Rating:
9.2
Wormphlegm - Tomb Of The Ancient King
2006


01. Epejumalat Monet Tesse Muinen Palveltin Caucan Ja Lesse
02. Tomb Of The Ancient King
03. Return Of The Ice Age And The Tortyrant


Finland: 2006
Genre: Extreme Funeral Doom
Label: Painiac Records
Length: 61:09 minutes

Line-Up:
Drums, Vocals: Maggotworm Incinerator Abscess
Guitars, Bass, Vocals: Grubgorge Pestilent Diarrhoeator


If torment in Hell had a soundtrack to accompany the burden of the sinners then it definitely would and without any second thought be Wormphlegm's "Tomb Of The Ancient King". One of Finland's well-kept secrets managed to return during 2006 and release one of most terrifying albums (ever?), unleashing painful soundscapes of fear, terror and oblivion in the air, shattering all innocense to pieces before the listener's very eyes.

The album consists only of three compositions, yet they are enough to bring everlasting horror to the world for a little bit more than an hour. Terror and agony blossom on the barren soil as long as the sound of apocalypse marches among the ruins with Wormphlegm being the prophets of the forth-coming end. Soul-crushing guitar riffing with ultra heavy and powerful sound burdens your soul; slowly, painfully, eternally. The distressing guitar work manages to create on its own unreached walls of sound, imprisoning the listener inside four walls where sunlight never entered. The undescribably bombastic rhythm section comes to complete the imposing aesthetic of Wormphlegm's atmosphere in such an unbearable way, with the drumming nailing your body to the cross with the fury of a 1000 needles and the bass lines unleashing unearthly sequences in the overall soundscape that blackens with sickness. And then the vocals... Agonizing grunting screams and bottomless brutal vocals complete the scenery of torture, sounding as if they were echoing from a cave where time has lost its meaning; utter distress and fear are the only emotions that come to mind while listening to those vocals coming straight from the core of the earth, perfection in other words!

The production to the common listener is something equal to pure noise, something that the ears can't stand, yet it manages to make the atmosphere sound even greater and surrounding, pleasing the ears of everyone that is willing to enjoy all these emotions that flow through Wormphlegm's (anti)music. The opening track, "Epejumalat Monet Tesse Muinen Palveltin Caucan Ja Lesse" is a 30 minute opus that creates visions of suffering with no mercy, showing the grandeur of the band in any possible way, whereas the following "Tomb of the Ancient King" and "Return of the Ice Age and the Tortyrant" that consist of the other half of the album continue the legacy of the merciless opener!

Listen everyone, this is an album only for lovers of extreme music and the audience of extreme funeral doom is going to rejoice (no matter how contradictive this may sound) with happiness! Do you like extreme and non-compromising funeral doom? If yes, go and get it without any second thought (it's like love with first sight), if no, Wormphlegm is gonna get YOU!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


 



Written on 16.09.2006 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 25  
Users visited: 82  
Search this topic:  


Narterath - 17.09.2006 at 00:53  
I have the vinyl and I must say, this is a great album. But I think I preferred the demo more though
Cool review man
Götter - 18.09.2006 at 09:12  
This album owned me at the first listening, simple as that. Yes, it's even better than the demo, although these two are quite different and shouldn't be compared.

9.5
Talvi - 18.09.2006 at 18:59  
Is this a band that plays 1 note each 10 seconds?
Götter - 19.09.2006 at 17:32  
Written by Talvi on 18.09.2006 at 18:59

Is this a band that plays 1 note each 10 seconds?


Nope. It's relatively mid-paced or even fast funeral doom.
Talvi - 19.09.2006 at 23:22  
Written by Götter on 19.09.2006 at 17:32

Written by Talvi on 18.09.2006 at 18:59

Is this a band that plays 1 note each 10 seconds?


Nope. It's relatively mid-paced or even fast funeral doom.


