot, 8/10.
BloodTears - 17.06.2009 at 10:07  
Written by Elio on 16.08.2008 at 15:11

Another Day = Filler??????????????????????????????????? omfg


Who said that? Let's kill him lol
tulkas - 17.06.2009 at 10:20  
Written by BloodTears on 17.06.2009 at 10:07

Written by Elio on 16.08.2008 at 15:11

Another Day = Filler??????????????????????????????????? omfg


Who said that? Let's kill him lol

I'm in too
How can that song be a filler? First time I heard that sax... those lyrics... wow! Filler my ass
Demonic Tutor - 17.06.2009 at 15:16  
Written by tulkas on 17.06.2009 at 10:20

Written by BloodTears on 17.06.2009 at 10:07

Written by Elio on 16.08.2008 at 15:11

Another Day = Filler??????????????????????????????????? omfg


Who said that? Let's kill him lol

I'm in too
How can that song be a filler? First time I heard that sax... those lyrics... wow! Filler my ass


I still stand by it, it is a good song and I like it but it holds nothing special compared to the other songs on the album. Keyword in my sentence was 'it MAY be considered a filler'.
BloodTears - 17.06.2009 at 17:41  
Lol it's you! In that case I can't kill you, because your reviews are very good. The world would miss them.
tulkas - 17.06.2009 at 23:29  
Whoops! Well, I guess we can forgive you, haha
Quinaitor - 25.09.2009 at 10:16  
Written by Deadmeat on 09.05.2009 at 23:48

My first and probably last progresive album. it is boring as the walking of a tortoise...


i mean man are you serious?... well shame on you that your soul won't appreciate the perfection of progressive music D=
Deadmeat - 25.09.2009 at 21:49  
Written by Quinaitor on 25.09.2009 at 10:16

Written by Deadmeat on 09.05.2009 at 23:48

My first and probably last progresive album. it is boring as the walking of a tortoise...


i mean man are you serious?... well shame on you that your soul won't appreciate the perfection of progressive music D=

i dont mind... my soul has appreciated many other styles and i can stand this loss!
macraigma - 21.12.2009 at 18:37  
Take the Time ....
x-avier - 02.03.2010 at 18:19  
DT will never be the same w/o KEvin Moore. If you know about music, all this atmosphere he produced and the feeling the songs had where because of him. Also on this albums all of the band members used to write lyrics which since train of thought is just portnoy and petrucci. Kevin will not be skilful as jordan, but the feeling that he inserted to his music and the way he connected the progressive and the melodic is something that DT will neve found again.
Sephiros7 - 08.09.2010 at 00:57  
Another day and surrounded are far from cheesy. Every DT album always has a song or two that are more on the poppy side. DT has stated numerous times in response to people asking about them saying they've always been fans of pop so you'll always hear an element of it on a song or two on each album. Far from cheesy though ;-) Good review otherwise though. (Sorry cheesy and DT don't belong in the same review haha!) "And from an ivory tower hears her call! Let light surround him!"

Strange how this became their most successful album too especially considering how incredibly far they've come since then musically and talent wise. This album was and is still today lightyears ahead of 90 % of bands muscianship wise but their newer stuff is even more complex and crazy.
Sephiros7 - 08.09.2010 at 01:29  
Written by x-avier on 02.03.2010 at 18:19

DT will never be the same w/o Kevin Moore. If you know about music, all this atmosphere he produced and the feeling the songs had where because of him. Also on this albums all of the band members used to write lyrics which since train of thought is just portnoy and petrucci. Kevin will not be skilful as jordan, but the feeling that he inserted to his music and the way he connected the progressive and the melodic is something that DT will neve found again.


I think you're confusing the various record label's DT has signed with as the "atmosphere" Kevin brought to the band. He was really uninspired and left of his own accord really early on. During the making of the Awake album the band cited him as disconnected and very distant, not very involved in the writing process before he finally said after the album was complete it would be his last with the band because this was not the music he wanted to create. The "atmosphere" which I know what you mean, is purely DT's writing style / 80' 90's era / combined with record label influence. Portnoy has been quoted numerous times stating the entire band felt very supressed and almost forced on many labels early on, hence why they had a new label practically every album.

The only difference in the writing process for DT was on the album's Octivarium and Systematic Chaos where Rudess and Myung were less present in the writing process, however Labrie was still very active in the writing of the melody and lyrics. However on Black Clouds Myung and Rudess stepped it up once again for their input on the creative process (first time since Train).

Dream Theater's first album without any label influence on the sound of the record was Scenes from a Memory. Portnoy said for the writing process of Scenes they finally had full 100% writing freedom and if the album didn't sell it would be DT's last, sort of "all in" if you will. Obviously Scenes was one of their best if not "thee" best album ever so every album afterwords they have had full creative freedom. But that "Petrucci / Portnoy" myth is only a rumor. Granted they are without a doubt the brains of the operation and the main writers of DT they're not the "only" ones. And Kevin had almost little to no influence on the band at all. Maybe some 80's keyboard sounds that was it. Rudess, with respect to Moore, is lightyears superior in musicianship and writing ability.
Kap'N Korrupt - 08.09.2010 at 03:36  
Kevin Moore was a very technical keyboardist...much more than Rudess in many cases and way before Rudess! Dream Theater wanted to use Moore more for atmosphere on Awake and that's where the communication breakdown and grandiose misunderstanding came in! Kevin misunderstood what the rest of the band wanted from Dream Theater during the Awake album! He could have brought a lot of technical prowess to atmosphere! Awake was really a whole other level of Dream Theater evolving into something new and I personally think that Moore misinterpreted that and THAT left him feeling disconnected...Rudess does atmosphere with technical prowess and soloing and that's where Dream Theater's keyboard work went, no?
Introspekrieg - 09.09.2010 at 02:21  
I don't think Dream Theater has had a keyboardist I didn't like...
Mountain King - 08.02.2011 at 04:19  
Another Day is cheesy and a filler? just because it's like a ballad somehow doesn't mean it's cheesy. It's one of the songs i really like by DT and i don't like many songs by this band for some reason and i guess it's LaBrie...
Cuca Beludo - 30.01.2012 at 02:25  
I could listen to some progressive metal, I don't have this costume.. Let's check out!
Ace Frawley - 24.08.2012 at 03:08  
I thought there was a guest appearance by KENNY G the first time I heard track 2 "Another Day". Catchy song and very uplifting but a very long way away from metal.
Demonic Tutor - 24.08.2012 at 03:16  
Written by Ace Frawley on 24.08.2012 at 03:08

I thought there was a guest appearance by KENNY G the first time I heard track 2 "Another Day". Catchy song and very uplifting but a very long way away from metal.


You sir made my day [and with such a true observation too]
ScnD361 - 08.01.2013 at 06:26  
Another Day and Surrounded fillers??, I think these songs are one of the best ballads (or semi-ballads) I ever hear from DT.
RedOctober - 28.05.2014 at 20:30  
Written by ScnD361 on 08.01.2013 at 06:26

Another Day and Surrounded fillers??, I think these songs are one of the best ballads (or semi-ballads) I ever hear from DT.


Second you... another day was my favourite song once...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Dream Theater - Images And Words 9 28.08.2011 by kokina2
Reviews Dream Theater - Systematic Chaos 9 08.07.2007 by
Reviews Dream Theater - Falling Into Infinity 9 19.01.2008 by BurbotsRevenge
Reviews Dream Theater - Black Clouds & Silver Linings 9 30.06.2009 by Dane Train
Reviews Dream Theater - A Dramatic Turn Of Events 9 02.11.2011 by The Voyager



Hits total: 9270 | This month: 103