Rating:
9.5
Sonata Arctica - Silence
16 July 2001


01. ...Of Silence
02. Weballergy
03. False News Travel Fast
04. The End Of This Chapter
05. Black Sheep
06. Land Of The Free
07. Last Drop Falls
08. San Sebastian [revisited version]
09. Sing In Silence
10. Revontulet
11. Tallulah
12. Wolf & Raven
13. Respect The Wilderness [Japanese bonus]
14. The Power Of One


Unlike "Ecliptica", which kicks off on the very first second, this album has an intro - well, actually even too many of them, because there's an intro for "The End Of This Chapter", for "Land Of The Free" and "The Power Of One"... Why I talk about this? Because it's the only weak point of this flawless in every other way album. Though after the first listening I was, like "What the hell? This is not half as good as Ecliptica!" now it has really grown on me. It has everything that I expect from a power metal album - powerful ultrafast tracks with kick-ass double-drumming, a couple of really nice and emotional ballads and a sign of high-quality all over it. At the same time it doesn't sound like a standard euro-power - it's much more diverse, with tons of fresh ideas and very wise lyrics [not your typical dragons, warriors and enchanted lands!]

The album also contains a "revisited" version of San Sebastian [which appeared on the "Successor" EP], but there really isn't one hell of a difference from the original. Here you will also find the first Sonata Arctica instrumental track, "Revontulet" and the longest [over 10 min] and the most impressive song [as usually they placed it in the very end, even behind the Japan bonus track], "The Power Of One", which brings up some serious topics. And there's also a stand out mid-tempo "Sing In Silence" with very unusual for Sonata Arctica sound and strange lyrics [Hell, I'm still trying to figure out what it's all about].

"Silence" is one of the best albums of this year, for sure. Must have for every melodic metal fan.


Band profile: Sonata Arctica
Album: Silence


 


written by Ivan | 04.01.2004



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 139  
Search this topic:  


The Alchemist - 26.07.2006 at 23:03  
I agree with some things that has this album which makes it better, like the ballads, fast songs, instrumental song, one of the longest songs in Power metal and lyrical content

I think that this album has some really melancholic songs, like "Sing in Silence" or "Fast News Travel Fast", though the last one is very fast. And this album has more ballads, all of them are nice. these stuff is good, but I still think that it's not so good as Ecliptica
Lucas - 26.07.2006 at 23:34  
Good album, would have rated it a 7.5 though. Good songs, good sound, but not magical if you ask me.
Taktsekte - 28.07.2006 at 02:29  
An amazing album. I would not rate it as high as a 9.5 because I do not like several songs like "Sing in Silence" or "Land of the Free", but it deserves at least a good 9.0. Silence has the two best Sonata Arctica songs, i.e. San Sebastian and Wolf & Raven, and other Power Metal classics such as Black Sheep, False News Travel Fast, plus the majestic ballads Tallulah and Last Drop Falls (my favourite Sonata Arctica ballad).
Spyroid - 31.07.2006 at 01:42  
I liked it a lot before, but I'm not a big fan of Sonata anymore, mostly because of Kakko's voice.
@TA: one of the longest songs in power metal? 10 minutes? that is far from the truth dude
The Mu-Mu Thing. - 16.08.2006 at 11:21  
I think it's their best album, though it has some songs I can't stand.. False news travel fast is one of them. Haven't been listening SA for a long time now, but I think The Power Of One would still be my favourite song..
And it's true what is written in the review - "not your typical dragons, warriors and enchanted lands!" I really dislike power metal lyrics because of that, but SA's lyrics are not bad at all, though they're maybe too romantical and whimpering at the moments.. Good to listen when you're in kind of sensitive and sentimental condition
And I find the cover of the album very, very nice.
Dethroned - 18.12.2006 at 06:23  
just picked this up at Borders and just love it !!..Sonatica Arctica !!
CrimsonSoaked - 17.07.2007 at 17:40  
I'lld say it's the best of Sonata
PowerMetal - 29.09.2007 at 18:47  
Definitely my favorite album of theirs.
+{Jonas}+ - 11.02.2008 at 23:22  
Probably their best album, it's faster and more complex than Ecliptica. A must deffinitely. False News Travel Fast is deffinitely the best track
BestMetalstormer - 06.03.2008 at 17:41  
This one is a masterpiece. I love all songs from this album.
Uirapuru - 02.04.2008 at 05:26  
Whoa.. very melancholyc songs. At least 5 of the songs are very very emotional, and it has a little metal too. But it turn out to be good. 8,5/10
BlankFile - 27.08.2008 at 02:52  
Silence... is a genious album, the best album of Sonata Arctica, no doubts about it. Its a complete album with lots of tecnique and glorious moments. Great riffs, solos, piano parts, environments that blow your mind. This album has it all.
With this masterpiece Sonata Arctica made a clear statment that they are here to stay and amaze us all, with their creative and beautifull music. Stay Metal people |m|
Mountain King - 01.07.2009 at 00:48  
When mentioning longest power metal songs, u can't forget Keeper Of The Seven Keys by Helloween, it's almost 14 minutes which is way more than 10 minutes!
Ellrohir - 03.09.2009 at 16:31  
Rhapsody - Gargoyles, Angels Of Darkness and Theocracy - Mirror Of Souls...both are way longer than Keeper

but about the album - it is another Sonata's great stuff...highlights: Tallulah and Black Sheep
Wes - 11.01.2010 at 08:16  
My favorite Sonata Arctica album. I love Ecliptica as well but if I had to have one disk with me it would be this one.
I enjoy the balads from this band more than the other songs, but I like the fast songs also. I really can't stand Reckoning Night and on though..
FrozenJoy - 19.03.2011 at 00:26  
I desperately want to get this album... It's excellent, probably their best album... Personally, I enjoy the fastest songs a bit more... But Tallulah is simply beautiful... Anyway, the best one's Wolf and Raven

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Sonata Arctica - Silence 6 07.06.2011 by Damshak
Reviews Sonata Arctica - Unia 5.5 11.07.2007 by iaberis
Reviews Sonata Arctica - Reckoning Night 5.5 10.09.2006 by Stigmatized
Interviews Sonata Arctica interview 4.5 20.03.2011 by WorpeX
News Sonata Arctica - New Album Streaming Online 4.5 19.05.2012 by The Shape 1973



Hits total: 6689 | This month: 34