Then I might be interested...
Damnated - 20.09.2006 at 16:08  
I wont call this band funeral doom though. More like torture doom, or hell soundtrack doom
Lokomotiv - 20.09.2006 at 20:02  
THE Doom Metal album of the year, along with Pantheist "Pains Of Sleep" EP and Dolorian's "Voidwards"... very good shit.
Lucas - 28.05.2007 at 01:52  
Does anyone know if there is a CD version of this album? And if so, is it limited? Where is it for sale? I can't find it.
Narterath - 15.11.2007 at 16:52  
This album has been released only on vinyl. (wow, I'm late in answering your question)
Witcher - 27.06.2008 at 14:27  
Its better that call them Torture Metal...they are fuckin amazing...
Lucas - 03.01.2011 at 23:44  
Written by Narterath on 15.11.2007 at 16:52

This album has been released only on vinyl. (wow, I'm late in answering your question)


If you have it for sale im willing to buy...
Narterath - 04.01.2011 at 12:31  
Written by Lucas on 03.01.2011 at 23:44

Written by Narterath on 15.11.2007 at 16:52

This album has been released only on vinyl. (wow, I'm late in answering your question)


If you have it for sale im willing to buy...


Hey Lucas. I have it, but I don't like selling my things to be honest. I can trade it if you want. Would you like to send me a trading list or something?
Lucas - 04.01.2011 at 12:34  
PM'd
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.01.2011 at 12:35  
Written by Lucas on 04.01.2011 at 12:34

PM'd


Lying undercover in front of your house to rob the mailman or you when indeed it does arrive
Lucas - 04.01.2011 at 12:40  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 04.01.2011 at 12:35

Written by Lucas on 04.01.2011 at 12:34

PM'd


Lying undercover in front of your house to rob the mailman or you when indeed it does arrive


I've ordered some Gaga nude pictures as well so beware
Daniell - 04.01.2011 at 14:44  
My usual whine about such releases - the album would be better if it had slightly better production. I do get the "the sound adds to the atmosphere" notion, but doom loses some of its edge if it sounds so bad in my profane although humble opinion.
Other than that, it's a very solid release: 8 now, 9 if it sounded better.
!J.O.O.E.! - 04.01.2011 at 15:02  
No no no! 'Tis perfect!

Just turn your speakers up louder
Daniell - 04.01.2011 at 15:06  
My neighbours would geld me if I listened to music even louder
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.01.2011 at 15:39  
A so-called better production would totally ruin it and make this a light weight release. Hence a clearer production is in fact a bad production for this release. If you want a clear production opt for something soothing as Shape Of Despair but not for something torturous as Wormphlegm.
Daniell - 04.01.2011 at 16:01  
How about Funeralium then. It's devastatingly fucking crushing, and it has a very clear sound. And it's as far from a lightweight release as it possibly gets.
Marcel Hubregtse - 04.01.2011 at 16:44  
Written by Daniell on 04.01.2011 at 16:01

How about Funeralium then. It's devastatingly fucking crushing, and it has a very clear sound. And it's as far from a lightweight release as it possibly gets.


It has a heavy sound and actually between muddled and clear.
But like I said that sound would not fit Wormphlegm or, for that matter, old Skepticism. It would take away from the mystique
mz - 06.09.2012 at 20:42  
I'm new to this funeral doom genre.I think this album is a little too much for me now but yet I can enjoy the overall atmosphere
mz - 05.07.2013 at 13:15  
After getting much more used to drone and extreme doom metal, I should say that this is perhaps the sickest and most extreme stuff I've ever heard (along with gnaw their tongues). It is just painfully enjoyable
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.07.2013 at 14:11  
Written by mz on 05.07.2013 at 13:15

After getting much more used to drone and extreme doom metal, I should say that this is perhaps the sickest and most extreme stuff I've ever heard (along with gnaw their tongues). It is just painfully enjoyable

This is a brilliant album, and their demo is even better.
mz - 05.07.2013 at 14:55  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.07.2013 at 14:11

Written by mz on 05.07.2013 at 13:15

After getting much more used to drone and extreme doom metal, I should say that this is perhaps the sickest and most extreme stuff I've ever heard (along with gnaw their tongues). It is just painfully enjoyable

This is a brilliant album, and their demo is even better.

Everyone seems to agree with you on this. I have not personally listened to their EP but I'm planning to do it after I got back on this kind of music again (currently, I want to take some days off and listen to some Enslaved and other prog bands)
btw, any information on current status of wormphlegm? They have not published anything in eons

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Wormphlegm - Tomb Of The Ancient King 9 04.10.2012 by Alex Fenger
Reviews Void Of Silence - The Grave Of Civilization 4.5 18.09.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Sirenia - The Enigma Of Life 4.5 20.06.2011 by WorpeX
Reviews Ashes You Leave - Songs Of The Lost 4.5 12.05.2011 by dismaleuphony
Reviews Unholy - The Second Ring Of Power 4.5 04.07.2010 by lord artan



Hits total: 5880 | This month: 53